Ratings based on 86 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Friendly interesting hotel near Nassau airport

Posted May 14, 2015
Pros: Great staff, proximity to the airport, not having to go out to dinner.
Cons: Towels were pretty rough.
We needed to overnight in Nassau on our way to and from an outer island, so we just needed a reasonable hotel near the airport. A Stone's Throw filled the bill nicely. The staff, especially Colin, couldn't have been more welcoming and attended to our every need. The renovated colonial setting is interesting with a nice large deck overlooking the ocean. Our room was clean, though the towels were a bit sand-papery. The location is in an upscale neighborhood a 5 minute drive from the airport. Like everything else in the Bahamas, A Stone's Throw was more expensive than one would expect for the quality. We enjoyed both the breakfast, with food cooked to order - the cinnamon pancakes were delicious, and dinner which can be reserved ahead. The cheaper places I could find all looked pretty dodgy and were closer to town. We didn't use the grotto style pool surrounded by a nice a garden, but it looked inviting. The beach 1 block down the hill is not particularly inviting. If you're looking for a nice hotel with great, friendly staff near the Nassau airport then A Stone's Throw away is a good choice. We'd stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A Hidden Gem

Posted Apr 5, 2015
A charming 10-room B&B a "stone's throw" from the airport. Their shuttle will take you to the airport but you'll need to hire a taxi to take you there from the airport. Taxi arrival at the arched gate way with several flights of stairs up the hill is a bit daunting, but just ring the bell and a porter will carry your bags up the steps. The Inn's hosts are gracious and welcoming, the ocean views are beautiful, and the breakfast options are delicious. They also serve a nice dinner and have a great lobby bar if you just want to spend a relaxing evening at the Inn. The rooms are cute and comfortably appointed. We stayed here overnight prior to air travel to another Island, and would definitely stay here again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NY, NY

Pleasant

Posted Apr 4, 2015
I would say that Europeans would enjoy this B&B more than the average American would. Colin is super friendly and helpful and the rooms are very clean. Dinner took over 2.5 hrs to cook and there were only 2 tables of 2 to serve. Breakfast is very small portions. Our room, Garden room 2 had wobbly tables and no chairs for sitting. Almost everyone of the pool chairs is broken. 20 min walk (sort of dangerous walk/no sidewalks) to NirvanaBeach.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Really pleasant

Posted Mar 30, 2015
Very nice guest house with great deck and veranda overlooking the ocean. close to the airport with a much less touristy vibe than much of the island. Try the conch salad a couple of minutes away at the outdoor stand across from the beach
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Bogota, Colombia

Great Value...will come back again

Posted Mar 26, 2015
The B&B is really nice and has a very european - colonial vibe to it. The rooms are spacious enough. We had booked a Garden view and got upgraded to a island view room, which was definetely a big improvement. We stayed one night on our way to Eleuthera and another on our way back. The location is convenient depending on what you want: very close to the airport but if you want to go to downtown Nassau it will cost you U$40 each way. You can also take the number 10-12 bus for only a couple of dollars. The staff is very friendly. We enjoyed our stay and would go back anytime. Two more comments: There is a long stairway at the entrance. It is very dramatic and suits the property perfectly, quite beautiful. However it may complicate life for certain guests. Try to book and island view or a sea view.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Boston

It's very close to the airport and some beaches.

Posted Mar 21, 2015
Pros: It's quiet and peaceful.
Location: It's close to some beaches and away from the hustle of Nassau.
It's very quiet and serene. Close to some beaches and the bus routes to Nassau. Beautiful views and breezes. Very convenient to airport for stopover on the way to the outer islands.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom near Seattle

Nice place, second visit

Posted Mar 8, 2015
Pros: Rooms are great and the terrace is a nice breezy place for a drink. The pool is pretty nice too.
Very comfy, luxurious beds, welcome after a long journey to Nassau. Quiet location with just the gentle sound of waves. Good location not far from the airport and bus line. Good restaurant too.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect stop-over in Nassau

Posted Mar 3, 2015
Pros: The charm and character, as well as proximity to the airport.
Cons: Expedia said they offer free transportation to and from the airport. They don't.
We stayed here for one night on our way to Eleuthera. It was the perfect place to spend the night and not have to worry about a long trip back to the airport. The hotel is clean, comfortable, and impeccably furnished, with beautiful ocean views. The staff was very friendly and we enjoyed a nice breakfast in the morning before we left.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by patrick

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 2, 2015 
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom MA

One great night

Posted Feb 22, 2015
It was the perfect place as a stopping point on the way to other islands. It was close to so much. The staff was very helpful.