Ratings based on 162 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Paris

hôtel atypique, mieux qu'en apparence

Posted Apr 18, 2015
Pros: convivialité et serviabilité du responsable
Cons: Présentation extérieure : enseigne, rénovation escalier
Location: un peu de marche de pied pour accéder aux quartiers historiques dans de petites ruelles typiques
Ne pas se fier aux premières impressions : pas d'enseigne, façade décrépie, 2ème étage sans ascenseur, escalier monumental (réalisé par l'architecte de la fontaine Trévis) en piteux état. Intérieur bien rénové et propre. Riches échanges (en anglais) avec le responsable qui nous a organisé à prix intéressants des excursions avec chauffeur particulier (ne parlant qu'Italien). Inconvénient : notre chambre était contiguë à l'accueil (bruits d'aller et venues)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Berlin

Neapel erleben

Posted Apr 6, 2015
Wir haben eine ganze Woche im Hotel eingecheckt und uns sehr wohl gefühlt. Das Hotel liegt mitten in einer von vielen kleinen wirren Straßen Neapels. Man kann die touristischen Highlights der Stadt gut zu Fuß sowie mit der Bahn erreichen. Wer eine Bettenburg bevorzugt, ist hier falsch. Das Hotel hat seinen ganz eigenen neapolitanischen Charm einschließlich der Mitarbeiter.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Wales

gorgeous 18th century building

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Pros: the gorgeous old building hiding a boutique hotel...amazing rooms and decor
Cons: the only thing that would make the room perfect would be to replace the old discoloured sealant in shower, it's the only thing that let the room down
Location: close to Pompeii and Herculaneum
Fab four night stay, Max and Maria looked after all our needs
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent Hotel

Posted Feb 12, 2015
An authentic second floor conversion in a former mansion house, well-appointed & comfortable. Excellent manager, in back streets and yet still central, very near Museum, Highly recommended/
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

3

Posted Jan 27, 2015 on Hotels.com
It's a place to remember. If going from Museo or Cavour metro stations dont cut your way, go Piazza Camillo Benso Conte di Cavour and then turn via Stella. It ll save your nerves and shoes. When walking via Stella keep left or right to avoid accidents with motorists. Max, a hotel shareholder, did his best to make us feel comfortable and happy in every respect. There s no lift in this hotel, we used the stairs to get up and down two times a day -- good training! Breakfast is in an Italian style.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 31, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom UK

Interesting little hotel

Posted Dec 21, 2014
Pros: Price, Location and staff.
Cons: Some information in the hotel of what is in the local area and how to get to the main tourist attractions and what to avoid (e.g. Herculaneum bus)
Location: Naples Museum is within walking distance and you can get to Herculaneum and Pompeii with a couple of hours.
Staff are very nice and approachable in a fairly lively town. If you've not been to Naples before or don't know the area I highly advise using Google Maps and having a read about it as it could come as a bit of a surprise based on your expectations! That said after you get over the initial surprise, I never felt unsafe in Naples and it does have a certain charm. The hotel is well located for the Museum which is well worth a look if you are going to Herculaneum and / or Pompeii. As a couple of people have mentioned there are some very good 'local' pizzeria /Osteria, Max can point you in the right direction! If you are getting a taxi from the airport, get the price agreed before leaving!! You can get the metro to the Museo Piazza Cavour stop and walk up the hill but it is quite a walk up hill with cases.... If you are going to leave your room key in the hotel then use the hotel safe just in case! My advise with Italy in general would be take your time and remember it might not be quite like home! For instance a credit or debit card is a strange and unusual thing even when trying to buy things for official government sources.....
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Oxford

Great hotel in a nice area

Posted Dec 21, 2014
Pros: The area is very quiet, opposite a bakery and near many shops. A large garden with orange trees and very kind staff.
Cons: If you like tea bring it with you (and a kettle) as Italians don't do tea! Bring some instant coffee as well as Italians only drink 1 tiny cup a day.
Location: Fresh bread opposite the hotel every day. Walk 5 minutes and there are pizzeria's, fruit and vegetable shops and wine and beer merchants.
The hotel is located quite close to (metro) station Cavour, about 5 minutes walk. The hotel staff is very friendly, fluent English and Dutch and the rooms are cleaned daily so overall it really is a very good hotel. Napoli has a bad reputation but we stayed 11 days and had no problems what so ever. The area around the main station is not that bad as well, just be a little vigilant. Breakfast at the hotel was nice and if you need any help with directions just ask the hotel manager or indeed any Neapolitan and they are very happy to help. From the main station take a metro or train to Cavour and go through a little park. Just before the park ends on your right is Via Stella.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Silviafrom Michigan

Mature couple

Posted Dec 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
Even though the hotel is not in the best neighborhood, it is a great hotel to stay at, its history is amazing. We were warmly welcomed by Max and his assistant and felt very at home. It is in a very good location with easy access to transportation for day trips. We are walkers so we had a great time investigating this very interesting city.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

neaples

Posted Nov 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
The man rhats working there Max was very nice he helped us with everything we asked him for. He even gave us breakfast earlier then usual. The tv only had one channel but that was not a big problem. Overall we really liked the hotel