Ratings based on 11 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sanjayfrom London

Comfortable hotel in the heart of Westlands.

Posted Sep 2, 2013
Pros: We liked the location of the hotel and also the facilities.
Sankara is a well located business hotel. All the facilities including the rooms are of a high standard. The service can be slow at times as it is a very busy hotel.The staff are very friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Garethfrom Cyprus

Nice hotel. Not cheap by Kenya standards but good

Posted Aug 14, 2013
Pros: The staff and the service was good.
Cons: Breakfast should have a cost for just coffee, a cost for continental breakfast and a cost for full breakfast.
Location: Safe location near the centre of Nairobi
Staff and food very good. 2500 Kenya schillings for coffee in the morning is too much!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kellyfrom Perth WA, Australia

Book this hotel and you will NOT regret it!

Posted Jun 1, 2013
Pros: Everything! Location, staff, breakfast and the rooms were all beyond my expectations!
Cons: Nothing, everything was perfect
Location: Located outside of the cbd but close to everything you need including markets, shopping centers, resturants and attractions.
What an amazing hotel! Staff were genuinely helping and happy people who just couldn't do enought for you. The entire hotel was spotless and brand new. Rooms were modern, spacious and extremely comfortable. The sandstone animal carvings at turn down service were the icing on the cake and a perfect little momento of our stay. Security was tight so you always felt safe, they even offered to walk us round the corner to a resturant! The breakfast was fantastic, loads of choice, fresh and opening hours were great. The gym was clean and had great equiptment and the rooftop pool and glass bridge were just More features that makes this hotel special. It's located out of the city but is still very close to the markets, museums, shopping centers and resturants. The hotel taxis are farly priced, clean and reliable so you can get anywhere you need to be with ease. I really can't say enough good things about this hotel, it was a perfect and peacful place to stay after our safari. we will never stay anywhere else in nairobi. Thank you sankara for an amazing stay.
2 out of 5
by Michaelfrom London

First stays great, but last one disappointing

Posted May 28, 2013
Pros: Used to like everything -- a lot! -- but after last stay I am very reluctant to stay again.
Cons: After a disaster of an effectively uninhabitable room-no AC, no open windows, no sleep, a ridiculous fan at 2:30AM-- more than "sorry" is appropriate.
Location: Nice pizza place across the way. A bit out of main downtown but that's a real nice feature.
The air conditioner did not work at all the first day and into the next day, and windows did not open-- sweltering heat and no way to sleep. They insisted there was no AC in the whole hotel. Only after 8 calls to reception and finally insistence on speaking to duty manager did they finally-- at 2:30AM --bring a fan-- a swinging wall-mount fan with no mount! So it clanked all night lying sideways on the carpet as I tried to sleep. By this time mildew smell in the room was nauseating. The next day I went downstairs to a freshly cool air-conditioned lobby-- quite perplexed at the "whole hotel" argument. I asked my office to call them to insist my AC was fixed or I would move. Next day this was a bit better-- but they seem to put limits on thermostat so it never really cools-- just takes edge off the heat. I paid premium rates for a Mercedes airport transfer but they substituted an inferior vehicle-- one tire was bolted on with a strange contraption. For in-town transfers they charged more than quoted. Not sure what is happening here-- my first few stays here were great. But hard to charge the highest rates in Nairobi for a hotel without air-conditioning! And no real concern in spite of my heart-felt complaints. I am hard-pressed to stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Timfrom Dubai

Excellent Hotel

Posted Jan 25, 2013
Pros: It's VERY new, VERY clean and modern.
Cons: Wifi signal (I know... small picky thing)
Location: In Westlands, which is the more upscale area of the city.
I stayed at this hotel for 3 days... I had one room service charge which I paid cash for, show up on my bill but they quickly reversed it. All in all an excellent experience. Wifi was a little temperamental (not TOO bad though).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Simon & Katefrom Perth WA, Australia

The best hotel we've ever stayed in, anywhere!

Posted Jan 14, 2013
Pros: Paintings and all the little extras in the room... someone has really thought about it.
Cons: It was a bit unclear how the restaurants / buffets / bar worked so we were sucked into the bar when we were actually after some dinner. Soon sorted!
Location: Its in Nairobi, quite a lively part of Nairobi, so all the strict security for cars and people was well appreciated.
The best hotel we've ever stayed in! We splashed out after a 2 week camping holiday in Kenya and Uganda and what a great move. The staff are welcoming, friendly and helpful. The room was large and had everything you could think of and more you'd never expect... slippers, velvet lined snacks drawers, etc! The hotel has fabulous paintings all over the place, the restaurants served great food and the rooftop pool bar was lovely. Highly recommended and not much difference in price to some very mediocre places we saw and stayed at at the beginning of our trip
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Johnfrom Kenya

Sankara - will definitely return

Posted Jan 11, 2013
A new hotel but from the moment of check in until check out all the staff were very friendly and helpful. Let's hope they don't loose this. The rooms are quiet, clean, spacious and well furnished. The Resutrants and Bar have a good selection of food and drinks with excellent service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Thank you, Sankara!

Posted Jan 8, 2013
Upon arrival, the hotel staff were very helpful and friendly. The room was spacious and wonderfully designed and little touches of hotel compliments made the room feel like home. The breakfast menu was also quite extensive and delicious, so it is possible not to go wrong! The location is great, right next to a number of restaurants and a few shopping malls. All in all, I enjoyed my stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Frelstfrom Oslo

Bildene lyver ikke

Posted Oct 11, 2012
Pros: Rommet (romslig og moderne) og trygghet
Cons: n/a
Location: Man sikkert ser mer av Nairobi ved å bo nærmere Stortinget (Parliament) i Nairobi.
This is not the easiest neighborhood to walk around in. Nevertheless, it is very safe by day, and just across the street from the Sarit Centre mall. I highly recommend this hotel. It is posh and apparently very popular with business people. The breakfast buffet is superb. If you need to be closer to the Parliament, choose the InterContinental.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Charlie's Angelfrom Western Australia

Perfect 5-star experience

Posted Jul 20, 2012
Pros: beautiful hotel and great rooms
Location: Great. Close to Westgate Shopping Mall and other Westland's shops and restaurants
A lovely oasis in Nairobi's Westlands. The staff were attentive and very professional, making check-in easy. All my queries were handled quickly and without a hiccup. I had asked for a quiet room at the back of the hotel, something I often do. When I arrived there was jackhammering and construction of a high fence happening just out the front of the hotel. I had no problems with noise at all in my room. It was perfectly appointed, great decor and just delightful. I ate at one of the restaurants and the quality was good, perhaps a little overpriced. I will definitely be returning to Sankara on any future visits to Nairobi.