Ratings based on 30 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 20, 2014
Pros: Care shown by all staff.
Cons: Attention to detail with regard to service in the Atrium dining room.
Location: Not applicable.
Very disappointing evening meal in the Atrium. Waited 40 minutes for a calamari starter. Walked out. Second evening dinner in the Terrace, Steak Evening, was best steak meal I have ever had. I gave 3 business presentations and couldn't fault the organisation.
3 out of 5
by victoria from from Califirnia

It was just fine nothing to write home about.

Posted Jun 14, 2014
There are so many better hotels in the area with the same price. I would not go back again. The room is not worth for the price.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Brad from Colorado

A good (not great) hotel that shows its age

Posted May 14, 2014
Pros: Location is good; price was reasonable.
Cons: rooms need updating badly.
Location: It's right downtown and next to the park.
The hotel is a decent one but is showing its age. There are lots of little signs of age in the rooms, but it isn't a bad place to stay. The food is good and the people are friendly. It is still reasonably priced. I was in two rooms and in neither one did the airconditioning work well. That was a big disappointment.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Christine from US

Clean and extra nice service

Posted Mar 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
Was a bit weary after an unpleasant experience staying at another hotel in Nairobi but was pleasantly surprised when on arrival here, the concierge took my bags immediately on arrival and I was ushered to the reception- welcomed there with a nice hand towel and glass of water (how did they know?!). Anyway, everyone seemed to really know what they were doing and filled their role happily. From the well-equipped business center to the delish restaurants conveniently opened til late, I was very happy with the stay. The rooms are, naturally a bit older as the hotel is old too but they've tried to maintain it with nice linen, accessories and kept it very clean. The final cherry on the pie is LOCATION. Being so central to town (yet not quite IN town but the outskirts-which is nice) and on the major highway (Uhuru highway) makes it convenient to access the airport, go to Westlands and really most other places from a central point. Will definitely stay again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Khadar from Canada

Potential to be a great hotel

Posted Mar 2, 2014
Pros: The location. Also, the decor and design of the cafeteria.
Cons: The internet connection in the rooms and the exchange rate for dolla is too low.
Location: It's a great location for shopping. Also, there is a nice Java House for quick eat out near by.
Experience was good overall. Perhaps the management team is new on the job. There was lack of synchronisation between the different shift. and the internet was horrible in the rooms.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Derek from USA

Convenient location

Posted Oct 27, 2013
Pros: The hotel was clean and the gym was excellent.
Cons: The service in the restaurants was very slow and caused me to be late for several meetings.
Location: The hotel is located downtown and was within walking distance of many of my meetings.
The location was convenient and the room cleaning staff was excellent. However, the service in the restaurants was very slow anduneven.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ukes from New Zealand

Walking distance to some places

Posted Oct 14, 2013
Some staff are really good and few are very stupid
2 out of 5
by Ina from Colombia

The big disappointing in Nairobi

Posted Jul 26, 2013
Pros: The food at the Garden restaurant
Cons: All the hotel facilities. Apparently it hasn't been improved since the 80s.
Location: That was ok. Near the parks, very central.
I thought that this hotel would be nice, wrong! It is like a previous 5 star hotel from the 80s which has been not modernized since then. Beginning with the staff, which has to be lean how to treat well a client. The room was very dissapointed as it was so uncomfortable (I never ever sleept in such a bad matress. Even the bed from campside at the Serengeti Park were much better). The light was bad and the bathroom very old. The Spa was ok, but also old. The breakfast a desaster (quality and service). The only good thing: the restaurant at first floor and the quality of the masage.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient hotel

Posted Jul 21, 2013
I stayed at the Laico since it was located downtown and easy to get to from both Nairobi International Airport and Wilson Airport. The hotel was nice, clean, and the staff were very friendly. The bed could have been more comfortable and the internet went out during my stay, but all in all the hotel was what I expected.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Wanted good, central hotel to prepare for meeting

Posted Jun 11, 2013 on Hotels.com
First day was rather frustrating as Internet kept breaking down. When fellow guest on other side of hotel had much better Internet, I asked to move and got moved immediately. All well after that. Breathtaking restaurant in 10-storey high core served excellent meals with top, friendly service. Also enjoyed covered outdoor pool. Room well appointed, good design and very clean.