Ratings based on 75 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Brussel

Good venue nice hotel

Posted Apr 29, 2015
Pros: Good spacious rooms, well maintained
Cons: There are levels which can't be reached by elevator which is a bit cumbersome if you are wheelchair bound
Location: Close to Nairobi City Center
The Heron Portico is a nice upscale hotel in Nairobi. Conveniently located in a quiet area. Staff is friendly and willing to assist, just that the pricing for an extra person is outrageous (50%). It is well furnished and has a pool, a spa and a gym.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom USA

Needs some expert maintenance!

Posted Feb 28, 2015
Pros: Staff
Cons: Professional expert maintenance!
We have stayed at this hotel each year for the past 6 yrs. we have watched the price Go up, while the care and maintenance continue to go down, especially under new ownership * lift at ground floor does not work, you have to carry all you luggage to 2 or 3 floor and catch it there * room keys card, they rarely work correctly! Which means you must go by stairs down to the reception to retrieve another one * showers are not maintained professionally, all three rooms we stayed in (2different experiences) had issues, the handles came off, could not adust hot or cold, or broken all together, etc. * wifi and wired internet rarely work, dropped out all the time, made keeping in touch difficult! The staff at this place is wonderful, however we are really going to look for a better maintained hotel our next trip!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 12, 2015
綺麗なホテルでした。スタッフの対応も良く、朝食時には日本人と思われる人が多かったです。 全体的に良いと思いますが、強いてマイナス点をあげるとすると部屋の間取りが少し狭いホテルです。
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 2, 2015
I had stayed for 5 nights, the room is clean and comfortable but without A/C, only a fan the breakfast is nice with a wide range of varieties. Location is good, and quiet.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Maria de Llucfrom Mallorca

Hotel tranquilo en uno de los barrios más seguros

Posted Dec 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
El Heron Portico es un hotel de una compañía india, por lo que su decoración y hasta el desayuno recuerdan a ese país. Es cómodo, con instalaciones agradables y útiles para el viajero: tiene gimnasio, piscina, spa, tienda de souvenires... El servicio es muy amable y atento. Dispone de un espacio donde poder dejar las maletas si quieres visitar la ciudad sin tener que cargar con ellas. La única pega que le encuentro es la hora del check out, que es a las 10.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Mexico

Totally worth it

Posted Nov 12, 2014
Pros: I compared a loot of options and this looked like the best one. Hotels are very expensive in Nairobi and they are 3 stars. This one could be 5.
Cons: Didn't specify the price for the airport transportation was per person, so it was a big surprise to pay around 20 usd per person. Should specify this.
Location: Well not too sure, we only stayed a night here, but the taxi took us to a market in about 20 min. and to a restaurant in 40.
The hotel is very nice, clean, staff very helpful. I asked them if we could have a late check out, and they said yes, so instead of checkin out at 10:00 am, we did it at noon. The facilities are very nice, they were building the pool, but our room was not close to that area so we don't have any complaints about that. Food was good and clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Seattle

Heron Portico is a great, affordable place to stay

Posted Nov 4, 2014
Pros: I liked everything about this hotel. Including that they let me use their comfortable, Wifi-ed lobby for ten hours after I checked out.
Location: It's a longish walk into downtown, but taxis are always available.
I am an experienced traveler and know what I want and can expect in a hotel. I loved the Heron Portico so much I stayed there three separate times during my last visit to Kenya! The room was clean, well-maintained and had everything I needed, from Wifi to endless hot water. The restaurant and bar food and drink were very good. And the professionalism and attitude of the entire staff were uniformly excellent; they went out of their way to make sure I had a great stay, and I did.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Seattle, WA

Heron Portico is a great, affordable place to stay

Posted Nov 1, 2014
Pros: I liked everything about this hotel. Including that they let me use their comfortable, Wifi-ed lobby for ten hours after I checked out.
Location: It's a longish walk into downtown, but taxis are always available.
I am an experienced traveler and know what I want and can expect in a hotel. I loved the Heron Portico so much I stayed there three separate times during my last visit to Kenya! The room was clean, well-maintained and had everything I needed, from Wifi to endless hot water. The restaurant and bar food and drink were very good. And the professionalism and attitude of the entire staff were uniformly excellent; they went out of their way to make sure I had a great stay, and I did.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Dr Uwefrom Heidelberg

Hotel is good, but noisy due to renovating it

Posted Oct 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hotel is situated well in Nairobi, in walking distance to town, but quiete, wlan is a problem, but staff is giving the best to help in all matters, restaurant is good but too expensive
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Great location for business travellers.

Posted Sep 5, 2014
When I booked Heron for a short stay I didn't expect much but was pleasantly surprised by the great hospitality and excellent service standards the hotel offers. I particularly loved it's proximity to the CBD and convenience, but also the hotel decor, good solid furnishings and impressive maintainance were an added bonus. My double room was grand, very clean with all the necessary mord cons offered in major higher rated hotels. The only thing lacking was an iron which I had to request and they happily supplied instantly. Highly recommend.