Ratings based on 3,657 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lexington, KY

Excellent customer service/room

Posted Jul 22, 2014
The staff was so super helpful and went above and beyond to make our stay for my sisters bachelorette party perfect. They interacted with us when we came through the office and provided us with awesome recommendations. The rooms were a great price and spotless. The pool was a perfect hang out during the day!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: Free shuttle
Cons: Cleanliness
Location: Nice
Bathroom was dirty upon arrival. Toilet was broken and nobody came to fix it.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Older hotel but still nice

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Nice older hotel. Staff was mostly friendly and most were professional. Hotel and room was clean but needs to be updated. Refridgerator is $10 extra and so is internet. Hotel restaurant and room service was terrible! Just go somewhere else to eat!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Owensboro, Ky.

Ok Hotel

Posted Jul 18, 2014
Pros: Nice area
Cons: Update the rooms
Location: Bridgestone arena about a 5 minute drive/taxi
The hotel is located in a nice area and looks good both inside and out. The rooms however are dated and feel dirty probably due to the out of date style.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not up to the rating given by Expedia!!

Posted Jul 12, 2014
Hotel is older and smelly (especially in the main area) and in need of updates (carpets, wallpaper, and furniture) and improvements. There are attempts being made, but hearing loud construction equipment (from the first floor - we were on the third floor) at 8:00 AM was annoying. The hotel rating is not accurate, in my opinion, and I felt misled by Expedia.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Little Rock, AR

Nice hotel close to downtown.

Posted Jul 10, 2014
Pros: I like the location, plenty of free parking, free downtown shuttle which we have used on more than one occasion and overall atmosphere.
We have stayed here many times and never had an issue checking in until this time. I booked on Expedia the night before and when I got there about 9:30 pm, they had no record of my booking and they said they were full. After about 30 minutes at the desk and three calls to different Expedia numbers, I finally got my room. I never did learn what the problem was but from the hotel manager's view, the problem was with Expedia not sending them my reservation. The night manager was very professional and worked until she got the issue resolved and I got my room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wilmington DE

Nice hotel, friendly staff and great bar

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff, bar and its staff were great. Shuttle service was perfect.
Cons: increase shuttle service pick up time to midnight. not necessary but would be nice to have free wifi.
Location: closeby the hotel itself are a couple fast food places and a gas station/ food mart for quick access for food, and downtown is a short drive away.
Great hotel for the avg price per night we paid. Much closer hotels to downtown at much higher rates, but this hotel is a perfect distance. Shuttle is a great way to get downtown and very friendly drivers. depending on traffic its an 8 ish minute ride but when you are drinking downtown it is a great tool. comfortable rooms and quick elevators up floors.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Change the name

Posted Jul 3, 2014
Pros: Staff at the bar were friendly.
Cons: You need to offer complimentary coffee!
Location: Location was fine.
Could not get a good cup of coffee at the Maxwell house hotel. Please change the name or get some coffee.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Waukesha,Wi.

Not so good...............

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Pros: A very friendly waiter in the restaurant who's name I forgot. He was from Egypt and did a great job serving us during our 2 visits to the breakfast.
Cons: Front desk staff being more honest with their talk of when we would be admitted to our room.
Location: We were visiting an old friend who lived nearby.
Arrived at 3: 30 p.m. after driving 700 miles and expected our room to be ready for a chance to put our feet up. Not to happen ! Room was not ready until 5: 30 ! We were told the hotel was booked the day before and the cleaning staff was running behind. I would think; knowing your booking is full, you would have an appropriate amount of staff to operate properly !
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nashville

Expectation level

Posted Jun 30, 2014
I called the hotel before I came to make sure they had a courtesy van. I told the person that we were going to a show at the Ryman theater and asked if the van would be able to drop us at the theater. They said, "Of course. They will drop you at the door." One of the people is on oxygen and that was very important. When we got in the van, he said that had one stop and he couldn't drop us at the door We told him we would be happy to pay and he still said no. By the time we walked to the theater the person was totally out of breath. After the show we paid someone to bring us to the drop off place. We called the hotel and they said the van was on already on the way. We waited for 25 minutes. The heat was causing the person on oxygen distress. We finally called a cab. When we returned to the hotel, I left the person in a chair to catch their breath while I ran upstairs to get another inhaler. The van driver came over to them I was very huffy because we had taken a cab back to the hotel. I will never stay at this hotel again.