Ratings based on 40 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Reading UK

NAPLES--Hotel Del Real Orto Botanico

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Pros: Location, although on noisy main road, the rooms are well soundproofed so it isn't a problem.
Cons: air con stopped one night, repaired next morning, then broke again next night!
Location: within walking distance of most things, station about 10 minuets. nice fish restaurant next door, and bars and Trattorias near.
Good hotel, large room, bed big and comfortable and the room and bathroom were nice and clean. D├ęcor pleasant, nice roof terrace for coffees or drinks. Friendly and helpful staff. Breakfast food good , but the one night we ate in the restaurant we were the only ones! (nice meal, but a bit lacking in atmosphere) hotel got us a taxi back to airport-- half the price we paid coming in!--so watch the airport taxis on arrival as it should be no more than 25 Euro
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not the nicest area ...

Posted Sep 29, 2014
Pros: The hotel staff were, after a short period of iciness which I understand is characteristic in Naples, very very helpful,
Cons: More generous with room allocation..can't believe I was given the best room availabel ..
Location: There is one really good restaurant nearby, but other then that it is a longer walk to amenities.
This hotel is rather isolated, and I wished I had stayed closer to the old town. My room was small, quite noisy with air conditioning turning on and off all night, difficult to sleep. Naples is a tricky town though, looks very grubby if you are used to living where waste/garbage is collected on a reliable and regular basis ..
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by BB from Lincolnshire

Well located hotel

Posted Apr 4, 2014
Pros: The hotel was comfortable and clean; breakfasts were perfectly adequate. Our rooms were at the back of the hotel and so we had no traffic noise.
Cons: Size of shower cabinets
Location: Plenty of restaurants and shops nearby.
The Hotel Del Real Orto Botanica was ideally situated for us - we could walk to the main railway station to catch trains to Herculaneum and Pompeii and we could walk to the Molo Beverello to catch the hydrofoil to Capri. The area is on the edge of the historic centre and so we could walk to the sights we wanted to see there and to the National Archaeological Museum.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Reasonable value for money.

Posted Mar 17, 2014
Pros: Price and location.
Cons: Some variation in the breakfast selection would have been appreciated and more than 2 coat hangers in the wardrobe.
Location: Restaurant next door, lots of Pizzerias, dodge mad scooter riders - on pavement and road. Near the Orto Botanica and lots of churches and museums.
Although centrally located, there did not seem to be much to keep me occupied in the evenings and the hotel did not offer much either.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Nicki from Swindon

New Year in Naples

Posted Jan 5, 2014
Pros: Breakfast was good and the rooms comfortable
Cons: Free wifi
Location: Close to metro for easy access to all sights. Nice to wander around the back alleys.
Arrived on New Years Eve when every apartment was setting off fireworks as soon as darkness fell and until well after midnight. Impressive.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Well situated

Posted Sep 21, 2013
Pros: Close to the centre without being in it. Metro close by.
Cons: A triple bed room turned out to be a double bed and a put you up.
Location: Botanical gardens. Museum of Archaelogy. The catacombs.
Hotel is close to the centre of Naples with good metro connections. We found the hotel to be comfortable and clean with a good inclusive breakfast. It was a good base. Eateries were a bit lacking in the vicinity, however.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Herefordshire, UK

Needs a good clean

Posted Aug 16, 2013
Pros: Reasonably priced and a safe garage nearby
Cons: Cleanliness
Location: Very central, but in a gritty part of Naples. Very good restaurant next to the hotel.
I thought that it was not very clean especially the lift, corridors and stairs. The staff were polite and attentive.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing - perhaps we were unlucky.

Posted Aug 6, 2013
Air conditioning is essential in temperatures of 35 degrees but after two attempts to fix (and assurances it was working) we spent a sleepless, uncomfortable night. In the morning there was little sympathy or offer of compensation. Enough said...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Irene and John from London, UK

Great base.

Posted Jun 17, 2013
Pros: Bed was so comfy - slept like a log.
Cons: Continental breakfast and no satellite television so no news!
Location: Slightly shocked about location at first as the surrounding area looks rather run down but got over that.
Friendly welcome by staff and very helpful with luggage when we got there quite late in the evening after a long journey. Breakfast room had a lovely setting and good service. Hot breakfasts would be a definite improvement though. Bed extremely comfortable and despite the room being on a main road with high volume of traffic this did not cause problems as it was well protected from the noise with double shutters and double glazing. Satellite television would be welcome. As far as location is concerned, I don't know what we expected but I think we thought we would be nearer the sea (and consequently have better air quality) and that the surrounding area would be slightly more upmarket. Having said that as the week went on we started to accept the environment as part of the charm as Naples is obviously a very old city with streets and buildings intact from way back. What an improvement it would be though if some money was spent on renovation, upkeep and maintenance. Overall I would say the hotel is suitable for young and old as well as families.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 4, 2013 on Hotels.com