Ratings based on 80 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Belgian Consul

Best view in Naples

Posted Apr 9, 2014
The hotel offers the best publics areas in Naples - must better than his overpriced neighbour ! The bedrooms could do with a little refurbishment but food and staff are just amazing! I believe this is the best located hotel in Naples!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Joel from England

Classy hotel, super spot, wonderful service

Posted Feb 23, 2014
We were really well looked after by friendly, well trained, skillful staff. This service with a smile stands out in Napoli, where it is not ubiquitous by any means. The sea-view deluxe rooms are lovely - and it is simply wonderful to stand on the balcony and take in the panormaic view of the bay, unless you're scared of heights, that is. The marble clad interior of the hotel is genuinely classy and glamorous, inkeeping with the location and the age and architecture of the hotel. Hints of a stronger art-nouveau-come-art-deco style are still there, whilst the hotel is not too big and has a much sweeter and more elegant charm than its larger neighbours on Via Partenope. The food (and service) in the ristobar (the only place to eat in the hotel after breakfast) is sound, quality and reasonably priced - maybe the drinks could be a little cheaper, but they are very good - the cocktails and the hot chocolate are especially worth a try. As is often the case in Napoli, there were a few little things in need of maintenance or repair, but the hotel is clean and well furnished, tasteful and in very good condition, especially considering its age. Again, the staff were diligent, attentive, hospitable and loved to help, advise and solve any problems that arose. The breakfast buffet, served from 7 till 10.30 is tasty and features typical local delicacies, such as sfogliatella, cakes, mozarella, Italian hams and fresh fruit. The choice is not enormous, but it is great for a few days' stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by sarah from london

Good hotel excellent view

Posted Jan 6, 2014
We stayed over the New Year period and took a sea view room which offered an excellent vantage point to see the spectacular New Year fireworks. Staff were friendly and helpful, room large and comfortable and all in all an excellent base in Naples would recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Dave from Kansas City, MO

Great hotel in excellent location for good price

Posted Jan 4, 2014
The Grand Hotel Santa Lucia was in an ideal, safe location. My family of 4 took a taxi from the train station because of all the luggage (20 euros), otherwise public transportation is nearby. The views of Mt. Vesuvius and the Bay of Naples are spectacular. Close walk to Teatro San Carlos, Gran Caffe Gambrinus, and the new Gino Sorbillo Pizza (Lievito Madre Al Mare). It was also close to the hydrofoil to Capri. The rooms were spacious and upscale. The staff was helpful and courteous. The continental breakfast was plentiful and delicious. The only complaint was the free WIFI. It was difficult to log on. I would definitely recommend the Grand Hotel Santa Lucia when staying in Naples.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bernadette from Essex, England

Had a very nice experience

Posted Nov 29, 2013
We had a double bedroom inc breakfast for 1 week, i love pastries so i had a blast everymorning. The staff are very friendly from the reception to the breakfast people and the cleaning ladies. Always smiling and greets us everytime we pass. The Hotel was very close to the sea which made it really easy to take walks everynight. The bed was two singles put together it kind of splits in the middle which is the only downside but otherwise the room was more than I have expected. Very comfortable and semi-seaview from the window no complaint about that and the price. I love the facilities in the toilet and so much storage space. More than what we needed which is never a bad thing. Tv was mostly in italian but some programs can be switched to english. I love the design and the paintings in the room. My boyfriend celebrated his birthday on the 25th and as requested they provided a free of charge birthday cake which meant a lot to me. I wont forget our experience, I would definitely recommend this hotel and will come back one day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by M. from Miami

Perfect location, great hotel

Posted Nov 26, 2013
Pros: Location and the breakfast service.
Cons: The joints of the shower' doors are worn and do not close completely, therefore water splashes out, that is easily fixable.
Location: Via Partenope has been turned pedestrian. Quiet but many people walking, jugging, etc. Several good bay front restaurants at a block distance.
Loved the location in front of the bay of Naples. close to walk but far from subway/metro stations though. The hotel condition is good and the breakfast is very nice. Room size is good but the shower is very small, but in Europe this isn't that unusual. You can really rest here. This place is very quiet. I spent my birthday here, never mentioned it, but I think they figured it out when they saw my passport. When we arrived at night we found a large dessert (cheesecake like) with two servings plates, forks and napkins. We loved the gesture.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel makes a good holiday

Posted Nov 24, 2013
Pros: Location was fabulous and the rooms beautifully decorated. We were very impressed with the standard of food and ate most of our meals in the hotel.
Location: The immediate area near hotel was interesting. We took excursions to Pompeii and Heraculanium and loved both - even went to the latter twice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

That's Amore'

Posted Nov 15, 2013
Pros: service was nice and everyone was friendly
Cons: Update the room d├ęcor and bedding -warmer colors and more plush pillows/pictures would help. No need to be more contemporary-I like the antiques
Location: The local restaurants were nice. We liked Gusto and Gusto. Restaurants across the bridge we could skip :). Ice cream shops and the tours were fabulous
We had a lovely flight in and delayed travel from The Naples Airport to the hotel. Upon arrival the hotel staff were very nice and prompt getting us settled. The bellman was very patient with me.I was not impressed with the 'standard' room we were given ( we were told this was a 4 star hotel). It seemed dated and without luster. We were shown another similar room that had a better view of the waterfront and a balcony and we took this one instead (It pays to express your disappointment in what you pre-paid for). I do not know why they did not give us this room in the first place! Breakfast was awesome at the hotel! Great service and coffee/rich hot chocolate and pastries, fruit, juice, eggs and ham. EVERYDAY. Loved the coffee and the great view. One night it rained and we had to stay in. It was cozy and fun watching tv all night and laughing. Two nights prior to departure we were given a room upgrade- I guess it was a suite. It was nice with two large balconies and more space and a larger bath. Wi Fi connection was weaker than our original room so we had to use our computers in the lobby. We had home emergencies we needed to handle from Italy. Overall we got it managed. The staff was great allowing us to borrow umbrellas when it rained and the hotel restaurant was nice and served nice cocktails. All in all I would rate the hotel a 3.9 out of 5 - but the buffet and breakfast staff get a 5! Thanks!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by nancy from new jersey

amazing views..great breakfast

Posted Nov 14, 2013
Pros: location....breakfast....clean
Cons: needs alittle update in halls carpet and wallpaper
Location: across from hotel the port with amazing fresh fish...go into the castle across the street it is amazing inside and does not cost anything..great views
the property is an old grand palace with views of port and castle...with capri island in front of you and mt vesuvius in the distance..staff was extremly helpful...cabs are right outside the door if needed.we were able to walk everywhere..breakfast was great the pastries in naples can not be beat and the hotel does its own baking..loved naples, the history .the lungo mare,..shopping and amazing food..!would stay at this hotel again..!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by NG from SG

Great hotel in a safe and beautiful location

Posted Nov 6, 2013 on Hotels.com
This hotel is in a great location with splendid views of the nearby castle and yacht marina. We did not have the direct sea view room, but we had similar views from the side of our balcony. The area felt safe and the road in front of the hotel was closed to traffic in the evening when we were there. Many tourists were jogging or doing evening walks along the promenade. The main attractions, shopping areas were within walking distance from the hotel. The wifi was a mild irritation as it required entering a long complicated password for connection from time to time. Rooms had enough space for 2, comfortable and usual amenities. Breakfast was pretty good and it was a great stay overall.