Ratings based on 17 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

beware

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Lovely hotel, but before they would let me go home, they requested i pay the hotel bill, obviously i have already paid Expedia when i booked the holiday. When i said this to the rceptionist and showed the receptionist the itinery from Expedia, they just said that this is just to show that you have been booked into this hotel and they were having none of it and wanted payment before they would allow me to leave, so before i left i was charged again by the hotel for my stay. Please be aware.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 5, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing Renaissance Naples Hotel Mediterraneo for your stay in Naples. We are really sorry for the inconvenience you may have experienced, we please contact us directly so check carefully what happened. Sincerely Emanuela Testa GM OFFICE CO-ORDINATOR
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Naples Long Weekend

Posted Apr 29, 2014
Very clean and well appointed hotel. The staff were very helpful, the rooms are well appointed however could do with a lick of paint. The location is just off Via Toledo and within 5 minutes walk of the Porto so extremely convenient. Toledo Metro station is within a few minutes walk. The breakfast was adequate and service ok, however when it was peak breakfast time, there seemed not enough staff to take hot drink orders and one morning I waited approx 20 mins for a pot of tea after placing my order 3 times! Overall the hotel was a nice quiet oasis away from the hustle and bustle of the City and I would stay here again/recommend to others. The free chocolate eggs on Easter Sunday left on our bed was a lovely and tasty touch!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Safe and convenient, great location but mediocre

Posted Mar 19, 2014
Pros: Lobby and roof terrace
Cons: Rooms need to be updated, modernization is badly needed. Consistent WIFI in all rooms would be great.
Location: Excellent location for everything. Use the metro, it's a short walk and wonderfully user friendly, gets you to the train station quickly. Avoid cabs.
The location, lobby and roof terrace are amazing. Staff was helpful but inconsistently so. During our second stay we had to sit outside the elevators for WIFI. Food is excellent. Rooms are old and with only the very basic amenities. On our last night we had to move a dresser to find a plug that could accommodate our travel charger and had to unplug the (ancient) television. The view from every room except the roof is dismal, depressing and noisy. This is a great hotel if you only plan to sleep here and do not care about anything else. Price is great, and as everywhere else in Naples, crime is everywhere outside of the hotel. Hold on to your bags.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 20, 2014
Dear Guest, We would like to thank you for taking the time and trouble to posting regarding your recent stay at our hotel, as our guests' satisfaction is our main goal and any suggestions are more than welcome, supporting us to improve our standards of service so to correspond and exceed our guests' expectations. We regret we did not meet your expectations. We are pleased to inform you the free wifi is installed from floor 6 to floor 10, as we plan to complete all other rooms within the next 3 months, and that we are providing to replace the old TVs with new flat screen from 32 up to 42 inches in most deluxe rooms, new tv sets are already present in all junior suites and executives. In addition we would assure you we are providing to install in the rooms, near to the beds, a USb socket to ensure our guests to charge their devices. As well, our hotel offers rooms with different views, some in the yard, other roadside and some sea view and we hope we will have the chance to see you again in Naples, eventually in our new refurbished rooms that may satisfy your expectations We are delighted you took advantage to taste the cuisine of our O’Break Restaurant as it is, along with breakfast, one of our strengths appreciated for the variety and authenticity of the dishes offered by our chefs. It is true that Naples is a city with problems like crime but undoubtedly these difficulties are typical of big cities, as well as, in a positive sense, the warm hospitality. We hope we will be your “home” for a next stay in Naples, thus living a better experience in our city and enjoying all the latest updates of hotel. Best Regards Barbara Brunelli General Manager
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 20, 2014
Dear Guest, we would like to thank you for taking the time and trouble to posting regarding your recent stay at our hotel, as our guests' satisfaction is our main goal and any suggestions are more than welcome, supporting us to improve our standards of service so to correspond and exceed our guests' expectations. We regret we did not meet your expectations. We are pleased to inform you the free wifi is installed from floor 6 to floor 10, as we plan to complete all other rooms within the next 3 months, and that we are providing to replace the old TVs with new flat screen from 32 up to 42 inches in most deluxe rooms, new tv sets are already present in all junior suites and executives; in addition we would assure you we are providing to install in the rooms, near to the beds, a USb socket to ensure our guests to charge their devices. As well, our hotel offers rooms with different views, some in the yard, other roadside and some sea view and we hope we will have the chance to see you again in Naples, eventually in our new refurbished rooms that may satisfy your expectations We are delighted you took advantage to taste the cuisine of our O’Break Restaurant as it is, along with breakfast, one of our strengths appreciated for the variety and authenticity of the dishes offered by our chefs. It is true that Naples is a city with problems like crime but undoubtedly these difficulties are typical of big cities, as well as, in a positive sense, the warm hospitality. We hope we will be your “home” for a next stay in Naples, thus living a better experience in our city and enjoying all the latest updates of hotel. Best Regards Barbara Brunelli General Manager
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 22, 2014
Dear Guest, we would like to thank you for taking the time and trouble to posting regarding your recent stay at our hotel, as our guests' satisfaction is our main goal and any suggestions are more than welcome, supporting us to improve our standards of service so to correspond and exceed our guests' expectations. We regret we did not meet your expectations. We are pleased to inform you the free wifi is installed from floor 6 to floor 10, as we plan to complete all other rooms within the next 3 months, and that we are providing to replace the old TVs with new flat screen from 32 up to 42 inches in most deluxe rooms, new tv sets are already present in all junior suites and executives; in addition we would assure you we are providing to install in the rooms, near to the beds, a USb socket to ensure our guests to charge their devices. As well, our hotel offers rooms with different views, some in the yard, other roadside and some sea view and we hope we will have the chance to see you again in Naples, eventually in our new refurbished rooms that may satisfy your expectations We are delighted you took advantage to taste the cuisine of our O’Break Restaurant as it is, along with breakfast, one of our strengths appreciated for the variety and authenticity of the dishes offered by our chefs. It is true that Naples is a city with problems like crime but undoubtedly these difficulties are typical of big cities, as well as, in a positive sense, the warm hospitality. We hope we will be your “home” for a next stay in Naples, thus living a better experience in our city and enjoying all the latest updates of hotel. Best Regards Barbara Brunelli General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Al from Georgia

