Ratings based on 44 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Pisa, Italy

Good economic hotel in central Naples

Posted Nov 18, 2014
Pros: Helpful staff, clean room, cheap price and reasonable facilities.
Cons: Fix the TV remote and make the wifi password clear on check in.
Location: Located in central Naples and close to the metro station universita.
The hotel is some way from the main train station but is very close to a metro station. I arrived before the stated check in time but was able to enter my room after a short wait. The room was clean and had heating/air conditioning, a safe and a shower with good water pressure. There was also decent wifi and a TV though the remote didn't work well. In the morning a buffet breakfast provided - this wasn't extravagant but was very reasonable for the price of the room. On the day I checked out I was able to leave my luggage at the hotel until late in the afternoon; it wasn't locked away but was near the front desk and still there when I returned. I wasn't a fan of Naples but was satisfied with the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Falls Church VA

Nice convenient hotel in Naples

Posted Oct 16, 2014
Pros: Location and facilities and friendly staff!
Cons: Not hotel issue, but cleanliness of the street
Location: Lots in Naples area and this hotel provides access. We walked to hydrofoil to islands. Rode metro and trains to Archaeological Museum and Pompeii.
Hotel del Golfo was a pleasant surprise for us on our recent Italy trip. I selected the hotel based on price and location and some review information. For location it is very close to the Universitta Metro stop and walking distance to the port for travel to the islands. It is one street back off of a main street and traffic circle that has some nice facilities and restaurants, but the street itself is dirty, features lots of cars, and colorful Napolitanos. but that is also interesting. The hotel was friendly with a nice breakfast. Our room was larger than all of our other more expensive hotels with a walk onto a balcony. Nice bathroom and working elevator.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom I

Wonderful staff but smelly bathroom.

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Location is great; staff are great. Breakfast is very good and substantial. But bathroom smelled so bad we woke up a few times and it was hard to be in the room. We stayed two nights and were happy to leave.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified travelerfrom Tennessee

Clean, Efficient

Posted Oct 4, 2014
Pros: Very Clean
Location: We had requested a hotel near the Central Train station. The Golfo isn't. Being seniors, and one of us of a nervous nature, we took taxis everywhere.
The street is littered with trash, and frightening at first. But then, when one finds their way around Naples, one learns that ALL the streets in Naples are littered with trash and frightening. The hotel itself is spotlessly clean, with modern bathrooms, air conditioning. The breakfast was an adequate continental one. Certainly plenty of choices to start the day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sydney

Very close to city centre

Posted Sep 7, 2014
Pros: Walking distance to every where....
Cons: Mini bar, kettle & tea & coffee in room would be nice...
Location: Near city centre
We stayed 4 nights, hotel was very central to port, train station & historical district.. Naples is a very interesting city.... Not for the faint hearted, not very clean, with graffiti everywhere .. Visit to Pompeii & Herculaneum sites is a must.. Great for shopping, with plenty of restaurants....
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tomfrom New York, NY

Great Hotel

Posted May 21, 2014
Pros: Everything. Very modern.
Cons: There were no glasses provided in the room.
Location: Conveniently located. Museo Archeologico Nazionale di Napoli.
Great hotel 1 minute from Universita Metro stop. Hotel was impeccable. The room was huge with a vaulted ceiling. Breakfast was good with ham and cheeseā€”I think it was included.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by curlylocksfrom London

Comfy beds and great location

Posted Dec 23, 2013 on Hotels.com
The staff at the hotel were very helpful with all our questions on the surrounding area. If your trip involves alot of pizza, this is the best spot to be in to scout out the best Napolitan pizza all within walking distance. Be warned though, the metro (Universita) is not finished yet so you will probably need to reach the hotel by taxi from the airport or nearest open station. Taxi from the hotel to airport was booked by the receptionist and was a fixed price of 20 euro (avoids you getting stung by unscrupulous taxi drivers hoping they can make more from an unknowing tourist) Easy to walk to a number of tourist sites within the area
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Richardfrom Utah

Posted Nov 1, 2013
Pros: Facilities in general and the room in particular. Fridge, shower, and AC were very good. Breakfast area and buffet were spot on. Very good value!
Cons: Nothing comes to mind.
Location: Museums, quality shopping, restaurants, churches, old city.
Room quality was very good. Bathrooms and room interior were very modern, clean and well looked after. The hotel appears to have gone through a recent renovation. Although the hotel area and Naples in general is a bit seedy, we became very comfortable walking about the area and taking local transportation to all the sights. Lots to do nearby.
3 out of 5
by Mikefrom London

Newly refurbished but uncomfortable

Posted Sep 19, 2013
Pros: Room was of a good size, clean and tidy. Location is good.
Cons: The breakfast could be better and it would be easier to get a good night's sleep if the room was less noisy.
Location: Good location - lots of shops and good restaurants in walking distance. Main train station walkable in 20 minutes. Sights of Naples also nearby.
The hotel has recently been refurbished and looks great on the inside. It is in a pretty decent location with lots of good restaurants nearby, 20 minute walk from the main train station and in what seemed like a fairly safe area of town. The room was very well presented and of a very good size as well as being very clean. There were several downsides though. The room was really hot when we first arrived late in the evening, we thought this wouldn't be a problem thanks to the air conditioning, but thanks to the size of the room we had to leave this on for most of night and it was extremely noisy, making it difficult to sleep. The hotel website claims that the rooms are soundproof, this was certainly not the case in our room as we could hear everything in the adjacent stairwell and a fair bit of noise from adjacent rooms. This, combined with the noisy aircon meant that out of three nights we didn't sleep well once. The breakfast is fairly basic but about the sort of thing that I would expect for the price.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Russellfrom Wokingham

Bella Napoli-not exactly 'bella'

Posted Aug 2, 2013 on Hotels.com
Hotel was clean and bed comfortable. Breakfast buffet adequate, not exactly generous. Surrounding neighbourhood extremely dirty and unpleasant. Management not particularly friendly or helpful, e.g. when all electricity went off in room simply said, 'That's impossible!' Location, within walking distance of port/bus station.