Ratings based on 42 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Very nice

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: Everything.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Hotel is within walking distance to downtown and Uhuru Park.
I have absolutely nothing bad to say about this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Dean from Canada

Great Hotel

Posted May 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great Hotel BUT I wouldn't stay there in summer months due to the fact that it doesn't have AC!! Oct - May should be no problem at all. Nice staff good food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Aurelia from Bonn

Great location, nice facilities, comfortable rooms

Posted Mar 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
I stayed in this hotel for 11 nights for a business trip. I was at first hesitant about some things, such as the lack of AC (absolutely not a problem). This hotel turned out to be a great selection -- nice facilities, nice rooms, great service including good WiFi. Perhaps best of all is the location -- I managed to avoid a lot of traffic even traveling in rush hour. Highly recommend, including for solo female travellers such as myself. Have also stayed during this trip at Heminways Nairobi and Sarova Stanley, this three star hotel that punches above its weight was my favourite experience.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Liz from New York, USA

Great service, Good Amenities, Poor Room

Posted Feb 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
The staff here is very hospitable and takes get effort to ensure your comfort and satisfaction. The Gym is really lovely - everything worked perfectly and it was well maintained and clean with a steam and good showers. The restaurant has good service and an interesting menu and breakfast was really delicious. The main drawback relates to the quality of the rooms. My shower was leaky so the floor was always very wet in the bathroom. The walls do not provide any sound buffers so you can hear people moving about in their rooms and using their showers early in the morning, and therefore it isn't that restful. Also, my room didn't have AC which I thought surprising given the price of the room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Wens from Adelaide

Nice Hotel with friendly staff

Posted Feb 18, 2014
Very comfortable Hotel. Would have been nice to access local newspaper in the lobby.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Good place near city centre

Posted Feb 18, 2014
Pros: The room included a breakfast buffet. It was generous and eclectic, with fresh tropical fruits and made-to-order omelets prepared on the terrace.
Cons: The coffee. No screens on windows prevented taking advantage of beneficial natural ventilation after dark.
Location: Don't miss Nairobi National Park!
The hotel staff were polite and helpful. My room was neat and clean. Having a taxi available inside the hotel compound was a definite plus. I found services such as laundry to be reliable. There was a pleasant sitting area under large trees that had snack and beverage service. There was a well equipped fitness center with a trainer on staff. The pool was small, but clean, with space around it to relax in. Internet was included (though it bogged down a bit some evenings).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Good place near city centre

Posted Feb 18, 2014
Pros: The room included a breakfast buffet. It was generous and eclectic, with fresh tropical fruits and made-to-order omelets prepared on the terrace.
Cons: The coffee. No screens on windows prevented taking advantage of beneficial natural ventilation after dark.
Location: Don't miss Nairobi National Park!
The hotel staff were polite and helpful. My room was neat and clean. Having a taxi available inside the hotel compound was a definite plus. I found services such as laundry to be reliable. There was a pleasant sitting area under large trees that had snack and beverage service. There was a well equipped fitness center with a trainer on staff. The pool was small, but clean, with space around it to relax in. Internet was included (though it bogged down a bit some evenings).
1 out of 5
Recommended
by Kerry from Phoenix, AZ

No Air-Conditioning

Posted Feb 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
This was a nice hotel in a nice location (although there is nothing close by to walk to, such as a supermarket or restaurants), but they say they have air-conditioning and they don't. My room was sweltering and all they had was a fan, which did nothing to actually cool the room down. After a sleepless night of sweating, I couldn't spend one more night there and chose to move to another hotel. I have registered a complaint with Hotels.com that the Heron Portico should not be allowed to lie about their amenities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by KR Smith from New York, NY

Lovely hotel with excellent staff

Posted Jan 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
The rooms here are great. So too are the lobby, the coffeeshop and the hotel restaurant. We missed breakfast because we had an early flight but based on how good dinner was I suspect the food is good all round. The location is a little out of central Nairobi, surrounded by a gate and plenty of security. Since a taxi is required for most getting around (especially after dark) this hotel makes a perfect base for exploring.
3 out of 5
by EPee from Australia

No air conditioning!

Posted Jan 13, 2014
Overall, the hotel was just okay. I found it difficult to imagine that there would be a hotel in Kenya without air conditioning! I perspired a lot and had to leave the fan on throughout my stay. Furthermore, the bathroom was somewhat small, with your window opening up to the corridor. I do not think that I would like to stay in this hotel again, just simply because I found it difficult to cope with the Kenyan heat without air conditioning. On a different note though, the staff were very helpful.