Ratings based on 9 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Good location

Posted Feb 25, 2014
Pros: The onsen was very nice. It was well run by the very friendly and helpful owners.
Cons: We would have liked breakfast.
Location: Good location, although ski-in/ski-out would have been better. All the buses stop next door -you take your skis inside the bus -difficult at times!
We had a Japanese room with great views of the mountains. The duvets were lovely and warm, as was the room but sitting on a cushion on the tatami floor was tough for the first few days with sore muscles from skiing! The onsen helped and it was nice to have a yukata to wear. There is a Lawson convenience store across the road and also a nice café with excellent Wi-Fi close by. The Wi-Fi reception was variable in our room. Being right next door to the Information Centre was great. There is a cash machine inside (many restaurants won't accept card payments) and the free ski buses stop there as well as the Shinjuku bus. We walked to many nearby restaurants and some will come and pick you up. For us, the best thing about this place was its location. We wish that breakfast had been included in the price, other than that it was a pleasant stay.
3 out of 5
by Tom from Shanghai, China

Good location, that is all

Posted Feb 12, 2014
The rooms did not get cleaned everyday, they simply replaced towels and emptied the bins. The owner spends all day smoking in the hotel lobby. The smoke rises up the stairwell and fills every single room with the smell of smoke.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Snow trip

Posted Feb 10, 2014
Great staff, right next door to the info centre bus stop, walking distance to resteraunts. Great for a traditional Japanese style stay at the snow.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Judy from China

Convenient location, lovely staff

Posted Feb 8, 2014
Pros: The owners are lovely. Breakfasts are great.
Location: Excellent location, next to Information Centre and ski shuttles and buses to Nagano. There is a great noodle house and a supermarket nearby.
Hakuba Bergland was exactly as we expected from reading the reviews. The owners of this family-run hotel are lovely. We had a Japanese style room and it was warm and comfortable. Breakfasts were very good. The hotel is right next to the Information Centre and very convenient for getting the ski shuttle to the gondola, and transport to Nagano. Would definitely stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by David O from Sydney, Australia

A little bit Japanese...

Posted Apr 2, 2013 on Hotels.com
What a refreshing change from staying in bland and overrated std.hotels in capital cities. This was everything that it was supposed to be... a typical Japanese style accomodation in a very convenient location. ironically, it had the most space of any place I was staying at in Japan for the 2 weeks I was travelling around. The only issue was the huge language barrier. Howver, the folks running the place were very friendly indeed. the biggest crticism is there was no place to hang a towel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Brea

Great stay!

Posted Mar 6, 2013 on Hotels.com
My boyfriend and I stayed here for 4 nights in late February and it was wonderful. The couple who own the hotel couldn't help enough. The rooms were large and had view of the mountains. It was in a good location, being next door to the information centre where most buses stop on their routes. When booking I was unsure as it was one of the less expensive hotels but I was not disappointed, We had an excellent time, thankyou.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Rachel

Posted Feb 10, 2013 on Hotels.com
Great location next to information centre and bus pickup. The manager was very sweet and helpful. I was a bit shocked to be charged a 'tax' for the daily use of the onsen at the end of my stay, regardless of how cheap it was.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely Hotel

Posted Nov 26, 2012
Pros: The onsen & the lovely staff
Location: perfect location, short stroll to ski parks, olympic areas and corner store
Great location, staff service was 100%. Loveliest people run the hotel, I was so grateful to have stayed at this hotel and met the lovely staff, we were served coffee and a treat on our departure morning. Great onsen bathing area on the top floor also. Loved it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Brea, CA

Great Hotel, friendly owners

Posted Jan 5, 2012 on Hotels.com
We stay at this hotel every time we visit Hakuba! Convenient location and easy to get to.Onsen enjoyable! Highly recommend this hotel! Easy access to many snow resorts.