Ratings based on 31 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect deal!

Posted Aug 18, 2014
You cannot get more for that money. We are more than satisfied.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 17, 2014
Very clean attractive hotel located between JR Nara and Kintetsu rail stations at a reasonable price for Nara. Breakfast buffet price was discounted via a coupon given at checking-in making it a reasonable option. The walk to the Nara deer park and Temple area is somewhat long but can include the small er temple on route.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by MK from Ann Arbor, MI

Good Deal in Nara

Posted May 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
The Hotel Fujita Nara is a nice hotel for a very reasonable price in a good location. The hotel is located a few minute walk from the main JR train station in Nara and is about a 15 minute walk from most of the Nara tourist sights. There are many local restaurants that are quite good. The guest rooms are spacious by Japanese standards. The hotel itself appears a little bit tired. It has not been updated in quite a while. Having said that, the rooms are very well maintained and clean - just not modern. The staff is extremely helpful, though only the front desk people spoke English. The Fujita Nara is what I call the "traditional-western-Japanese-hotel". By this I mean that the style of the room and bathrooms are western, however the hotel is clearly intended for domestic customers. So there is barely any English to be found in the hotel and certainly no English television channels. I did not find this a problem since the staff is helpful and I could use the internet (a fairly good, free connection) to reach the outside world. Everything said and done, I was happy with my choice of this hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 17, 2013
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Close to JR, Kintetsu rail lines

Posted Oct 9, 2013 on Hotels.com
Everything was fine, the room was clean, and staff were very friendly and helpful in getting me to a coin laundry nearby. It's close to both JR and Kintetsu rail stations.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 16, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Alex A from Austin, TX

good value for the price

Posted Sep 15, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel is conveniently located. It has free WiFi. Their breakfast buffet is pretty good and very filling.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 9, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Clark from California

Surprisingly good value in a major tourism center

Posted Jul 31, 2013
Pros: Besides the helpful staff at reception and in the gift shop, the Fujita has a real bar at ground level, not just a lounge. In-room Internet is quick.
Cons: Not much more is needed, because the traveler spends most hours sightseeing or dining in Nara, and needs only basic amenities at a reasonable price.
Location: The Fujita is 3 blocks from the JR Nara Station on Sanjo Street, which has cafes, an Italian place, Japanese food and some family restaurants.
Nara was becoming fully booked during the summer holidays, and I had never heard of the Fujita before and therefore had no idea of what to expect . It turned out to be a modest but comfortable city hotel with excellent staff, clean rooms that were not cramped and in a convenient location near the train station. Overall the hotel interior and exterior had a nice look about it, which was a pleasant surprise. After staying a packed minshuku in Kyoto duriing Gion Festival, it was a welcome change to have all the standard amenities. In the mid-range category, Fujita is really good value for the weary traveler. The bar on the ground floor is not just a lounge but a cosy place to relax after walking around all the tourist spots. The restaurant seemed excellent, but the summer heat tended to reduce the appetite. Nara is much cooler in summer than Kyoto, but the aircon was still appreciated after a day's exploration of temples and parks. Sanjo Street has plenty of decent restaurants and cafes, and so saved a few steps going out for meals. Since the buses pass by the JR Nara Central Station, and the bicycle rental shop is also inside the station parking building, it was easy to connect to transport in the morning.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lok from Australia

Good location

Posted Jun 23, 2013
Location: 10 mins to trains
On Main Street of Naru lots of shops nearby and major attractions are around 15 mins walk away. Hotel looks new, clean and rooms are quiet.