Ratings based on 9 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by Michael from Washington, DC

Spectacular rooms but service lapses

Posted May 28, 2014
Pros: Spectacular rooms and bathrooms Very comfortable beds Fantastic views from every room Elaborate buffet breakfast
Cons: Service lapses including a closed outdoor swimming pool, $US 20 per day wifi, no casual cafe for light meals; no lobby shop, no place to sit in lobby.
Location: Location is two metro stops from the city's main shopping intersection; business and tourist attractions require longer metro trips or a taxi.
I had very high expectations of this hotel, and the rooms met these expectations. Spacious, high ceilings, luxurious, sleekly modern, and comfortable with spectacular views over the lakes, hills and cityscape of Nanjing from the floor to ceiling glass wall. The bed was one of the most comfortable I've ever slept on. Bathrooms were equally luxurious with separate free standing tub and shower compartment. A bonus was the inclusion of both an English language movie channel and HBO in addition to the usual news channels. The services in the hotel, however, did not meet my expectations. The advertised outdoor pool was not open although water and attendants were present(!!) Wifi, which is free in the cheapest hotels, cost $US 20 per day(!!) There was no casual restaurant to have a light, fast meal(!!) There was no lobby shop to purchase incidentals like magazines, candy bars etc(!!), and there was no comfortable place to sit in the lobby(!!) Public spaces are worn in places; for example, the carpet in the breakfast restaurant is ragged and dirty. These lapses are inexcusable in a five star hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Daniels from Jacksonville, FL.

Posted May 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
This is a premier hotel. We upgraded to Club level and it was absolutely worth it, especially because of the national holiday and demands on the hotel. We would suggest adding an ATM in the lobby.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by T H from GB

Nanjing's Tallest Hotel

Posted Apr 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
I had a pleasant stay at Intercontinental Nanjing. My room was very spacious, it had a glass partition separating the bath and the room, which can be made private with a motorised curtain screen. The staff at the hotel were very helpful and attentive, the TV in my room was malfunctioning, I told them about it and within minutes a technician came to solve the issue. The front desk did not have a problem communicating in English, but for the technician, I guess he's sub-contracted to solve the hotels technical problems therefore he was not able to communicate as well. The hotel is located strategically outside Gulou Station, which makes taking the metro a breeze. There is Hunan Rd. nearby for shopping and Shiziqiao Pedestrian St. that branches off Hunan Rd. for lots and lots of delicious food. Wouldn't mind staying here again! =)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by TL from London

Excellent Hotel with slightly disappointing gym

Posted Dec 31, 2013 on Hotels.com
I thoroughly enjoyed my stay: the room was spacious and comfortable, and the staff were excellent - i would stay again. The only slight disappointment was the fairly small gym, and only lukewarm jacuzzi.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Ke Xu from Hong Kong

Excellent hotel with outstanding service

Posted Dec 9, 2013 on Hotels.com
Will consider to stay again for both leisure and business
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

We stayed from Oct 26 to 28, 2013.

Posted Nov 4, 2013
Pros: Good location.
Cons: Hotel needs renovation. It is a 4 star not a 5 star hotel. Other Intercontinental hotels are much better.
Location: Good location. Subway is next to the hotel. It was hard to call a taxi and the traffic was bad.
Not bad, room needs renovation. The lobby is on ground floor. You need to take an elevator to reach the hotel at 43rd floor. Then, you have to take another elevator to reach your room. The Sunday buffet and breakfast restaurant on 43rd floor is excellent. We asked the doorman about the Nanjing Museum and were told that it was open. We took a taxi there and found out that it was closed for renovation. We could not find a taxi and had to take subway back to hotel. We wasted 2 hours of our valuable traveling time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

too tall jones

Posted Jul 10, 2012
Awesome place. Staff gave it a good try but need more experience not just training. A few shining stars, like the staff for check in/out. The steak on the 78th floor was pretty awesome even if it was Australian beef. Not cheap but on par with other good steak houses. The staff was nice and they tried but made many common mistakes. the bar had a few expats Guest Relation staff, they were really awesome and watching things very carefully. real pros..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Diana from Orange, CA, USA

Hotel Comments

Posted Apr 22, 2012
I really loved this hotel. Amazing room, good food. My only complaint is that no one explained how the elevators worked and that was really confusing. I would suggest explaining this to each guest upon check-in. I would definitely stay here again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Shanghai

THE Landmark building in Nanjing

Posted Oct 14, 2010
We originally booked the Sheraton and were disappointed as the hotel was a bit old. The Intercontinental was a similar rate so we moved there for the last night. The building is a landmark and the overtones of the Burj Dubai and the Jinmao Tower are no coincidence as its the same architect. We stayed on the 60th floor and the view was fantastic. Could see the Yangze River and beyond. The staff and service were very good and at international level. Having experience of the construction industry makes me super critical about the decoration and I would say that the design is really good but the execution of the decoration detail is not good and may show signs of early aging in the coming months/years. Overall though, well worth it, a good location and a great experience.