Ratings based on 38 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by BB from Lincolnshire

Well located hotel

Posted Apr 4, 2014
Pros: The hotel was comfortable and clean; breakfasts were perfectly adequate. Our rooms were at the back of the hotel and so we had no traffic noise.
Cons: Size of shower cabinets
Location: Plenty of restaurants and shops nearby.
The Hotel Del Real Orto Botanica was ideally situated for us - we could walk to the main railway station to catch trains to Herculaneum and Pompeii and we could walk to the Molo Beverello to catch the hydrofoil to Capri. The area is on the edge of the historic centre and so we could walk to the sights we wanted to see there and to the National Archaeological Museum.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Reasonable value for money.

Posted Mar 17, 2014
Pros: Price and location.
Cons: Some variation in the breakfast selection would have been appreciated and more than 2 coat hangers in the wardrobe.
Location: Restaurant next door, lots of Pizzerias, dodge mad scooter riders - on pavement and road. Near the Orto Botanica and lots of churches and museums.
Although centrally located, there did not seem to be much to keep me occupied in the evenings and the hotel did not offer much either.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Nicki from Swindon

New Year in Naples

Posted Jan 5, 2014
Pros: Breakfast was good and the rooms comfortable
Cons: Free wifi
Location: Close to metro for easy access to all sights. Nice to wander around the back alleys.
Arrived on New Years Eve when every apartment was setting off fireworks as soon as darkness fell and until well after midnight. Impressive.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Well situated

Posted Sep 21, 2013
Pros: Close to the centre without being in it. Metro close by.
Cons: A triple bed room turned out to be a double bed and a put you up.
Location: Botanical gardens. Museum of Archaelogy. The catacombs.
Hotel is close to the centre of Naples with good metro connections. We found the hotel to be comfortable and clean with a good inclusive breakfast. It was a good base. Eateries were a bit lacking in the vicinity, however.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Herefordshire, UK

Needs a good clean

Posted Aug 16, 2013
Pros: Reasonably priced and a safe garage nearby
Cons: Cleanliness
Location: Very central, but in a gritty part of Naples. Very good restaurant next to the hotel.
I thought that it was not very clean especially the lift, corridors and stairs. The staff were polite and attentive.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing - perhaps we were unlucky.

Posted Aug 6, 2013
Air conditioning is essential in temperatures of 35 degrees but after two attempts to fix (and assurances it was working) we spent a sleepless, uncomfortable night. In the morning there was little sympathy or offer of compensation. Enough said...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Irene and John from London, UK

Great base.

Posted Jun 17, 2013
Pros: Bed was so comfy - slept like a log.
Cons: Continental breakfast and no satellite television so no news!
Location: Slightly shocked about location at first as the surrounding area looks rather run down but got over that.
Friendly welcome by staff and very helpful with luggage when we got there quite late in the evening after a long journey. Breakfast room had a lovely setting and good service. Hot breakfasts would be a definite improvement though. Bed extremely comfortable and despite the room being on a main road with high volume of traffic this did not cause problems as it was well protected from the noise with double shutters and double glazing. Satellite television would be welcome. As far as location is concerned, I don't know what we expected but I think we thought we would be nearer the sea (and consequently have better air quality) and that the surrounding area would be slightly more upmarket. Having said that as the week went on we started to accept the environment as part of the charm as Naples is obviously a very old city with streets and buildings intact from way back. What an improvement it would be though if some money was spent on renovation, upkeep and maintenance. Overall I would say the hotel is suitable for young and old as well as families.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 4, 2013 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
by Roxy from London, UK

Fine for a real Naples experience

Posted May 22, 2013
Pros: Room was spacious. Small balcony on to the street. Run down roof terrace with lots of character
Cons: Bathroom was a bit grubby
Location: Too far from transport
Hotel is ok just not 4 star. It's quite far from transport so that was a bit of a pain. Worth having a look at the botanical gardens. Gardens are Peaceful considering the mayhem of Naples! When the windows were open in our room the noise from the street was intense but amazingly once they were shut it was really almost quiet. This is a great hotel for the flavour of Naples which we loved but praps not for the faint hearted. Herculaneum and Pompeii and archaeological museum all mind blowing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mary from Montreal, QC, Canada

Good value - clean, large rooms

Posted Dec 26, 2012
Pros: Large rooms and bathroom.
Cons: Paid WiFi is only available in the lobby. Wasn't working though.
Location: A bit of a long walk from the station. Near the National Archeological Museum. Lots of restaurants nearby.
Hotel is good value. The room and bathroom were large. My kids slept on the sofa bed and said it was horribly lumpy and had sofa folds in the matress. Our bed was fine. Breakfast had good variety and was fresh. The train station is a 25 minute somewhat convoluted walk. WIFI wasn't working.