Ratings based on 28 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from dubai

Nice hotel close to Village Market, UN and US cons

Posted Jul 7, 2015
Pros: People, food, convenience to shopping
Cons: Rooms are dark
Location: Village market, UN, US consulate
Hotel is nice. Staff is friendly. Not pleased to be put in room on back of first floor but room was clean and had everything I needed. Food in restaurant is good. Quick uphill walk to village market which has lots of restaurants, shops and a grocery store. Not as nice as Kempinski or Fairmont Norfolk but more convenient for shopping or if going to UN or US consulate. Much better than Intercontinental or Southern Sun.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by W Robert from New York

Still my favorite place to stay in Nairobi

Posted Feb 20, 2015 on Hotels
Nice hotel, attentive staff if a little slow to serve in the restaurant. I had a small miscommunication with the front desk about a service I requested; they acknowledged their error and made an admirable effort to make amends. The quality of food is good, plenty of open spaces, staff always friendly. All-in-all, it's a good option.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

No value for money - 350$ for this services?

Posted Feb 17, 2015 on Hotels
Generally was not bad to spent Valentine evening and night there. But the price is to expensive for the rooms and service they provide. The rooms are relatively small and has no balcony.I have staid with my lady, and the room was not arranged for couple..slippers and bathrobe for second person were missing. And all this in Valentine night, when its should be so special and nicely arranged for couples. The breakfast in the morning was disappointing very much. It is far from calling it 5 stars hotel breakfast and more then this, to charge between 350$ to 450$ per night?! Especially the breakfast, requires urgent action from the management. No choice at all, very average breakfast like you can have in any average 3 stars or non stars hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

The place to stay in Gigiri

Posted Feb 17, 2015 on Hotels
Good visit to The Tribe; room was a bit noisy
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Great place

Posted Dec 30, 2014
Pros: The high quality/standard.
Cons: Unfortunately it did take us 2 hours to get from the airport to the hotel, but it was midday traffic, and not much the hotel can do about that.
Location: Easy access to Village Market shopping centre.
The hotel is beautiful and super modern. Rooms and common areas to high quality/standard. Staff very friendly/helpful. The food in the restaurant we had on 2 evenings was delicious! And we enjoyed cocktails at the roof top bar. Would definitely stay again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 16, 2014
I stayed at Tribe hotel for a long weekend while attending a friend's weeding in Nairobi. Tribe is located in Gigiri area around the United Nations offices and diplomatic missions. A very safe and pleasant area. It is also located very near village market shopping center which makes it quite convenient. I was however very disappointed by the room cleanliness. I could see spots on the floor and around the bathroom. Room service did not supply toilet paper on my last night, and beverage bottles and glasses ordered on the first night were not removed until the time I checked out. The TV reception was weak and the image froze or was distorted frequently, which made the news painful to watch. On my second day, I was woken up at 7:30am by loud banging on the ceiling. Apparently maintenance was being done and it lasted for about 90 minutes or more, during which time I had to leave the room. I received no notice from front desk to expect such noise nor an apology. I was there for a short time and didn't use many of the hotel facilities, but from my room experience, I must admit I was quite disappointed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Perfect 5 star hyde away in Nairobi

Posted Nov 24, 2014 on Hotels
Excellent hotel with all what is needed and even beyond. Service is perfect. I actually enjoyed the smoked salmon and bagel at breakfast. The only issue is the location too far away from downtown Nairobi.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Julia from Washington, DC

Fantastic getaway

Posted Nov 4, 2014 on Hotels
The initial room had a strong odor of sewage. We moved rooms and the second room had a muted smell. the stay was fantastic, safe for the situation with the smell. When that is fixed, it will be perfect!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Tatjana

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 27, 2014 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by William from NYC

Nice hotel, great staff, needs maintenance

Posted Oct 1, 2014 on Hotels
place is nice, it was as short stay, but noted this time that the room was in shabbier condition than past visits. I think they need to maintain the place better