Ratings based on 73 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Near every thing

Posted Apr 8, 2014
Went to Vancouver Island for family visit. The hotel is near the waterfront and there are great restaurants and shopping right next to it. Highly recommend. Parking was the only issue. Parking area is limited.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Susan from Port Hardy

Nice hotel, close to downtown

Posted Mar 16, 2014
This is an older hotel but the room was very clean and the beds were comfortable. Good value.
Comment from
Jan 19, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. I'm glad to hear that we've met your expectation and you've enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Will look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Thank you for staying with BEST WESTERN Plus Dorchester Hotel! Sincerely, Julie Park General Manager BEST WESTERN Plus Dorchester Hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 2, 2014
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Carol from Nanaimo

Posted Dec 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
Good except for the empty egg shell on the floor and we had no food with us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very pleasant, Drew on the desk, Pheonia, Allison

Posted Nov 18, 2013
Pros: Comfort and friendliness
Location: Great
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mollynoo from Wisconsin

It would have been nice to stay longer to explore

Posted Nov 8, 2013
We stayed just one night after taking the ferry across and then heading up island.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Joan from Deep River, Ontario

Nicely updated room. Although small, very nice

Posted Oct 1, 2013
Pros: Close to waterfront, DT shopping, restaurants, events
Cons: Given that this is an older building, I think that the improvements are good.
Location: Walking distance to waterfront, events, shopping, restaurants, ferries to local tourist attractions. Easy to locate and close to BC ferries.
Staff helpful, pleasant to deal with. Location excellent. Good value for downtown
Comment from
Jan 5, 2014
Thank you for your feedback in regards to your stay at BEST WESTERN PLUS Dorchester Hotel! I'm very glad to hear that we've met your expectations. Will be looking forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Nanaimo! Sincerely, Julie Park General Manager BEST WESTERN PLUS Dorchester Hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Marilyn from Red Deer

Parking.

Posted Sep 18, 2013 on Hotels.com
We thought the parking could be improved. Make a parking lot especially for Hotel patrons.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in downtown location

Posted Sep 6, 2013
Pros: Close to downtown
Cons: Have instructions for air conditioner. Difficult to move luggage to room. Ramps would be helpful. Breakfast could be included in room rate.
The hotel staff were very friendly. The room was very nice, could open the windows or use the air conditioning. Restaurant is only open on certain times for breakfast and dinner.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Shantel from Denver, CO

Great location, small/ dated rooms

Posted Aug 9, 2013 on Hotels.com
The location was great. The hotel itself was more dated than I expected but the staff was great.