Ratings based on 16 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.6 out of 5
50% of guests recommend
2.8 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
2.5 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by R Brown from Lusaka

It was okay

Posted May 2, 2013 on Hotels.com
The staff were very pleasant. The room was very clean, although needing upgrade. The price was about 20% too high for the type of accommodation. I was looking for an overnight from the airport because I was in transit. The cost to & from the airport made the cost for the night even higher.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Libby

Ideal airport hotel

Posted Oct 2, 2012 on Hotels.com
Excellent location overnight from airport. Friendly staff and good breakfast. Free transport to and from airport.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 20, 2012 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Chris from Montana, USA

Good budget hotel in a secure area

Posted Aug 9, 2012
Pros: breakfast
Cons: bathroom maintenance
Location: safely behind a security gate
General upkeep could be better; breakfast was very good.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Andy

Dreadful

Posted Jun 20, 2012 on Hotels.com
Shocking. Everything. Avoid.
2 out of 5
by Pete from Edinburgh

Not Ideal!!

Posted Mar 5, 2012
Cons: cleanliness, bathroom, No AC.
Location: Bit off the beaten track but had a good taxi service
Don't know whether it was because we had just come from luxury in Zanzibar, but this hotel was not what we were looking for. The sheets did not feel clean so we slept on our clothes and the bathroom was not very welcoming. No AC which is never a good thing in such a hot country. Staff were nice and welcoming but overall this was not an ideal stop for us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Kamloops, B.C. Canada

Posted Feb 14, 2012 on Hotels.com
Johannesburg - excellent stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hamden, CT

Clean, Nice Staff, Noisy and Uncomfortable!

Posted Jan 28, 2012 on Hotels.com
The staff is extremey nice and hotel kept clean. But the stay incredibly uncomfortable: the first and last days, we had no shower curtain (we came back to find it gone!), the water pressure was often a trickle and the temperature ranged from scalding hot to cold, without warning. A 2 am train woke us up, if we slept (give noise of chatting guards and barking dogs). Breakfast was uninspired (though good for dieting!) Rooms were spartan. Not recommended.
3 out of 5
by Idagob from Mission,tx

Not what I expected

Posted Oct 14, 2011
The hotel was difficult to get to and and not as convenient to the airport as I had hoped. The staff at the hotel was very helpful and friendly. The hotel condition was not as good as I expected. It worked as a short term place to sleep, but would not be acceptable for most US tourists.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calgary

An Absolute Disgrace

Posted Aug 21, 2011
My wife, son and I were returning from a safari in Tanzania, and had approximately a 12 hour layover in Nairobi before catching our flight back to London. I thought "hey, what about the West Breeze Hotel? The pictures look okay, and all we need is a place to lay our heads down overnight. We don't need anything fancy for an overnight stay. As long as the place is up to Motel 6 standards, what's the worst that can go wrong?" Big mistake! The rooms bear absolutely no resemblance to the photos shown on Expedia. Our room looked like it should be in a flophouse! There were no bed frames - just stacks of mattresses thrown onto the floor. Noisy plumbing, poor sound proofing, no mosquito screening, no air conditioning and windows that didn't shut properly. Trains coming by at all hours of the night. We managed to get hot water but the shower head let out barely a trickle. We had to squat under a pipe about 2 feet off the shower floor to wash our hair - of course I conked my head on the pipe when I went to stand up. Breakfast was beans, rice and eggs with unidentifiable items thrown in - we took a pass and ate at the airport instead. I'm sure there are worse hotels in Nairobi. However I take serious issue with the way this hotel is rated. They have some nerve claiming 3.5 stars, and I hope Expedia has agents that go around trying to verify star ratings. This hotel is a classic case of bait and switch for international travellers.