Ratings based on 13 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.4 out of 5
46% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 23, 2014
Pros: Friendliness of the staff.
Cons: Housekeeping.
Location: The location was great, no traffic.
The community at Nacogdoches always makes us feel welcome when we have visited our child at SFA. The staff at this facility was very kind and considerate, even offered us snacks for our trip back home. Thank you.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 12, 2014 by New Property Managers, Hotel Management
Thank you for the Stars! We are smiling over your kind comments. We had hoped to have our electricity on in the Lobby and Breakfast Café this weekend-- unfortunately the electricians were given the wrong voltage parts to install-- and back to home they went. Ho Hum, another delay but we are being so excited how close we are to open our full lobby and café to guests. We do have New WiFi installed since your last visit and new cable channels for you. Please come visit us again to see what's new. We always give SFA parents discounts to enjoy their weekend visits longer. Be Blessed ~ Property Managers
1 out of 5
by dissatisfied from Texas

Deserted

Posted Jun 9, 2014
Horrible. Hotel was almost deserted. It looked nothing like the picture online. The bed had metal rails that cut both of my ankles. The shower had rust stains. We had to run the hot water about five minutes before it actually got hot. They didn't have ice bins. The TV only showed about 10 stations.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 12, 2014 by New Property Managers, Hotel Management
We did not provide ice bins, as we do not have a working ice machine-- of which we try to convey to all our customer before they arrive. Bring a cooler of ice of you plan to stay the weekend or longer. Unfortunately our ice machine is "out of order" until we have our new café open.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 12, 2014 by New Property Managers, Hotel Management
Thank you for your comment. Deserted-- You are correct Dear Sir. We just had several rooms of contractors leave earlier than planned-- that weekend for another jobsite. We were happy to provide a quiet atmosphere for you to rest. We took advantage of the early vacancies by remodeling and painting several rooms, in addition to working on our lobby-- as I am sure you did notice. The room you were booked, You did not let us know of any hot water issues-- which could not be since you were only one in that area and very close to the water heater. If you had let us know. We would have cleared up immediately. We strive for customer service excellence as we continue providing the cleanest most spacious rooms.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Mike from Many, la

Renovating

Posted May 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hotel was under renovations. Booked a king non smoking room but was put in a smoking double room. Would not recommend staying here unless there are no other options.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Timothy

Posted May 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 25, 2014 by Property Mgrs, Hotel Management
Thank you for the beautiful stars. We would like have comments to know what you liked best, but we thank you the same. We pray you come for another visit to see the improvements and new lobby, and soon the new comference room and breakfast cafe to be available for our customers.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Danko from Nacogdoches tx

You get what you pay for.

Posted Apr 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
Let me start by saying, the front desk/ owners were amazing. Very friendly and was there every time we needed something. The room on the other hand kinda sucked. Very spacious. We had our son who is under one with us and brought toys we still had plenty of room to walk. The water was another story. We first turned on the faucet and figured the water took FOREVER to heat up. Later on using the shower around 7-10 pm NOT A GOOD IDEA. There was no hot water. And same thing in the morning. My husband turned on the shower ALL THE WAY to hot and waited an hour at 8am-9am for the water to get anywhere near warm. Never happened. The ac/heater works. But you can't tell what you put in on at least in our room because all the indication lights have no wording to tell you what is what. The walls are paper thin. You can hear the others in their rooms talking and their tv on. The door lets in all kinds of weather. And the floors lastly will turn your feet black. I had to keep shoes on until I went to bed. Again, you get what you paid for fri-sun 103$
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 25, 2014 by Property Mgrs, Hotel Management
This customer is the same person giving a bad review as below. We only had one discounted reservation with 103.00 total for the week. Hince the reservation below. Thank you for the kind words about the management, We strive to make our customers feel welcomed and at home. Our roomas have had great changes. We have shampooed the carpets multiple times. This is an older motel built in the 1940's, so we are dealing wtih thin plaster, which we are upgrading all rooms. Our first priority was the new beds, linens, new plumbing, fresh paint on walls. We have remodeled much more and hope u will give our motel another visit.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

HORRIBLY disappointing!!

Posted Apr 7, 2014
My stay was terrible... No hot water, when I turned the bath water on it flooded the room then staff tried to say it would take an hour to get another room... then put me in another room and tried to charge me more...then I wanted to just go because it was so bad and she wouldn't re fund any of my $103. I would bever recommend...NEVER!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 17, 2014 by New Property Managers, Hotel Management
Property Managers do not understand the poor rating here. This single guest had reserved a single bed room with only one adult listed to arrive. Client arrived and checked in saying it was only one person. Front desk gets a call of water being in bathroom and overflowing to main room. Maintenance Mgr arrives immediately and discovers several wet children and not enough towels to dry. Sleeping bags on floor were wet. There was no waiting nor any negative comments on our property part-- just surprise of multiple kids. Property Mgrs immediately -- less than 15 minutes-- transfers guest and all kids to a double queen beds -room. We provide extra pillows, blankets, comforters, and towels. Property Managers do NOT charge nor request of any monies extra for the upgrade of room, nor do we request the damages the kids did to the previous room. There was no leak from bathtub/shower, As to no hot water-- There were 2 brand new hot water heaters installed mid-March on property. There were no complaints heard from any of the other guests on property-- whom have stayed multiple days. Since Property Managers also live on premises and reside the furthest away from the water heaters-- we find no evidence of this hot water problem-- other than it does take about 5-minutes to reach us. We love our hot showers too! There was no request of refunds from the guest -- we only heard compliments on the way out of the extras provided. There was questions of more monies on her part-- we had advised nothing extra needed to be paid-- we honored the one-bedroom reservation online. So these property managers are puzzled over the two low ratings given by the same guest-- since we only had the one reservation of 103.00 for the weekend.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by D.S.B. from Ruston , La.

Good place to stay !

Posted Mar 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
If you want a good place to stay with no frills this is it . This is basicaly " a clean room , a hot bath , T.V. for a great price . I personaly don't spend alot of time in my room or at the motel when I travel . I usualy am just looking for a safe , clean place , with a TV to spend the night and this suted my needs . They have recently gotten new managers who were very nice and helpfull and seemed to be making lots of improvements. This is an older motel so it isn,t as fancy and doesn,t have all of the aminities of some of the newer places.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 25, 2014 by Property Mgrs, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind words and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you visit us again soon, as you will find huge changes in all the rooms and front lobby of motel itself. We have worked around the clock to provide comfortable rooms for your "home away from Home" feel to rooms. It is a very quiet and peacful environment we like to provide our guests.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jim from Boise

Nice Motel in the north of Nac

Posted Mar 10, 2014
Pros: Clean rooms and very good location.
Cons: ADA compliance needs to be better but average person will have an excellent experience.
Location: It's Nacogdoches, Texas; the oldest city in Texas and beautiful.
Good stay and excellent staff. This place is a good value.
2 out of 5
by cmv from Houston

very basic room

Posted Oct 1, 2013
Room was clean and that's about it. No coffee maker ironing board nor iron. There was no ice machine this are just kind of handy to have when your traveling. Even tried for a complementary cup of coffee from front desk not even that. I suspected for the price not to expect much but I have stayed at Americas Best before and the amenities were available at other locations..
1 out of 5
by Mr T from Nacogdochez

Bad experience

Posted Sep 14, 2013
Pros: Nothing
Cons: New management
Location: I like the location
The hotel attendant was old and grumpy he couldn't speak good English was nosey and also accessed me of stealing one wash rag . I promise I will never go back and don't recommend to anyone