Ratings based on 34 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Very Nice

Posted Jul 28, 2014
This hotel was exceptional. Location is quiet and the rooms are extremely comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by tedstravelblogs from Sydney, Australia

Europe - made in Japan

Posted Mar 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
Located in a quiet part of town near the nineteenth-century European quarter, it’s a 10 to 15 minute walk to the happening part of the city and one block to the #1 tram line which, with one change, will take you to the railway station or north to the Peace Park. The Gunkanjima cruise wharf is just a few steps beyond the tram stop. It cost Y800 by taxi from the railway station. The twin rooms are reasonably spacious although the bathroom is definitely a solo operation and the decor is spare but relaxed. However, from what we could see the single rooms looked to be quite small. The beds are comfortable but the pillows are diminutive so you may need to ask for extras – as we did. Consistent with the name, a Mediterranean theme runs through the place including the dinky Euro elevators although the management is pure Japanese – that’s to say ever polite and efficient. Our TV did not seem to work but as there were only Japanese channels we didn’t bother to work that one out. There is an in-house Portuguese style restaurant which we didn’t try as we were more interested in the local offerings but there are not a lot of those near the hotel – so, more walking. The window shutters are very successful at blocking out light and given the quiet neighborhood we needed to set the alarm so as not to sleep away too much of our days. We thought it was a good value stay for the standard of accommodation and would come back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Phil

Portuguese decor close to Glover Garden

Posted Jan 10, 2014
Pros: Its location is great and the breakfast buffet had a great variety of items
Cons: I would not change a thing
Location: Easy access to streetcar and close to Confucian Temple, China Town and Glover Garden. Easy walking distance to Dejima
Hotel is about 15 years old, but everything is in good working order. The decor is fun and is reminiscent of traditional Portuguese decor. Rooms are compact, but very comfortable. The breakfast buffet had mostly Japanese cuisine, but the selection was great and plentiful. Staff were very friendly and helpful with sightseeing plans.. The closest streetcar stop is only one block away and the hotel is within easy walking distance to China Town and Glover Gardens. Dejima is only about a ten minute walk.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 23, 2013
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mimi from Santa Monica CA

good value hotel

Posted Oct 9, 2013
my double room was small by US standard, but entirely OK by Japanese standard. I loved the location. it is within walking distance to almost all things that should be checked out by a tourist.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Pascale from Beijing

perfect location

Posted Oct 7, 2013
Pros: Location Style Breakfast Frendliness
Location: Location is very good, walking distance to Dejima, Glover Park, Dutch Slope and Chinatown
Walking distance to most things to see in Nagasaki. Directly at tram line, so easy to get to railway station and bomb memorial. Very quiet in spite of its good location, on a small street with nearly no traffic. Very nice hotel in old style, good rooms, good breakfast and friendly and useful staff. I would definitely recommend it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by ted from cape cod

Nice hotel .Quiet location

Posted Sep 23, 2013
Pros: For Japan, unusual decor . Openable windows in room .
Hotel is located on one lane street one block back from main road . Pretty quiet , my room had a water view ( not all do ) . Spectacular waterfront park short walk away . Easy walking distance to sights and shopping . Hotel is about 2 - 2.5 kilometers from train station , for me an easy walk . Trolleys run constantly if you dont like walking. Not much english spoken at this hotel but enough to get by . Staff was helpful .
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Lisaloo from Sydney

It's a squeeze to say the least but good location

Posted Sep 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
Double beds are actually king singles, very over cramped rooms. I am only 5"6 and my feet hung off the end of the bed, luckily there was a lounge so my husband I rotated nights, one on the bed and one on the lounge(which was actually longer than the bed). On a plus size - and there are not many, unfortunately, but it was close to the trams and if you read the reviews and know to ask (reception does not offer up any information freely) you can get an all day tram pass for 500yen per person which was very handy. The hotel building had a nice character, however watch your head if you are over 5"9 as you may hit your head on the ceiling lights. The customer service was good, they were always willing to try and help, and there is a nice little breakfast bar just around the corner that has all you can drink tea/coffee etc at 220 yen and good priced food. Despite the willingness of staff, it is not somewhere I would choose to stay again purely based on the very cramped rooms.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Tanya from uk

Quirky hotel in central Nagasaki

Posted Aug 6, 2013 on Hotels.com
To start with it has parking which was a real benefit! Its a mock french style hotel with nice downstairs decor and it does have a quirky french feel to it. The rooms are small but acceptable and all very clean. Location a real bonus - its opposite where the tours to battleship island depart from and on our stay, also where the dragon boat fest was going on. Enjoyable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ken from Canberra ACT, Australia

Nice Dutch theme hotel

Posted Jul 16, 2013
Location: Pretty far from the action, but near glover garden, Hollander slope
When I first checked in the reception was going to offer me a single room, despite I booked a semi-double room. This was quickly resolved tho with me showing them a print out of the Expedia reservation paper. The room was nice, however a few cons: Tiled floor, personally I prefer carpet The 'lounge' in the room, the semi double room is pretty big, but having the lounge in the room took up almost most of the space in the room