Ratings based on 8 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
62% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Out of the Centre.

Posted May 22, 2014
Pros: Already covered.
Cons: Already covered.
Location: Already covered.
This is a hotel with enormous potential. It is grandiose with sweeping views but needs some love; it gives the impression of being run on a reduced budget (which may be the case); the clean essentials, nice staff, big room and facilities. I chose it because of its proximity to the Capodimonte museum. However this proved to be less an advantage than expected—but don't blame the hotel for that. The Grand has to be considered in conjoint with the city. New visitors to Naples must first rid themselves of the idea of being mugged or robbed. As we gained confidence maneuvering the streets and squares we more and more appreciated the working people's vivacity and friendliness and the excellent qualities of a rundown but truly fascinating city. Go there. Enjoy it. The hotel is fine, a little distant, but the bus (R4) goes right there frequently from the center of town. I would return.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 4, 2012 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fairfax, VA

Problem hotel if driving to it.

Posted May 16, 2012
Pros: Beautiful and clean inside
Cons: Parking major issue
Location: In a tough part of Naples with no restaurants close
Do not stay here if driving to it. It's on a very busy highway with no where to pull off, no reception area, no staff to park car. Parking is 1/2 mile down a steep hill in public parking that's not well marked. You will haul your own bags up the hill in a tough part of town. Beautiful inside and lovely breakfast but not worth the effort.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Miami, FL

Great hotel

Posted Feb 14, 2012 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Baltimore

Not impressed

Posted Jul 2, 2011
Near airport, but not much else. Almost empty on our visit.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Folkestone, Kent

Not impressed; shame as actual building was delight, just everything else poor!

Posted Oct 29, 2010
We felt so let down! The actual building was lovely, with really nice decor/rooms/furnishings. The staff spoke very little English and let you know what they thought of you not speaking Italian! The evening menu was disgusting in relation to choice of 3 for 1st and 2 for 2nd course. No dessert. Over priced and really poor food! Challenging to actually park and get in to hotel via minor footpath next to main dual roadway, (helped by a lovely elderly gent who put us and luggage in car and drove us to entrance!!!)which was so busy, every minute of every hour, all night! Sadly a really poor end to what had been a brilliant stay in Italy, where everywhere we went people had been helpful; polite;good value, couldn't do enough for you, etc etc!
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Antwerppen

Experience at Grand Hotel Capodimonte

Posted Oct 17, 2010 on Hotels.com
When we arrived at the hotel practically didn't find the entrance ! Cannot imagine that it will be straight from the street.Sidewalk , if can be named like this is no more than 30 cm , and italian drivers are very , but very pushy when passing with their small cars and cleans the dust from your clothes practically ! It was very hard when carrying our luggage due to this reason.Doesn't have to mention for my old parents how uncomfortable it was... Hotel inside is quite amazing , well decorated and perfectly maintained.At the reception surprise , no english at all.Which is a big minus because is a 4 stars hotel.Despite of that lack our check-in was fast.Hotel has 4 floors and two elevators.Our rooms where very spacious and same the bathrooms.A small minus was the clearness of some carpets from the floor , but is not something not to live with it ! My room minibar freezer was out of order but carefully filled with water and beer (warm of course) .Again was nothing so important , and I could lived with that too without problems.But night was coming and the hell was released ! Our windows were above the street and the whole night the sound was like only horns and muscle engines , windows were NOT at all sound insulated, are made only like simple glass and wooden frames.My bad luck was hotel is also straight under airplanes landing path to Capodichio airport so i had also plenty of noise due to that too.I am not such a stressed person but the whole night sounds driven me crazy !In the mornig we went to 4th floor for breakfast.Again a big minus , poor is not the word good enough to describe it.Only few bred slices , some yellow cheese , ham and a few biscuits.And it was the same for next three days.But that kept me in shape with no more extra kilos so i don't complain !! :-)) Coffe was excelent , a perfect Listretto hard and strong , perfect italian taste !! Hotel has a parking lot near it ( 100 meters) for an extra charge . As a final conclusion , hotel itself is great , but noise , my god , noise is awful. Position is easy to find from airport andit is close to it too , about 12 km . Is a good point to start Naples exploration , it is exactly near Saint Gennaro Catacombes and 1.5 km to Historical Center which is not so bad for a walk.Neighbourhood is not so good honestly speaking, but didn' t felt unsafety.Hope this helps , but those are my personal impressions !!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Ithaca, NY

Gorgeous Views of Napoli, Excellent Service, Beautiful Hotel

Posted Jul 21, 2010
This hotel is a bit out of the way of the historic center and the seaside/big piazza area, or even restaurants & convenience stores. We had to take a crowded bus and really learn the transport systems to get anywhere. But the views were incredible--really incredible! and there's supposed to be excellent museums close by. The rooms was large and clean, and the hotel decor lovely traditional. The staff was friendly and professional. The breakfast was below average. Overall, good value & no regrets (weighing inconvenient location to great view). Met Italian 4-star standards (compared to our other 4-stars in Italy).