Ratings based on 48 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Mexico

Totally worth it

Posted Nov 12, 2014
Pros: I compared a loot of options and this looked like the best one. Hotels are very expensive in Nairobi and they are 3 stars. This one could be 5.
Cons: Didn't specify the price for the airport transportation was per person, so it was a big surprise to pay around 20 usd per person. Should specify this.
Location: Well not too sure, we only stayed a night here, but the taxi took us to a market in about 20 min. and to a restaurant in 40.
The hotel is very nice, clean, staff very helpful. I asked them if we could have a late check out, and they said yes, so instead of checkin out at 10:00 am, we did it at noon. The facilities are very nice, they were building the pool, but our room was not close to that area so we don't have any complaints about that. Food was good and clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Seattle

Heron Portico is a great, affordable place to stay

Posted Nov 4, 2014
Pros: I liked everything about this hotel. Including that they let me use their comfortable, Wifi-ed lobby for ten hours after I checked out.
Location: It's a longish walk into downtown, but taxis are always available.
I am an experienced traveler and know what I want and can expect in a hotel. I loved the Heron Portico so much I stayed there three separate times during my last visit to Kenya! The room was clean, well-maintained and had everything I needed, from Wifi to endless hot water. The restaurant and bar food and drink were very good. And the professionalism and attitude of the entire staff were uniformly excellent; they went out of their way to make sure I had a great stay, and I did.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Seattle, WA

Heron Portico is a great, affordable place to stay

Posted Nov 1, 2014
Pros: I liked everything about this hotel. Including that they let me use their comfortable, Wifi-ed lobby for ten hours after I checked out.
Location: It's a longish walk into downtown, but taxis are always available.
I am an experienced traveler and know what I want and can expect in a hotel. I loved the Heron Portico so much I stayed there three separate times during my last visit to Kenya! The room was clean, well-maintained and had everything I needed, from Wifi to endless hot water. The restaurant and bar food and drink were very good. And the professionalism and attitude of the entire staff were uniformly excellent; they went out of their way to make sure I had a great stay, and I did.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Great location for business travellers.

Posted Sep 5, 2014
When I booked Heron for a short stay I didn't expect much but was pleasantly surprised by the great hospitality and excellent service standards the hotel offers. I particularly loved it's proximity to the CBD and convenience, but also the hotel decor, good solid furnishings and impressive maintainance were an added bonus. My double room was grand, very clean with all the necessary mord cons offered in major higher rated hotels. The only thing lacking was an iron which I had to request and they happily supplied instantly. Highly recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by wendyfrom denver

Great Hotel and staff

Posted Jul 31, 2014 on Hotels.com
The staff especially the front desk were so accommodating. It was relaxing and peaceful. The hotel decor was beautiful. The room service food was ok it did arrive hot. Also the shower leaked a lot got the bathroom floor soaked. All in all it was very nice and we can't wait to go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Canada

Very nice

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: Everything.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Hotel is within walking distance to downtown and Uhuru Park.
I have absolutely nothing bad to say about this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Deanfrom Canada

The Place to Stay in Nairobi

Posted Jun 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great Hotel - excellent service, helpful staff. Great food and excellent prices.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Deanfrom Canada

Great Hotel

Posted May 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great Hotel BUT I wouldn't stay there in summer months due to the fact that it doesn't have AC!! Oct - May should be no problem at all. Nice staff good food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Aureliafrom Bonn

Great location, nice facilities, comfortable rooms

Posted Mar 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
I stayed in this hotel for 11 nights for a business trip. I was at first hesitant about some things, such as the lack of AC (absolutely not a problem). This hotel turned out to be a great selection -- nice facilities, nice rooms, great service including good WiFi. Perhaps best of all is the location -- I managed to avoid a lot of traffic even traveling in rush hour. Highly recommend, including for solo female travellers such as myself. Have also stayed during this trip at Heminways Nairobi and Sarova Stanley, this three star hotel that punches above its weight was my favourite experience.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Lizfrom New York, USA

Great service, Good Amenities, Poor Room

Posted Feb 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
The staff here is very hospitable and takes get effort to ensure your comfort and satisfaction. The Gym is really lovely - everything worked perfectly and it was well maintained and clean with a steam and good showers. The restaurant has good service and an interesting menu and breakfast was really delicious. The main drawback relates to the quality of the rooms. My shower was leaky so the floor was always very wet in the bathroom. The walls do not provide any sound buffers so you can hear people moving about in their rooms and using their showers early in the morning, and therefore it isn't that restful. Also, my room didn't have AC which I thought surprising given the price of the room.