Ratings based on 96 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Full of History and Panache

Posted Aug 6, 2014
Pros: Everything....WOW!
Location: Just down the street is a wonderful friendly family operated pizza eatery and within a 20 minute walk your right in the heart of Naples
On arrival our arrival at Hotel San Francesco Al Monte one got the feeling that we were expected by the welcoming staff. From the location and the exterior one could be put off but on entering the lobby...WOW! San Francesco Al Monte is akin to staying in a museum…a very stylish museum. There is so much to see from the roof top garden and restaurant with views of Naples to die for, through to the frescoes and rooms which you stumble upon through exploration. The rooms are well furnished and very quiet. Pictures do not do it justice. If you ever visit Naples and have an opportunity to stay at San Francesco Al Monte…..just do it…you won’t be disappointed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Liverpool, UK

Glorious rooftop views!

Posted Jul 10, 2014
Pros: The (7th-floor) rooftop swimming pool and garden is simply spectacular, and the fourth-floor restaurant/terrace also has stunning views.
Cons: The air conditioning was loud and needed to be turned off in the night. The hotel also has a real problem with a constant supply of hot water.
Comfortable and quiet hotel, with easy transport links by funicular railway (close by) to town and harbour.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from australia

Amazing Location, Rooftop Pool & Garden

Posted Jul 5, 2014
Loved the staff, they are extremely helpful, love the view and the rooftop pool & garden, incredible. Decor is a little dated but all clean and tidy, I would stay here again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Alan from Plymouth, UK.

relaxing, calm, quiet hotel.

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Pros: All of it.
Cons: The age of the building probably made upkeep difficult but tiny details such as filing gaps in bathrooms would make finish tidier.
Location: Great views from elevated position. Use funicular train to visit Castel Sant Elmo and Musuem above, or just drift down into city to people watch.
Great setting, almost a museum itself but very up to date facilities. Great spacious rooms, small TVs but you dont need them with such brilliant views. Great staff, all very helpful and polite, bar staff remembered what we drank after only a day, breakfast drinks also remembered!! Smashing upper level outdoor pool and gardens. Well connected to city centre by 2 funicular railways nearby, but worth a walk through through the narrow streets to experience the local atmosphere. Thunder and lightning storms around bay and Vesuvius made dramatic watching from hotel balcony bar. A special mention for the concierge who helped us out with coach tickets and directions, charming guy who looked like a small version of Pier-Luigi Collina.
2 out of 5
by evie from UK

Old hotel , needs renovation

Posted May 26, 2014
Pros: The view over the Bay of Naples
Cons: Everything - very dowdy hotel
Location: In an awful down market area , we were directed to a nearby taverna for pizza - absolutely indigestible!
I am very unhappy with our stay at the above property . When we arrived there on 15th May to check in , I asked whether the room allocated had a bath and bay view ( as requested through the expedia booking system ) only to be told that you had not notified them of this request , and there was only one room left with a bath , but no view ( in fact it landed up having a view of the wall of the building next door .!) Then we found was no hot water unless you ran the water for 20 minutes ! The shower / bath was dirty and I found a long black hair in the bed ! NO telephone in the room meant that we could not request help from reception without walking all the way from the top floor attic to the downstairs reception . ! Absolutely awful experience at this hotel .. When I contacted management with a written complaint , my issues were brushed aside , and I was told that I should have reported my complaints to staff ( in fact I had done so ! ) and I was told that I would hopefully have a better experience elsewhere on my trip ! Additionally the staff at breakfast were surly , there is no parking nearby and we were charged €25 per night for parking , and quite frankly this hotel has only one redeeming feature it's view over the Bay of Naples My husband who is not normally as fussy as I am , hated staying in your hotel and couldn't wait to leave - In my opinion this hotel needs a complete overhaul including the staff !
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 24, 2014
Great staff, very helpful and accommodating. The facility could use more attention. Overall it was a good experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Christine from Montreal, Canada

Wow really good hotel!

Posted May 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
I loved everything about this hotel. The hotel itself is absolutely beautiful with stunning views! The room was clean and comfortable. The staff was so nice and so helpful. The breakfast was delicious with plenty of choices. The location was perfect as it was in between 2 furniculars that take you down into the heart of Naples. I will reccomend this hotel to anyone visiting Naples!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by RR from Denver, CO

Beautiful, interesting old building

Posted Jan 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
We had a super interesting upper room with fantastic (architectural) windows overlooking the city. The bed was super comfortable and the room size was very nice. Explore the interesting nooks and crannies of the building! The breakfast terrace had incredible views and the pool terrace is incredible. Loved it!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Stupot from London

Great hotel for Exploring

Posted Dec 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
We stayed for 4 nights over Christmas period and found the hotel very good in terms of friendliness, helpfulness and cleanliness. Breakfast was very nice and the views from the hotel overlooking the city and port are outstanding. We had an issue with our room after the first night and they happily allowed us to switch rooms. We found some of the advice about what was open on Christmas, Christmas Eve and Boxing Day to be misleading but do not believe it was intentional. Overall a very nice hotel with good access to everything we wanted to do.