Ratings based on 14 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Shopping
by Tricia from USA

Fantastic!

Posted May 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
I've stayed in 4-star hotels in Xi'an, Beijing, & Shanghai, and the Central Hotel in Nanjing was the best one out of all of them. Great location near several shopping areas and night life. The bed was very comfortable (firm but not too hard) and the bathroom had a separate tub and shower unit- with the showerhead on the ceiling. Nice toiletries. Breakfast buffet was included and consisted of variety of Chinese & Western items, which were delicious. Staff was extremely helpful and attentive. I would definitely stay here again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sue from China

Hotel in the centre of Nanjing.

Posted May 12, 2014
Pros: I like the ornateness of the decor, the friendliness of the staff. They seemed to have a few more English speaking staff this time, which helps.
Cons: No
Location: Xinjiekou, the main subway station and central shopping area, is a short walk along the street. There are lots of restaurants and good shopping.
I have stayed at the Central Hotel before and always been impressed with the way that the hotel has gone out of its way to make my stay enjoyable. The room had been newly refurbished. The bed, unlike some in China had a beautiful soft mattress, pillows and was very comfortable. The assistant manager rang after I had settled in to see how the room was. I did not eat at the buffet restaurant this time, but instead invited friends to the New Natural restaurant, a Chinese style restaurant. The food was Sichuan style, very tasty and spicy! All in all a great stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Has seen better days

Posted Mar 5, 2014
Pros: Good location in Nanjing.
Cons: The room was a bit run down and the beds were hard.
Location: Lots of restaurants and shopping close by.
Stayed for 2 nights in March of 2014. The hotel was well located and the common areas were nice, but the room was a bit run down.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by KK from Singapore

Good ambience

Posted Nov 5, 2013 on Hotels.com
Overall it was a satisfactory stay,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Perfect business hotel

Posted Sep 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
The rooms here have an odd design -- you enter through the bathroom -- but the furnishings are top notch, the bed is super comfortable, the desk elegant and practical both. Gigantic buffet breakfast, very attentive/helpful staff, and a location in the heart of fashionable downtown Nanjing. Two blocks to the Xinjieko metro station. Excellent lap pool in the basement (although when I was there it was only open 2-8 pm). The inside rooms overlook a seven-story atrium with a wall of glass on the farther wall. Highly recommended.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sue from China

Upgraded with Chinese character

Posted Sep 17, 2013
Pros: The room!
Cons: See above.
Location: See above!
I stayed at the Central Hotel last weekend and was thrilled to see that the rooms had been upgraded/modernised with a very comfortable western style bed, lovely silky sheets and comfortable pillows. This hotel is very handy to XinJae Kou where the subway is. It is also opposite the Deiji Plaza, a luxury shopping mall. I didn't go to the hotel restaurant this time, but previously the buffet meal of an evening and breakfast buffet have been excellent with a great variety of interesting food. This time I visited Element Fresh, the new Shanghai based restaurant, very close to the Central Hotel. Shopping for electronic goods such as cell phones/computer gear is a great possibility in Ju Jiang Lu, again very close by. It is just as cheap or even cheaper to go through Expedia, and I got an upgrade and a late 3pm checkout( without asking). The only negatives- the check in procedure could be managed a little better. It takes quite a time, and it would be good to see the staff acknowledge that people are waiting to be served- perhaps a few more staff on duty might help, as the two were struggling to get through in an acceptable time. The swimming pool has limited hours. But all in all this is not much to complain about and I will be staying again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Korea

Nice stay

Posted Jul 20, 2013 on Hotels.com
Everything was perfect.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Fred from Canada

Unexpectedly awesome experience!

Posted Jun 26, 2013
I checked in here not expecting much, but I was totally impressed by the service; the staff were really nice and helpful. I was upgraded for free to an executive suite. I ended up staying a lot of time in my room due to the insane heat outside, but enjoyed it nonetheless. The room was clean and feels very high tech with a great view of downtown Nanjing. Wonderful experience; would definitely recommend and come back here again!
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Hong Kong

Lacking at critical points

Posted Jun 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
When travelling for business one’s focus and expectations are different to that of when travelling for leisure. The overall comfort was adequate however the hotel suffers greatly at levels of overall cleanliness, unpolished service and “strange” planning. To top it all the staff did not have control over the local smokers who seemed to ignore the no smoking signs everywhere.