Ratings based on 13 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Big Clapa for the place in Napa

Posted Jun 10, 2014
Great food and hospitality. Great bed and parking.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by carlos

Romantic and excellent location

Posted Jun 9, 2014
Pros: Romantic---cozy and location
Great people we met Great location Very comfy Great house
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Ritvik

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Peter from Sacramento

Great Hotel and Service

Posted May 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
Chris was great and took care of all the arrangements for our tours and dinners. The Inn is located at the top of town and everything is in walking distance. Everything was great and we will definitely book here again!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location but lacked basic amenities

Posted Apr 28, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Service, attention to detail,
We chose the Ambrose Biecce B and B because of its close proximity to the St. Helena restaurants. We wanted to be able to walk to and from dinner, without having to worry about driving or getting a cab after a day of wine tasting and more wine at dinner. It was ok, the breakfasts were tasty, although lacking in imagination. We were there 3 nights and for 2 of the mornings we had the same menu. We were disappointed in the lack of attention to basic details. Our second and 3rd mornings there, we went out to the main room to get a cup of coffee, however the coffee pot had not been prepped for coffee and there was none. I ended up going downstairs to see if there was some. Although the person preparing breakfast was in the kitchen, the kitchen doors were closed and there was no coffee available on the dining room table. Additionally, we had to ask for more toilet paper and there were not "happy hour" snacks available our second night at the B and B. Our dirty wine glasses, that we placed in the community room, stayed around for a day or so and the ones in our room were never removed until we did so. The staff was nice, although when you phone the B and B, they answer with "hello". Both times I called, I had to ask if it was the AB B and B. I think it is odd that place of business does not answer the phone with the name of the business. All in all it was ok. Staying on the main street in St. Helena can get loud at night and in the early mornings.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Meg from Hollister, CA

Even Grumpy old Bierce would love this place!

Posted Apr 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
My boyfriend and I really enjoyed our stay at the Bierce House. It is lovely and cozy--the antiques are beautiful, and the bed was so comfortable. We arrived early, but there was no problem at all. Our room was ready. We missed the wine & cheese because we had dinner on the Wine Train, but the outside entrance made coming back late in the evening very easy. We had a wonderful time!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

On Main Street in Town

Posted Apr 4, 2014
We love staying inside a town or city, rather than on the edges and this was a great location right on the main street in St Helena. Great hospitality from the wine and cheeses hour in the evening to the great breakfast in the morning.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Pamela from California City

More than what we expected

Posted Mar 25, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: I wouldn't change anything...it was perfect the way it was!!
This was an awesome place to stay. Jacob,our host greeted us and gave us a tour as well as the history of the home and owner. Very helpful with various sights and places to dine. All exceptional. He also prepared the most delicious breakfast all while making each guest feel Important. The suite we had was beautifully decorated. We will certainly stay again. We definitely felt pampered. Thank you Jacob for your hospitality.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler

Ambrose Bierce B&B

Posted May 5, 2010
Lovely, filled with vintage and comfortable furnishings. Immaculate rooms. Very pleasant and informative staff. Delicious full breakfast. Ideal location in the wine country.