Ratings based on 78 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted Jun 17, 2014
Pros: Everything but there was no parking
Cons: Parking
Location: Didn't see much enjoyed the ocean harbour view, was there for ball games
The rooms were great, quiet and clean. The decor was modern but old fashion, was really good, food good and service excellent
3 out of 5
by Jessica from Montreal, Qc

Cute hotel. TINY rooms.

Posted Jun 11, 2014
The room was far too cramped. Having random stairs in the hall on upper floors was awkward with luggage. Eating options very limited. Will not stay again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Okay For Business Travellers

Posted Jun 9, 2014
The hotel was okay for a business trip. The hallway smelled bad (strong cleaning solution maybe, but smelled like urine to me), but this faded away by the second day I was here. The location was just right for the business I had to conduct in downtown Nanaimo. Other than the bad smell, the room and hotel were clean and the staff were polite and helpful. There are other properties nearby that might provide more pizzazz if you're looking for a special event or vacation stay.
4 out of 5
by kathy from canada

Clean hotel, fairly comfortable.

Posted Jun 8, 2014
Pros: The location.
Cons: Smell of old building. A fridge in the room,
Location: Great restaurant @ the light house, down the road.
Not so comfortable for 4 people. The carpet smells. A small bar fridge would be nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from pitt meadows

Nice place to stay.

Posted May 25, 2014
Pros: Location and reasonable price
Location: running on the boardwalk, shopping and good restaurants close.
Breakfast was good, location is excellent and the staff are helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 26, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, I'd like to appreciate on behalf of our team for taking your time to let us know your experience with BEST WESTERN Plus Dorchester Hotel. It is always rewarding to hear how great your stay was and I'll share your comment with our rest of the team. Will look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Nanaimo! Sincerely, Julie Park General Manager BEST WESTERN Plus Dorchester Hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Near every thing

Posted Apr 8, 2014
Went to Vancouver Island for family visit. The hotel is near the waterfront and there are great restaurants and shopping right next to it. Highly recommend. Parking was the only issue. Parking area is limited.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Susan from Port Hardy

Nice hotel, close to downtown

Posted Mar 16, 2014
This is an older hotel but the room was very clean and the beds were comfortable. Good value.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 19, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. I'm glad to hear that we've met your expectation and you've enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Will look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Thank you for staying with BEST WESTERN Plus Dorchester Hotel! Sincerely, Julie Park General Manager BEST WESTERN Plus Dorchester Hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 2, 2014
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Carol from Nanaimo

Posted Dec 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
Good except for the empty egg shell on the floor and we had no food with us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very pleasant, Drew on the desk, Pheonia, Allison

Posted Nov 18, 2013
Pros: Comfort and friendliness
Location: Great