Ratings based on 19 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.7 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
2.8 Room cleanliness
2.8 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Mattress sagged, room wasn't clean, no wastebasket, stovetop was broken, unfitted sheets wouldn't stay on, air-conditioner broken.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by USCGA Reunion from Groton, CT

Has potential

Posted Nov 5, 2013 on Hotels.com
The room was nicely arranged, clean and newly renovated but the bed was so uncomfortable. We got stuck in traffic so we had to head to our event first and then check into the hotel. But, the staff doesn't stick around and so they called and asked when we'd be there so they could meet us there. We got there, finally, around 10 PM. But, the kicker was that I was asked at that hour if I "needed services in the morning". Well, I really didn't 'need' anything in the morning so I said 'no'; but was expecting room service at some point during the day because I definitely paid for a room with room service. Nevertheless, no one showed up to clean the room that day. So, be clear with what you need. Finally, it had a pretty nice whirlpool tub, but it had no tub drain plug -- I improvised and got a whirlpool bath out of it... but, that's ridiculous not to have a tub plug. So, it was adequate. For the price I paid, it shouldn't have been in the two star rating range.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Bob from Dallas

not even minimally adequate

Posted Oct 14, 2013 on Hotels.com
Our standards for brief stays are pretty low but the Thames didn't meet them. Manager made appointment to meet us to check in and then we didn't see her or anyone else for the next two days. The office was closed the whole time and we just dropped our key in the "Rent" box when we left. Reminded me of a cheap beach resort with tile floors and mismatched towels but a full sized stove (didn't use) and fridge and table and chairs and basic pots and pans. Ice maker in fridge didn't work and no ice machine on the premises. Adequate free laundry facilities (bring your own soap) and decent view of the river. Convenient to Mystic and a good Italian restaurant within a block but the neighborhood is rundown and the street torn up. We were the only car in the lot at night, felt unsafe. Some painters were working upstairs during the day so there is an effort to fix it up, but it seems haphazard. Shower curtain in our bath was cheap and already tearing off the rings, was moldy at the bottom and there was mold on the shower ceiling. Electric outlet in bath rusty and iffy looking, but worked. Bed was made with sheet on the outside and spread on the inside. King sized sheets on a double bed tied at the bottom corners to fit. When we ran out of toilet paper I had to go forage for it because there was no one to ask. The stairwells and walkways are in dreadful condition. Way overpriced even for "roughing it." Would not stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by AE from NY State

close to water & other sights of interest

Posted Sep 7, 2013 on Hotels.com
Manager Stephanie was very accommodating. Very pleasant place to stay. We would go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by C. Mitchell from Johnston, RI

Wonderful Get A-Way

Posted Sep 6, 2013 on Hotels.com
This was a very peaceful hotel. Located right on the water with a dock to fish off of any hour desired. During the day you can view boats coming and going . The room was one of the cutest rooms with a full kitchen and a very comfortable bed. The hotels staff was always pleasant which made the stay a Thames Marina Inn a truly enjoyable Get A-way.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

UCon -great view and art work; Eastern Point Beach

Posted Aug 21, 2013 on Hotels.com
The view was nice. It was next to the Thames River and you could just sit outside. The place was deserted at night and in need of being spruced up.When we arrived, a person staying there gave us our key and was nice enough to point out places to eat and visit. He gave good ideas. His name was Michael. We never met any employee,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Tom and Barb from Bronx NY

Fun outdoor getaway

Posted Jun 6, 2013 on Hotels.com
If you like being outdoors and near the water then this is the place for you . It's right on the waterfront . Lots of beaches , parks for hiking and great seafood places to eat . Contrary to other reviews the neighborhood is very safe and the staff is super friendly and helpfull . You can sit right on their dock on the water . Ft. Griswald and Avery Coop House are within walking distance . Drive along the waterfront and eat at Abbotts in Noank before a short scenic ride into Mystic . Fun fun fun time .
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by LP from Boston

Ishmael would have loved this place

Posted May 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
We knew we were in trouble when there was no one there to check us in and the place was locked up. A cell phone call (but if you don't have a phone you're out of luck) and 45 minutes later someone arrived to let us in. The 1st room offered stank of cigarettes -- we ultimately looked at 6 rooms to find one that didn't smell of urine or worse. Did I mention that the place was as empty as the Bates Motel? We had to request a TV remote, the furniture was selected piecemeal from thrift shops, the lamps were broken, the mirror over the bathroom sink was 10 inches square and hung from a nail, the complementary soap was from other hotels, etc. etc. On the plus side, the heater worked, there was an iron, there was plenty of hot water (when it finally arrived) and it was only 5 minutes from I-95. In the overall, this place is a disaster.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by NoniM

cheaper than staying at Mohegan!

Posted Nov 15, 2012 on Hotels.com
I was a little shocked! Not at all what I expected. Very disappointed that Hotels.com actually is advertising this place! I don't have the faith I used to have with hotels.com! This is not a nice place! The bed linens were very old and discolored!!!! The bed pillows were flat!!!! NO HOT WATER!!!! Great location it's too bad that the place needs so much work! I would never stay there again..............