Ratings based on 10 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
2.6 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Victorfrom Amsterdam

Nice but very simple hotel

Posted Aug 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
Bed was not so comfortable. Bathroom is very basic, to my opinion too simple. But for the rest the hotel is nice. People are very helpful. Good breakfast for this price. Neighbourhood is simple but seems safe because always crowded, also in the evening.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Karenfrom Tanzania

OK for a short business trip

Posted Mar 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel staff were very friendly, even remembering my name. The site says there are tea making facilities in the room, which there are not. I had to change rooms on arrival because the TV socket was not working, nor was the phone. The room was comfortable but the shower rooms are a little odd (design), and the TV is sometimes in the wrong spot for comfortable viewing. It was good for me that breakfast was served early. For a couple of nights on business the price is OK.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Itscoutfrom Hårlev, Danmark

godt sted

Posted Jan 5, 2014
Pros: Det er billigt og personalet er hjælpsomme og altid flinke. Der er vagt på ved låge hele døgnet.
Cons: Få not internet som fungere, hastighed og stabilitet savnes meget.
Location: Ligger i et meget lokalt kvarter. Ikke det store at se lige her, men der er fred og ro til at sove godt og trygt.
Billigt sted at overnatte, simple rum. Personalet er flinke og hjælpsomme. Internet er en ting de praler med, falde ofte ud, du kan ikke arbejde over det. Maden er simpel, meget afrikans præget. Alt i alt et fint sted at overnatte.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by John

Good Hotel for a transit stopover

Posted Jan 5, 2014
Pros: Staff are very friendly and helpful; Rooms are clean and quiet.
Location: Location is near Nyayo Stadium. Fairly Convenient to downtown or Upper Hill , although not within walking distance. Would need cabs.
I stayed here overnight in transit through Nairobi. The staff were extremely welcoming and helpful. The neighborhood is OK for an overnight stay. Security was good, and I felt safe even though the neighborhood is not as nice as downtown. The breakfast was basic but good. The shower was nice and hot. There is little traffic on this street at night, so the room was quiet and I slept well. The location is very convenient to getting back to the airport by cab. This is a real value for a transit stopover considering the much higher cost of downtown hotels.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by kastanafrom oman

not comfortable at all

Posted May 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
the only good thing about this hotel was food and service - staff very friendly and helpful.. hotel itself is in the middle of ghetto area by the looks of it.. room was very small, no ac, door to the toilet opens literally into the bed with terrible squeak.. for the price we paid it was not the value at all
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom Höllviken

Billig övernattning

Posted Nov 17, 2011 on Hotels.com
Ett OK hotell om du bara ska sova nånstans innan du ska vidare, på safari eller hemåt... Litet rum, men allting fungerade. Frukosten bra. Vänlig personal, hämtning/lämning på flygplats fungerade bra.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom Harare

cheap option for Nairobi Airport Hotel

Posted Nov 6, 2011
This in an OK option if you're looking for somewhere relatively close to Jomo Kenyata Airport but don't want to pay typical airpoirt hotel prices. Room clean, staff friendly, 20 minutes / 20 USD by taxi to the airport. However, rooms are extremely small, services are fairly basic, and district in which hotel is situated is uninteresting, so probably not much good for longer stays.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom London

Clean and friendly, tho over priced

Posted Aug 22, 2011 on Hotels.com
A reasonable option for Nairobi, but like all hotels in the city grossly over-priced. That aside, staff are pleasant, the breakfast is a very decent buffet, rooms are clean. The neighbourhood is not particularly handy to town, though (traffic permitting) it is only a short taxi ride.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The Strand Nairobi- disappointing

Posted Aug 16, 2011 on Hotels.com
We picked this hotel as there are no hotels at the airport in Nairobi and the Strand was reasonably priced and close to the main road out to the airport so hopefully we wouldn't have to battle through the Nairobi traffic. I can't help but feel that the hotel has spent all its money on advertising on sites such as this, on a flashy website and on the monogramed sheets you see on the pictures. The whole hotel felt cheap and shabby, though we were there for less than 12 hours. The room was very small with barely enough room for the double bed which was pushed against the wall with the window. Other than the double bed there was a small desk with a very old tv (only one channel seemed to work reliably) and an ancient looking phone not two feet from the foot of the bed. Decor wise the room had two bright orange walls and some old, musty smelling brown and gold patterned curtains on the window and hanging onto the bed.There was however their monogrammed sheets. There was also an old slightly musty smelling mosquito net above the bed. The main door to the room did not reach the floor and so the light from the veranda style hall shone in all night. If we thought the room itself was small that was nothing compared to the bathroom. It was set up rather like you set up a bathroom on a yacht with the shower above the small toilet and sink. It was clean but had no ventilation so it was not pleasant. We did not shower, so I can't comment on how good it was. We slept terribly, though it was not a hot night in Nairobi, the room felt very stuffy and when we went to open the small windows (old fashioned with no lock on them) the noise from the street was amplified. It was very noisy throughout the night with gates clanging people shouting and traffic noise. Overall I was very pleased to leave in the morning, and out trip to the airport was quick and painless. As a frequent traveller to Kenya I understand that it may seem to be unfair to judge a local hotel against a western one, but given the impression they give on their website and the fact that I have stayed in many cheaper and nicer western hotels around the world for considerably less money I was very disappointed by my stay in The Strand.