Ratings based on 25 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NC

Great staff. Loved Erin!

Posted Mar 16, 2015
A comfortable spot in a fantastic location with a wonderful staff. Breakfasts excellent. Felt at home. Will stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Carolinefrom Minneapolis

Great find - fantastic stay

Posted Jan 24, 2015 on Hotels
We loved our stay at Ambrose Bierce! The historic home is beautiful and well maintained. Our room was beautiful and comfortable. Great linens and bed. We loved the relaxed feel of the home, as well as the wonderful breakfasts each morning. It was a short walk to a number of great St Helena restaurants...so we were able to walk each evening to/from dinner. I will definitely be back to stay at Ambrose Bierce.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom CA

Great location, wonderful bedding, yummy breakfast

Posted Jan 14, 2015
Cons: Being a "non-refundable" B&B, they are probably losing customers from being so rigid. Life happens, they need to be flexible in this economy.
Location: Excellent location. On main street, but very quiet. Rooms are in the back of house and I never heard the road at all. Lots of restaurants steps away
Cute little house on main street steps from everything. Steep stairs to second level if not getting the downstairs more expensive suite. However, the room is really nice, wonderful bedding giving me a great night's sleep. Quiet location, private parking out back and large bathroom. Caretaker made a really nice breakfast and took the time to sit and chat with me and the other two guests there the night I stayed. One note to make, be 101% sure you won't have to cancel reservation for ANY reason, the owners' policy is NON Refundable. Began my stay with a little issue I would have rather not had. Having said that, I would stay there again in an instant, very romantic and charming.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Good hotel for a getaway.

Posted Oct 10, 2014 on Hotels
Conviniently located. Helpful staff and great breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Julianafrom San Francisco

Cozy BnB very close to downtown

Posted Sep 6, 2014 on Hotels
The place is very well maintained, our room was impeccably clean and the host (Vic) was very nice to greet us. Breakfast was home made and it gave us a chance to get to know the other people staying in the house. The location is perfect especially if you want to be close to downtown St. Helena as it is within a short walking distance away.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Nice little B&B

Posted Jul 25, 2014 on Hotels
Location is perfect, a quiet spot but still just two blocks from the center of St. Helena. We had a great room with a private patio, super clean. Breakfast was very good, as was the 5 pm wine reception. The only needed improvement is stronger wifi, as the signal was too weak to reach our room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Wonderful country style house for vacation

Posted Jul 14, 2014 on Hotels
Good house, Good Location, Very Comfortable but a little bit expensive.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Brendafrom Missouri

Posted Jul 11, 2014 on Hotels
There's so much going for this spot as a comfortable and charming respite from a day of wine touring! Host innkeepers were engaging and helpful with recommendations for tours and restaurants. Loved the front porch and breakfasts were delicious!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Rosemary Hellwigfrom Exeter, Ca

Close to Charming Downtown

Posted Jul 7, 2014 on Hotels
A wonderful place. We stayed just one night. My only complaint would be that we didn't stay longer. Close to downtown for a nice early morning walk. We stayed in their suite. Comfy bed, spotless, nice and cool (hot outside), slept well. Management was very accommodating, VERY nice, thank you!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Joyce

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 4, 2014 on Hotels