Ratings based on 33 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom m

Money-hungry a lot. Almost charge to pee.

Posted Sep 29, 2014
Definitely won't go back. I had a five day short stay and it seems like if I cleared my throat, there definitely was gonna be a bill.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by therevfrom Nairobi

Not good enough

Posted May 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
There are some very good hotels in Nairobi, but unfortunately Jacaranda is no longer one of them. Location is very good but in general the hotel feels old; bathrooms are outdated and the wi-fi was mostly unavailable during the whole of my stay. Furthermore, on checking in late after a long flight, I was given a smoking room which really is not acceptable. There are no lifts which can be a problem. Food is very mediocre and the breakfast coffee was awful - and this in Kenya which has some of the best coffee in the world!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kimfrom Odense

Godt hotel for familier og forretningsfolk

Posted Jul 24, 2013
Pros: Hyggelig stil
Et af de gode gamle (store) hoteller I Nairobi - ikke modern, minimalistisk stil, som er så kedelige, men mere I ældre 'colonial style', som er super hyggeligt og smukt. Lækker have, stor pool, etc.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Erlendfrom Norge

Veldig bra beliggenhet

Posted Jun 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
Et bra hotell beliggende i kort avstand til det som var aktuelt for meg. En fin hage med bassengområde. Meget bra gym og spa.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Emil B.

Posted Jan 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
Jacaranda is appropriate for a business traveler. There are limitations, but in reality every hotel has them. Staff is helpfull and competent. Location is good with enough places to go nearby, and reasonable time/expense to get to city centre and airport. The hotel is safe.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Expensive wifi

Posted Dec 26, 2012 on Hotels.com
Old colonial style hotel. Nice grounds and pool. However, wifi is extra and ridiculously expensive. For this reason alone, I wouldn't stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 24, 2012 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Henryfrom Canberra ACT 2601, Australia

Jacaranda Hotel

Posted Aug 15, 2012
Pros: Classic atmosphere
Location: Good for west end of town. Close to good shops.
Pleasant old hotel. Location good for western end of Nairobi, but crossing town to business in eastern part can be very slow. Direct booking with hotel is expensive. Usual glitches for the region - telephones and internet not always working. Established gardens.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by bill

Posted Jun 18, 2012 on Hotels.com
no AC - hot! noisey at night and with no A/C it is hard to sleep
2 out of 5
by Rimafrom Based in Denmark

Not the best for business travellers

Posted May 24, 2012
Pros: The gym, where I go to keep fit and sweat off the stress caused by the internet and other service issues of the hotel!
Cons: The food and the internet - which I am dependent on for business.
Location: Across the road from Sarit Center with a super market, book store, clothing, pharmacy, fast food outlets, telecom shop and an internet center.
The Deluxe Rooms are better than the standard rooms. Most of the staff are extremely warm, welcoming and helpful, however, there are a few who are at the other end of the spectrum. If you are here for business. Internet is atrocious. If you have deadlines and you depend on the internet...the Jacaranda might not be the best option. Internet at the business center will cause hypertension. My airport pickups did not show up on two separate occasions. Rooms are small. Telephones in the rooms don't work. Cost is at the high end, for a hotel that is a bit "weary" and has seen its hey day. In between stays, I stayed at the Amman Sheraton, and for the same price, it was paradise. Food service, particularly at dinner is extremely slow, and can take up to 45 minutes. I ordered a banana smoothie which did not show up even after half hour, and I had to cancel. The best part about the hotel, is the gym, for those who like to keep fit. Other pluses: it has a nice garden, you can walk across the road to the Sarit Center where there is a super market, a book store, clothing store, a pharmacy, some fast food outlets etc, as well as telecom shop and an internet center.