Ratings based on 50 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by w

Good for a night or two on a budget

Posted May 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
Not so bad neither good. Just enough to spend a night on a budget
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 21, 2014
Nice property, but in very unsafe area. No restaurant or fast food options other then on-site bar
3 out of 5
by Ray from Washington

Not what I expected

Posted Mar 30, 2014
Pros: WiFi did work. No problems with water temperature. Bed and room motel quality comfortable. Secure sense in an unsecure environment.
Cons: Signage, food at restaurant.
Location: See the "about your experience" section. There is nothing to do nearby the hotel beyond glimpse everyday barely making ends meet life in Nairobi.
The price is good however it is probably so because this hotel is NOT in central Nairobi. It is at least a mile walk to there (minimum 15 minutes with a brisk pace) with the way through a gauntlet /wall of people at most times of the day over a path strewn with litter. The surrounding area too is litter strewn. Staying at this hotel is staying among the local people and if you don't want that you don't want this hotel. (I write that because many who travel want anything but a cultural immersion). There is no obvious or well seen sign at or directing to or announcing the hotel (even though the picture on Expedia showed one). Getting there required my taxi driver to ask for directions several times in the surrounding neighborhood as no one seemed to know of the facility. I write taxi driver because my transfer to the hotel (and arranged by the hotel) did not show up at the airport. After an hour long wait I got a taxi, and that was an event in itself. When I got to the hotel the response after reporting no transfer showed up was, "Well you made it." There really is nothing immediately surrounding the hotel in the way of places to eat. The food at the hotel was at best dinner quality- not that I expected top restaurant quality. Best description of the facility would be a high end hostel where you don't share sleeping quarters. Do not expect more. Overall not a place I'd stay with a visit to Nairobi again, primarily due to location.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 9, 2014 by NTH Management, Hotel Management
Nairobi Transit Hotel prides itself on providing a clean three star environment for its guests and we are disappointed that you do not feel our services reflect this and that you were unhappy with the location of the Hotel. We host a range of local and international guests and we work hard to meet all of their needs and so we are grateful for your feedback concerning signage and food quality in our restaurant. Whilst we do not advertise ourselves to offer a ‘top’ restaurant, our chefs pride themselves on providing a variety of good flavoursome meals. We want all guests to enjoy their stay with us and as such, we shall consider what improvements we can make in these areas. Finally, we apologise for the poor service you received from our Front Office Receptionists, who are tasked with providing excellent customer service. We have addressed your complaint with the team and provided further training on communication to avoid this happening again.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Kathy from Florida

Posted Mar 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
Poor security. Sliding doors to outside had no locks.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 12, 2014 by NTH Management, Hotel Management
We take security extremely seriously at Nairobi Transit Hotel and there are measures in place (including CCTV and round-the-clock security guards) to provide for guests safety at all times. All of our staff, including those specifically designated to monitor security are trained to be alert and vigilant and promote guest safety and security at all times.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
Recommended
by A and L England from England

Friendly staff but dingy hotel

Posted Feb 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
For this price I would expect something a bit better quality - a bit dingy tacky no mosquito net we laughed at breakfast because it was so poor. Breakfast buffet was toast and butter.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 12, 2014 by NTH Management, Hotel Management
We are sorry that you were unsatisfied with certain aspects of the Hotel. We do provide mosquito nets on request and our breakfast is a lot more than toast and butter. We provide self service for hot drinks and toast during breakfast; all other items are available on order as per the norm (at no extra cost) according to your preferences including fruits, juices, cereals as well as a hot cooked breakfast.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Dan from Sydney

Terrible

Posted Feb 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
I booked this hotel for free in room wifi. The receptionist gave me the password but didn't tell me it wasn't working. So after half an hour of attempting to get online I call reception from my room and she tells them tellse there is no wifi and won't be fixed till next day! So I decide to have a shower. There is no cold water. I am told to press a button on wall? There are 10 buttons I hit them all.. No hot water . I have a cold shower. Room is very basic. TV didn't work and didn't fit In socket on wall. Beds are very uncomfortable and directly outside was a noisy busy street. Breakfast is hard boiled eggs and pancakes and coffee is very bad. Don't bother with this place unless it is an emergency!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 12, 2014 by NTH Management, Hotel Management
It is unfortunate that you experienced problems with the WIFI and TV connection during your stay at Nairobi Transit Hotel. We have since addressed these problems as well as the lack of communication you received from our Front Office Receptionists. In relation to the other issues you mention, all our rooms have standard hot showers which are operated via a heater switch just outside the bathroom; and we do offer a range of food items during breakfast which are ordered via our waiting staff. We work hard to meet our guests’ needs and listen to and act on your feedback so we do hope you will consider staying with us again in the future.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

advoid

Posted Feb 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
It is said a Crocodile smiles before it bites you , in this case its a Hotel. The staff are very friendly, but also skilled in the art of padlock picking. To return to your room and find that your bags have been tamped with and searched is not pleasant My advice is don’t stay here if you do make sure your room is not cleaned. The security cameras are an asset but not any use of evidence not followed up. After my bitter and very costly experience. I hope that all booking companies remove this hotel from their sites asap
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 12, 2014 by NTH Management, Hotel Management
We sincerely regret this occurrence and apologise for your loss. Whilst this incident is uncommon, we assure you that we do take such matters extremely seriously and we have taken steps to prevent this happening again. Nairobi Transit Hotel does not tolerate theft of any kind and any employee found guilty of misconduct is dealt with accordingly.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Roland from Lagos Nigeria

Good

Posted Jan 1, 2014
Good hotel except for its location and surrondings
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 13, 2013
Pros: staff and cleaniness of the place
Cons: food at the resto!
Location: Carribana - a nice bar and resto on Lenana road. nice place to chill out
I had a pleasent experience and a nice stay.