Ratings based on 39 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Linda from Arlington VA

good value for the money

Posted May 28, 2014
Pros: dining for good free breakfast on roof top/pay for dinner or lunch again on roof top. Great, friendly and helpful staff. Wi-Fi and free one computer
Cons: intermittent computer outage. little noisy d/t staircase and breakfast dining.
Location: crowded, told need transportation for sure after 5 p.m.
I stayed at end of building with spiral staircase. Noise at times as people went up/down the staircase. Noise from my room position from breakfast rooftop dining. Only lukewarm showers
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by S from San Francisco

OK hotel, GREAT staff

Posted Mar 19, 2014
Pros: The staff, they were all great! Rooftop restaurant was a nice convenience & the food was good & reasonably priced.
Cons: Lights were very dim. Restrooms/showers were...well...not western standards.
Location: appears to be in a busy commercial street; we did not venture out as we were there for an overnight stay before our safari & b4 going to the airport
Unless you want to pay top bucks, you are not going to get western standards for cleanliness & functionality. All that said, this hotel is reasonable for the price. Comes with a large breakfast & they accommodate you even if you have to leave super early (even before the normal breakfast hours). Wifi is weak & spotty. Avoid rooms near front reception as it can get noisy even during the wee hours of the night. The staff is very friendly & professional. They treat you even better the 2nd time you stay there. We wanted to upgrade our room & they gave that to us free during our 2nd stay. The cost of the airport shuttle to & from the airport is reasonable. The traffic during commute hours is ridiculous. We thought we avoided it when we left early but there was 1 accident in the other direction & traffic in both directions came to a shrieking halt. Our driver was amazing and scary at the same time as he tried his best to get us to the airport on time. We were late but so was everyone else, including the pilot so the flight was delayed & everything turned out fine.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by gemmamay21 from london

Good value for money

Posted Feb 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great value for money as breakfast is amazing and you can have it in your room or on the amazing rooftop bar. drinks are very reasonably priced and its close to town. Neighborhood not so good but there are matatus and the guys here will escort you to the shops if you need anything.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by S from San Francisco, CA

OK hotel with excellent staff

Posted Jan 28, 2014
Pros: The staff! What a great bunch! Professional, welcoming, helpful, felt safe & taken care of. Rooftop restaurant was nice too.
Cons: The lights were too dim. It was a bit noisy near the front reception in the wee hours of the night when it should be very quiet so everyone can sleep
Location: Apparently it's near lots of shops but we did not venture out.
I imagine that this hotel is probably of decent standards compared with other similar hotels in Nairobi. Coming from the west, it's hard to compare apples to apples. By western standards, the room condition & cleanliness is of a 1-2 star hotel, but it's the staff that really shines thru. They were all very professional and friendly. We stayed there before & after our safari. I asked to upgrade to a better room than the first time we stayed fully expecting to pay for it, but they gave us a free upgrade because we had stayed there before. We also wanted to buy the magazine from the room as it had nice photos of animals we had seen on our safari & they just gave it to us. So they did not try to nickel & dime us for everything but instead they really gave us a great deal. The breakfast was huge and good & was already included in the fee. They even accommodated us on our last morning as we had to leave before breakfast officially started, but they had someone bring it to our room early. The wifi was weak unfortunately. We arranged taxi service from the airport & our driver was waiting for us with my name when we got out of the airport. We also had taxi service to the airport. Due to an accident, the roads from all directions to the airport was jammed packed. I was afraid we would miss our flight but our driver was amazing & scary at the same time. Airport shuttle service cost was extremely reasonable...just avoid commute hours, & pray for no accidents!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kinga from Somalia

Very hospitable place

Posted Dec 6, 2013
Pros: Staff ready to go an extra mile: I received early breakfast at 5am although the cook comes at 6am - and it was the staff's own initiative!
Location: Location is ok although there are better districts in NBO
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by David from Australia

great staff, moderate price

Posted Nov 11, 2013
Pros: Khweza's most valuable aspect is their staff. Incredibly friendly and helpful - owners/managers should reward them!
Cons: A few areas in the hotel are good hang-outs for mozzies at sun down - they could probably be sprayed more routinely.
Location: It's a short enough walk to the city.
I stayed at khweza for a few nights after a conference in Nairobi. I think that the reviews on here are pretty accurate. It's nothing fancy, but it's a nice place to stay. The staff are particularly friendly and happy to talk about what it's like to live in Nairobi.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Jen from Connecticut

Love-hate

Posted Sep 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
Well, I just loved the staff. They are so nice!! And the food is fantastic. But it was really uncomfortable. The room was freezing. The hot water didn't work so I just stopped showering. And the room had windows that opened to the lobby. So people would sit in front of our windows and talk, SMS, use the internet... All night. It wasn't unreasonable behavior but the way the hotel is set up, it feels like people are in the room with you. Try using bathroom with a group of people sitting right on the other side. Sleeping? Not possible. Other rooms weren't right inside the lobby. Maybe those would be better.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 25, 2012 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 24, 2012 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Douglas

Comfortable sleeper

Posted Sep 14, 2012 on Hotels.com
Khweza is a hotel in Downtown Nairobi which was a real treat. Most hotels in Nairobi are very expensive and cater to tourists who are unfamiliar with the city. I have stayed in the high end Nairobi hotels several times and felt they were overpriced. Khweza was an unknown to me but a great find as they had great personal service and I felt safe and saved a lot. I recommend their hotel without reservation.