Ratings based on 99 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Amazing views!

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: The pool and the view! Amazing.
Cons: The rooms really aren't of a quality you expect for the amount of money you are paying.
Location: Funicular stops nearby, so easy to get into the centre of town/Port area.
I enjoyed my stay at this hotel - but it really is all about the view of Naples and the facilities on the roof garden and the pool. The hotel did not seem particularly crowded when I stayed, so there was plenty of space for catching the sun and relaxing around the pool and roof garden facilities. The view from this level was absolutely stunning, and I could have spent all day and night there! The room facilities however were not what I might expect for the amount of money I paid, so that was a little bit of a let down (e.g. tv had very poor reception and was stored on a pull-out drawer), and there were not those luxurious touches in the room, but that brings me back to it being all about the view and the garden/pool facilities. If you are perhaps looking or a luxury hotel, and the facilities they have, I would look elsewhere. Also, being situated in Vomero, you are a little bit removed from the action - it's perfectly easy to get around from the hotel, and it's lovely and peaceful, but you are missing out on the crazy, frenetic atmosphere that makes Naples so special. I moved to a hotel in the city centre for part of my stay, and I am glad I got to experience two sides to Naples.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from nottingham

chabby chic.

Posted Aug 31, 2014
Pros: great views
Cons: better attention to detail.Improved staff training
Location: short distance from the furnicular to get you into the center of the main shopping area
stayed for 1 night in this chabby chic hotel! It is in a lovely setting on the hills overlooking naples but the streets around it are dirty (dog fouling, overflowing waste bins). The hotel is in need of a lick if paint in may areas but nothing too serious. Staff seemed to be inexperienced (e. ordered a taxi for 3pm after discussing the need for a late checkout because we would not be leaving by the required 11am checkout time and received a phone call at 3am telling us the taxi had arrived!). At dinner our wine was placed in an ice bucket a little way from the table but no-one ever refilled our glasses so we had to get up to do t ourselves, and they mixed up our order too. My daughter also found a piece of metal (from a an scrubber) in her food and when I pointed this out I was offered an apology but that was all that was offered!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Full of History and Panache

Posted Aug 6, 2014
Pros: Everything....WOW!
Location: Just down the street is a wonderful friendly family operated pizza eatery and within a 20 minute walk your right in the heart of Naples
On arrival our arrival at Hotel San Francesco Al Monte one got the feeling that we were expected by the welcoming staff. From the location and the exterior one could be put off but on entering the lobby...WOW! San Francesco Al Monte is akin to staying in a museum…a very stylish museum. There is so much to see from the roof top garden and restaurant with views of Naples to die for, through to the frescoes and rooms which you stumble upon through exploration. The rooms are well furnished and very quiet. Pictures do not do it justice. If you ever visit Naples and have an opportunity to stay at San Francesco Al Monte…..just do it…you won’t be disappointed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Liverpool, UK

Glorious rooftop views!

Posted Jul 10, 2014
Pros: The (7th-floor) rooftop swimming pool and garden is simply spectacular, and the fourth-floor restaurant/terrace also has stunning views.
Cons: The air conditioning was loud and needed to be turned off in the night. The hotel also has a real problem with a constant supply of hot water.
Comfortable and quiet hotel, with easy transport links by funicular railway (close by) to town and harbour.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from australia

Amazing Location, Rooftop Pool & Garden

Posted Jul 5, 2014
Loved the staff, they are extremely helpful, love the view and the rooftop pool & garden, incredible. Decor is a little dated but all clean and tidy, I would stay here again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Alan from Plymouth, UK.

relaxing, calm, quiet hotel.

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Pros: All of it.
Cons: The age of the building probably made upkeep difficult but tiny details such as filing gaps in bathrooms would make finish tidier.
Location: Great views from elevated position. Use funicular train to visit Castel Sant Elmo and Musuem above, or just drift down into city to people watch.
Great setting, almost a museum itself but very up to date facilities. Great spacious rooms, small TVs but you dont need them with such brilliant views. Great staff, all very helpful and polite, bar staff remembered what we drank after only a day, breakfast drinks also remembered!! Smashing upper level outdoor pool and gardens. Well connected to city centre by 2 funicular railways nearby, but worth a walk through through the narrow streets to experience the local atmosphere. Thunder and lightning storms around bay and Vesuvius made dramatic watching from hotel balcony bar. A special mention for the concierge who helped us out with coach tickets and directions, charming guy who looked like a small version of Pier-Luigi Collina.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Giulia from London

Best hotel ever

Posted Jun 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
This is one of the most charming hotel I stayed in!
2 out of 5
by evie from UK

Old hotel , needs renovation

Posted May 26, 2014
Pros: The view over the Bay of Naples
Cons: Everything - very dowdy hotel
Location: In an awful down market area , we were directed to a nearby taverna for pizza - absolutely indigestible!
I am very unhappy with our stay at the above property . When we arrived there on 15th May to check in , I asked whether the room allocated had a bath and bay view ( as requested through the expedia booking system ) only to be told that you had not notified them of this request , and there was only one room left with a bath , but no view ( in fact it landed up having a view of the wall of the building next door .!) Then we found was no hot water unless you ran the water for 20 minutes ! The shower / bath was dirty and I found a long black hair in the bed ! NO telephone in the room meant that we could not request help from reception without walking all the way from the top floor attic to the downstairs reception . ! Absolutely awful experience at this hotel .. When I contacted management with a written complaint , my issues were brushed aside , and I was told that I should have reported my complaints to staff ( in fact I had done so ! ) and I was told that I would hopefully have a better experience elsewhere on my trip ! Additionally the staff at breakfast were surly , there is no parking nearby and we were charged €25 per night for parking , and quite frankly this hotel has only one redeeming feature it's view over the Bay of Naples My husband who is not normally as fussy as I am , hated staying in your hotel and couldn't wait to leave - In my opinion this hotel needs a complete overhaul including the staff !
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 24, 2014
Great staff, very helpful and accommodating. The facility could use more attention. Overall it was a good experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Christine from Montreal, Canada

Wow really good hotel!

Posted May 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
I loved everything about this hotel. The hotel itself is absolutely beautiful with stunning views! The room was clean and comfortable. The staff was so nice and so helpful. The breakfast was delicious with plenty of choices. The location was perfect as it was in between 2 furniculars that take you down into the heart of Naples. I will reccomend this hotel to anyone visiting Naples!