Central location in Naples

Posted Jan 23, 2014
Pros: The location and the staff are wonderful. The reception staff and Marco (main floor bar) were extremely helpful in every way. The public areas modern.
Cons: The rooms have paper thin walls, I could hear every clothes hanger move next door. Rooms could be updated. No Kleenex anywhere to be found.
Location: Just off Via Toledo, very near all kinds of restaurants and shopping, and an easy walk to many of the cities attractions and the port.
I spent four nights here using it as a base to explore Naples, Pompeii, Capri and Sorrento. The port is an easy walk for the Hydrofoils to Capri. Many city sights, shopping and restaurants are very close. The train service to/from Naples is great. The rooms are very adequate, but could use some updating, like insulation in the walls for sound proofing. The tile in the bathroom seemed like circa 1960's (but very clean). The public areas are very modern and spacious. They looked to be remodeled recently. I hope the rooms are next to be remodeled. I was there in January, and it was very hot in all of our rooms (only heat was on no a/c). I had to ask the staff to unlock the windows so I could cool my room (had to sign a release to get that done). Once the window was opened the room became comfortable for sleeping.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Souzana from Tokyo, Japan

Comfortable stay in historical center

Posted Aug 12, 2013
Pros: Delicious Napoli grapefruits: availble at the reception desk free for guests!
Cons: The airconditioning in our room was a bit too noisy
Location: Great location - minutes away from the boat terminal. It was key for us since we planned a trip to Capri island
Certainly there is a feeling of gorgeosuness in the hotel lobby and restaurant. There is a roof jaguzzi and some private tunning space. Rooms a bit old-fashined, bathrooms need some upgrade. However, clean and upkept overal.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pleasant and elegant hotel

Posted Jul 31, 2013
The elegant hotel in the perfect location. We stayed in a junior suite on the tenth floor with magnificent views of the bay. Pleasant atmosphere all throughout. Will definitely stay again. PS: breakfast selection was average but was served on a terrace with the panoramic views. Overall the stay in this hotel one of the highlights of our experience in Naples. Also, we took a taxi from the airport to the hotel for €25, with 3 bags. Which seemed quite reasonable & the driver doubled as a 'tour guide' during the journey! A happy experience overall.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by KozieChks from California, USA

Nice hotel at reasonable rate

Posted Jul 20, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel is what you would expect from a Marriott: the usual amenities, helpful staff, clean rooms. They have a wonderful free breakfast selection (the best one during our vacation in the Amalfi Coast). Hotel is situated on a quiet street, about 20 min. walking to the Galleria and the theatre. It's a bit far to walk, that's why I gave a lesser rating. But if you are willing to taxi around, then the location is just fine, it's pretty close to the usual attractions. Do eat at the hotel's O Break restaurant. The price is really reasonable and the food was great. I was there with my Italian husband and in-laws, so they would know.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Beyond fabulous!

Posted Jul 18, 2013 on Hotels.com
We went for our honeymoon and the hotel was wonderful! Fantastic location, clean and beautiful rooms, quick service when we needed something, and very responsive! Highly recommend!
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by bayram

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 14, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Anita from New Jersey

ALL -AROUND GREAT HOTEL

Posted Feb 26, 2013
Pros: The breakfast terrace, the location.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Located on the Ponte della Tappia , which is a few blocks from the Via Toledo ,Palazzo Reale and the San Carlo Opera House.
The hotel staff is wonderful: friendly, welcoming, efficient, and helpful. The hotel itself is spotless and in a wonderful location: it is possible to walk to all the major sections of the city: from the seafront area, to the famous Caffe Gambrinus and Palazzo Reale, to the Old Spanish quarter of the city, and even to the "ancient " section of the city, the old stone streets, churches,& museum complexes . One of my favorite things about this hotel is the breakfast room,with the outdoor terrace ! I love to sit up there drinking my coffee, looking at the gorgeous view of the Bay of Naples and Vesuvio. There is also a taxi waiting area that is conveniently located down the street from the hotel. Also, importantly, the price is reasonable ,especially for the type of hotel it is. The rooms are spacious , bathrooms are too, good closet space in the bedroom, very comfortable. I would highly recommend this hotel .