Ratings based on 841 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Posted Sep 26, 2014
Location: Nothing is within walking distance
The suite we stayed in was very far from the main clubhouse.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel horrible customer service

Posted Sep 19, 2014
First they put us in a tiny room that was described in our room details confirmation and when I called down to the front desk they told me that If I wasn't happy expedia could refund me because they were booked. I went down there irate and they made me pull up my email to "prove" that my room had the specific accomadtions. Finally they gave us the right room and from then on out the vibe was strange and the service in the grill was awful. The cottages were nice but the staff was awful wouldn't stay here again..
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Clean hotel but Won't Stay There Again

Posted Sep 3, 2014
Pros: The renovate room we stayed in was very nice. Great for families it had a beautiful kitchen.
Cons: The check in, someone should be available to escort guests and their luggage to the room, no matter the time of day.
Location: Nothing, you need a car to go anywhere near by. I wish I would have been informed of that because that would have made me stay at Yountville instead.
When we arrived the front desk person was friendly and polite. He failed to send someone out to help us with our luggage and show us to our room. The rooms are outside of the main building, it was dark so navigating our suitcases and trying to fine our room was difficult at night. This is supposed to be a top notch hotel so that was disappointing. The room was beautiful and up to date. Their breakfast buffet was very good. The concierge woman was very helpful in obtaining a personal driver to take us to all of the wine vineyards we desired so that took the quality of our trip through the roof. Basically, this hotel is excellent for the senior golfer or the grandparents who don't want to explore for example, Yountville or St. Helena. It was not for people like me who want to go and walk and enjoy the restaurants, shops or communities. It is most likely more suited for the older person who wants to stay in and call it a day very early.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Incline Village, NV

2 days at Silverado Hotel and Spa

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Pros: Staff was pleasant, helpful and polite.
Cons: Deferred maintenance is evident in the stars to our 2nd floor room and on some exterior walls. Parking is far from the rooms.
Location: Proximity to St. Helena, Yountville to dine and shop is a plus.
The bathroom was so small that the door hit the toilet. The air conditioners in OTHER rooms were loud enough to wake us at night. The breakfast was over-priced for the quality of the food. Orange juice was out of a can, eggs were over-cooked, and the coffee had been sitting for too long.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 27, 2014 by John, Hotel Management
Ray, Thanks for coming down the mountain for a wine country get away. Sorry that we did not deliver to your fullest expectations but we hope that this does not get in the way of a future stay. With well over 20 room types I hope we can get you into a room that will be more suitable for the experience you seek. Nathan Davis, Resort Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Santa Clara California

The water pressure was slow. The room was not as

Posted Aug 19, 2014
had I known that our room was located on the cottage side I would've booked the mansion side
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 27, 2014 by John, Hotel Management
Greetings, Thank you for your stay and feedback. We are always interested in delivering on our promise to our guests for the rooms they book and with 4 unique neighborhoods this can be a complex puzzle. A great puzzle though when it works as each neighborhood has its own charm that aligns with the different trip personalities of our guests. We hope that you inspire others to review our web site on these neighborhoods before booking their room as we are sure this will assist them with making this the best stay possible. Thank you,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Exceeded expectations

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Pros: Beds were very comfortable, rooms were spacious, food was excellent and original. Spa was relaxing.
Cons: Tennis program catered to 2.5-3.0. Wasn't quite the level of drills and skill level expected in a "top" resort though staff is friendly.
Location: Great place to home base a regional visit -- easy to get to anywhere in Napa or Sonoma, not too far from San Fran, though beware of traffic!!
The staff was unbelievably friendly, personable and accommodating; and that was true of every single person we met.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 27, 2014 by John, Hotel Management
130 + years of Napa Valley history and our staff continue to be the best thing about our resort. We hope you continue to return and build an even stronger connection to our property and team. Thanks for your stay and review, Nathan Davis, Resort Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phila

Beautiful gem, so much for the price!

Posted Aug 13, 2014
We did not expect the service, beautiful grounds nor location when we booked the room last minute. When we arrived, Mark personally helped us check in and drove us to our rooms and then gave us an impromptu tour of grounds. He patiently told story after story about napa valley and this specific resort. We were amazed and impressed at the personal touch all the staff took with us. The room wars small but beautiful, I LOVED the bed. We ate twice at their restaurant and really enjoyed both times. Just an overall great overnight stay, wish we could have enjoyed it longer!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 16, 2014 by John, Hotel Management
Thank you for your fantastic assessment of our resort. Given our 1200 acres, 36 holes of golf, full spa and proximity to the nations wine playground we know that our team is what makes us truly special. Mark is one of those individuals that deserves to be celebrated for his achievement on your behalf. We will do just this. Thank you and we hope to see you again soon,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 7, 2014
We had a fantastic time! And will return in the fall.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Decent hotel if you get a deal

Posted Aug 7, 2014
The rooms are very small and outdated - ours was "recently updated" but still looked like something out of the early 90s. No refrigerator or wine glasses, though room service came with an ice bucket and glasses after we requested them. The outdoor furniture was very run down. The pool was nice and very clean. Staff was very accommodating for a late checkout. Overall, the staff was great, but the facilities were lacking.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 17, 2014 by John, Hotel Management
Greetings Karl, thank you for taking the time to visit with us and pen this review. Please accept our apologies for a less than 5 star experience. We have a range of room accommodations that we are certain will fit any budget and expectation. We seem to have missed this opportunity for you. Please come back again soon and see if we cannot get you into the right fit!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arizona

Visiting from Arizona

Posted Aug 1, 2014
Near the wineries, great restaurant (The Grill), comfortable room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 5, 2014 by John, Hotel Management
Linda, Your stay and review are much appreciated. We hope to encounter you again soon and after 130 years plus of history in the making, we will be here for your next stay!