Ratings based on 29 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

conveniently located, and economical

Posted Sep 19, 2013 on Hotels.com
The proprietors were very nice. Common area was cluttered. Desk was piled high with papers. Food was good and plenty of it. Room was neat, but musty, so we kept room windows open and lit an aromatherapy candle which helped. With windows open, however, highway noise was all night long as Inn is right on highway. Cats roam the premises, so don't come if you're allergic. Conveniently located, and less expensive than other b and b's in area. Close to golf, Yountville, and hot air balloon staging area. Outside of Inn is run down and needs much work. Doubtful if we would return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by gerry from pleasant hill

Cute but old and rustic. Great host and hostess

Posted Sep 16, 2013
Pros: Comfort and local people
Prime location on farm between Napa and Yountville. Al and Susie are delightful people and hosts. Rooms are quite spacious and the breakfast was good and hearty. Great for wine tasting or cycling trip.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Past due for a lot of repairs or even an overhaul.

Posted Sep 8, 2013
Pros: Pleasant hosts that were accomodating.
Cons: Maintenance, maintenance, maintenance! Also simplify the inside for easier and more thorough cleaning.
Location: On a frontage road along the main highway. North end of Napa so Rutherford and Yountville and St. Helena are within 15 mins. Wine tasting all over.
Al and Suzie are fantastically sweet hosts and lovely people and went above and beyond in some ways but the property is really crying out for repairs and updating. Patios can be swept cleaner, trees are overgrown, pool lounge chairs neglected. Spa is of no use anymore. Garage area has old broken cars all around. Inside they really could simplify a LOT which is important because the more you have around the more that requires dusting and cleaning. Everyday items were passably clean, decorative things were quite dusty. Some rooms had old window shades that were held up with thumb tacks and not really operable in the way they should be, our shower door was mis-hung and didn't close. Our room was OK clean but while the carpet was vacuumed, little things like baseboards were overdue for a good cleaning with the hose attachment. Little things were also off like the glass shades over the bathroom sink had loose trim and loose shades, etc. Detail things were just not up to snuff. They also have cats usually outside but once in a while they're in the house and it has that "cats live here" smell. Pluses are the minimum required items were fine. A/C worked (common thermostat in the hallway but we all seemed to agree on temperature), WiFi worked, hot water, toilet flushed, breakfast was good, and bed was pretty comfortable. In the middle of the night I heard a scratching sound that I think was some rodent in the walls or on the roof. How is that possible with all the cats around?
3 out of 5
by Michael from New Jersey

A house guest in Napa

Posted Sep 7, 2013
My wife and I spent 3 days at Hillview Country Inn in late August. You can easily drive right past if you are not looking for it, as it just looks like an ordinary house. In fact, it is the residence of Al and Susie, who run this bed and breakfast. Al and Susie are wonderful hosts, only too eager to help out with accommodations, directions, recommendations or even rides around the area. Susie prepared large and delicious breakfasts each morning, well worth waking up in time to be downstairs by 8:30. There were also cookies, wine and more available throughout the day. That said, the upstairs where the rooms were was a bit worn. Notably, the bedroom carpeting in the Harvest Room was aged and discolored in a few places, and I disturbingly found a Band-Aid on the floor when I arrived. Otherwise, the bathroom and bedroom were reasonably clean and roomy, although the bed was a little smaller than we would have preferred (it said queen but felt more like a full). There was also a bit of a musty odor, and as we left the last day, we discovered that a prior guest had left a plastic bag under the bed with a diaper inside - we didn't check if it was a clean or dirty diaper, but either way we were somewhat disturbed that the housekeeper had not cleaned under the bed. Overall, while Al and Susie's friendliness and the relatively low cost of the room compensated somewhat for the mediocre accommodations, we would be inclined to look elsewhere the next time we return to the Napa area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely B&B in Wine Country

Posted Aug 20, 2013
We had a lovely stay at Hillview. The owners were so kind and welcoming. It was the perfect place to stay in Napa Valley. Thank you!
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Gordon from San Ramon

Hillview - Napa

Posted Aug 16, 2013 on Hotels.com
Lodging here is in a 100+ year old house north of Napa. Furnishings are easily 20+ years old which appear to have not been updated. Mattress was broken down, pillows were shot. Bathroom was clean, bright and had a nice shower. Breakfast was adequate, nothing special. Would not go back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Shawn from San Jose, CA

Nice Place To Stay

Posted Aug 14, 2013
Pros: Breakfest. Very quite.
Cons: Needs AC in rooms.
Location: Easy to get to the winerys. Just down the road from Yountville.
We enjoyed our stay at Hillview Country Inn. Susie and Al are very nice host. Room was clean and pretty comfortable. Breakfest was great. Susie always gives you more than you can eat. When staying in Napa again we will probably stay there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Clark from Chicago

Nice but old.

Posted Aug 12, 2013
I really appreciated Joe and Susie, who run the Bed and Breakfast. They were very nice and service oriented. Susie even called me "honey" which was a sweet touch. This place is on a Rt. 29 which is the main thoroughfare in Napa valley so expect some street noise. The actual Bed and Breakfast is a 100 year old farm house. I drove by it twice as it is hard to see from the road. There is some sort of garage or work shed that faces the road with various equipment displayed and that threw me off on if it was the right location. The downstairs was nice but I immediately noticed the smell of cats since I am allergic although I did not sneeze at all as they keep the place very clean. Also, the house smells like a 100 year old house...just know that going in and it probably won't be a problem. The bathroom was well appointed with a claw foot tub and good water pressure. I did not take advantage of mingling with the other guests as I was not there very much. I can't speak to the quality of the food although it looked like Susie had cookies and other snacks available.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Chris and Claudia from Beaumont, CA

Our first bed and breakfast. Amazing

Posted Jul 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
We were nervous visiting a B&B for the first time, but the owners, Al and Suzie were some of the friendliest people I have ever met. Even though one day I slept in until almost noon after visiting too many wineries the night before, Suzie was quick to cook up an amazing breakfast for my wife and I. The area around the house is quiet and beautiful.