Ratings based on 49 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wien, Oesterreich

Hotel mit Kolonialflair

Posted Jul 22, 2015
Pros: Das Ambiente der ganzen Anlage
Cons: Fruehstueckbuffet preislich anpassen
Location: im Norden der CBA (Zentrum), in der Naehe ist das Nationalmuseum
Dies war 2015 mein zweiter Aufenthalt in diesem Hotel und im Gegensatz zu den vielen, weltweit identischen anonymen Betonkaesten fuehle ich mich im Norfolk mit seinem zentralen Garten und den max. 3 Stockwerken sehr wohl. Das Preis_Leistungsverhaeltnis ist in Ordnung, sieht man vom ueberteuerten Fruehstuecksbuffet ab (Alternative: Coffee/toast = Continental). Die Hotelanlage ist eine Oase der Ruhe, die Gartenrestaurants am Abend bieten eine angenehme Atmosphaere. Ein Bonus ist der im hinteren Teil der Anlage gelegene Pool.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Great experience!

Posted Jul 7, 2015
I stayed at this hotel for 10 days while working at the National Museum up the street. The hotel is very posh - for the upscale crowd. The bathroom had a wonderfully large tub and separate shower, which I appreciated. A comfortable desk and chair were provided and the bed was perfect. The work-out facility was clean with modern equipment and delicious infused water for after workout refreshment. The grounds are beautiful and the staff is friendly. If you plan to eat here just be prepared to spend double what you would elsewhere. A Tusker at the bar here is 500, but if you wander down to the Boulevard down the street it is 250. But this is what I'd expect for any upscale hotel in any big city. The security is intense so you will definitely feel safe.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Classic old hotel in convenient central location

Posted Jun 6, 2015
Pros: Staff are wonderful, very friendly and attentive. Food at all the outlets was excellent. Gym and pool are pretty good to
Cons: The wifi. You have to keep signing back in every 45 minutes! So annoying and nowadays all decent hotels have free unlimited wifi for guests.
Enjoyed a few days business trip at The Norfolk. Excellent location near the centre of town for business. Great staff , excellent food, and a relaxing bar but they do need to sort out the wifi!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from T

Friendly hotel with good facilities

Posted Apr 24, 2015
Good hotel. Not too large. Everything works well. Very friendly staff. Nice central courtyard is a bit of a haven in a busy city.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado Springs

A great hotel in central Nairobi.

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Pros: Rooms, staff, food, ambiance
Location: right across the street from the University of Nairobi and in a good location downtown.
Love this hotel. Other hotels in central Nairobi have started to look shabby, but this is a notable exception. It has old-world charm with great facilities. Food was excellent, too!
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Ryan from Colorado, USA

Worst Service of any hotel, cheap or luxury

Posted Mar 5, 2015 on Hotels
Along the gamut of very cheap to very nice hotels I have stayed at, I have never encountered worse service than at the Fairmont. The building and grounds are beautiful, but that's the only positive thing I have to say. Assuming the off chance that the answer to a request was not just "no, we can't" (basic ones, such as turning the volume on the TV in an empty bar when the remote is in a hands reach or ordering off the restaurant menu from the bar while we watch other people eating off it), it took insanely long. A beer required sometimes 3 reminders, interesring given it was 4x the standard price of a beer in Kenya. 4x the price should not mean 4x the wait. Plan on 20-40 minutes for your drink (unless you pull a Larry David and just go grab it while it visibly sits at the waiter stand for 70% of that time). Plan on at least 45 minutes for your food, even if you are the only one in the restaurant. Plan on wondering how you're paying this much more for this horrendous service. The grounds and hotel itself is beautiful. Nice old building with scenic gardens on site, good workout facility where I actually got good service (I had to ask for a towel), cool bar were it not for how frustrating it is to eat or drink there. The front desk lest us store our bags. Hence not the 1 star. If the hotel were 1/3 of the price, it could perhaps justify just how poorly it performs.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dallas

Fairmont the Norfolk

Posted Mar 3, 2015
Pros: The courtyard is very attractive, like a small park.
Cons: Need to expand tour options. Only thing available was a $500 day trip.
Location: Location is very secure. Ten minute walk to the National Museum, but a little bit away from downtown.
Nice hotel in an historic property. Good security and lots of friendly staff. Restaurants on site are okay but pricey. Overall, a good choice but not worth the money.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from United Kingdom

Overpriced hotel

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Pros: Décor and the environment
Cons: Staff training and hotel needs to be flexible and complied with the price found online
Location: nice location
I was charged way more than the priced I found online.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Kristine from London

Pleasant stay

Posted Feb 22, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel staff were extremely helpful and courteous. The room was also pleasant with all the amenities you would expect. A bit disappointed in the food, which was pricey and outside of breakfast, quite ordinary.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by EJ from US

Beautiful stay with a few bumps along the way

Posted Feb 7, 2015 on Hotels
There were a number of problems during my stay, but to the hotel's credit, they did try to rectify as many as they could.