Ratings based on 87 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Stupot from London

Great hotel for Exploring

Posted Dec 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
We stayed for 4 nights over Christmas period and found the hotel very good in terms of friendliness, helpfulness and cleanliness. Breakfast was very nice and the views from the hotel overlooking the city and port are outstanding. We had an issue with our room after the first night and they happily allowed us to switch rooms. We found some of the advice about what was open on Christmas, Christmas Eve and Boxing Day to be misleading but do not believe it was intentional. Overall a very nice hotel with good access to everything we wanted to do.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

great view

Posted Dec 11, 2013 on Hotels.com
This hotel had a great view of the city. the rooms were nice and the service staff were very helpful
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Carrie from Norfolk

Authentic, historical

Posted Dec 3, 2013
Pros: The staff
Cons: Tea/coffee in room
Location: Accessible to town but the streets are filthy & rubbish strewn.
Just ok........nice, friendly, helpful staff, traditional building. But would have liked tea/coffee option in the room & restaurant had small menu in evening with little options
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Holley from Surrey

Best view in Napoli

Posted Nov 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
Superb hotel. We were on 6th floor with incredible view over Naples and Vesuvius. First hotel we have stayed in that is worthy of exploration. Surprises around every corridor. Half of the hotel built into the rock. Staff were lovely. Breakfast great. Dinner portions a little small but good quality. Using glass lift was a thrill. With luck will visit again.
3 out of 5
by amy from aberdeen, uk

Average hotel, bad smell in rooms

Posted Nov 15, 2013
The hotel is pleasant enough, nothing exciting but clean and good transport connections within walking distance. The food in the restaurant is good but expensive. There's no bar, which would have been nice to be able to have a drink in the hotel in the evenings. My only complaint is that our room from time to time had a horrible toilet smell but this may have been because they were doing work on our floor which involved the pipes and water system. The concierge also weren't very helpful when we asked for directions- we only realised on our last day that we could have jumped on the funicular down the street to take us either down to the Spanish quarter where we ate every night, or straight to the national archaeological museum instead of walking. I also wouldn't take their recommendations of where to eat. Stick to trip advisor.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
Food was awesome and service was outstanding - especially Pupa at he front desk!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY

Posted Nov 10, 2013
Pros: Extraordinary old building. Great terrace views
Location: A bit out of the way for the center of town, so lots of taxi rides, but quieter
Staff very helpful. Problem with water leak first night meant relocation to hotel down road which was lousy. Rest of stay fine except mediocre dinner last night. Great view of Bay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Friendly staff willing to help.

Posted Nov 3, 2013
Friendly staff willing to help, only compliant would be to serve fresh orange juice at breakfast and not the diluted with water type. Would stay here again. Ideal for the port, museum and shops.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Overpriced and deteriorated infrastructure

Posted Oct 28, 2013 on Hotels.com
Beautiful view, but hotel needs a total face lift. Not a four star as touted.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Deborah from Northumberland

Beautiful hotel

Posted Oct 28, 2013
Pros: The views, the quiet location and the staff
Location: There is a funicular about 400m from the hotel or a brisk 15 minute walk to the town centre
Fantastic hotel with great views, lovely restaurant and friendly, helpful staff