Ratings based on 49 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston

Perfect getaway

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Pros: Huts were clean, quiet and comfortable, AC and surround sound.
Cons: no included gratuity, but that is an island wide issue
Location: nothing, but the bus is easily accessible for 1.50 per person
We wanted to unplug from our busy lives and get away from the hustle and bustle of every day life. I saw this place here on expedia and decided to take a shot. It is located on the west side of the island away from the resorts such as Sandals, Atlantis as well as downtown Nassau. I was hoping this would make for a relaxing vacation. That was exactly what we got. The accommodations at compass point, while not 5 star are well maintained, comfortable and relaxing. We really enjoyed the serenity our hut provided us. On days when we wanted to see some "action" or get out and have fun, we took the 3 dollar(1.50 per person) bus to down town and went to the Nassau shopping district, or Atlantis or an excursion. This really gave us the best of both worlds. We could go to the casino and waterpark at Atlantis if we wanted, but we could then get away from the "Vegas of the island" atmosphere of the Atlantis. The staff at compass point was friendly and helpful. As with other reviews you may read, service is not exactly speedy or "fantastic" but they were not rude and generally helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Colorful!!!!

Posted Jun 12, 2014
Pros: The room are cute, the food and drinks are great!
Cons: Better security, felt that anyone could walk right in.
Location: Nothing to do unless you go into town.
Wish there was better beach access, the food was good and the bar area is nice. Although they say that this is a place with local flavor, I felt there was a little too much of it. They resort was quiet during the day then filled with locals at night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Val from Houston

great place to visit.

Posted Jun 5, 2014
Pros: Location!!!!! It is fills very private! Amazing view and the beach! Sometimes it was just my family on the beach, rare gem!
Cons: Restaurant - food is not ok for such a hotel. The restaurant is helped by the perfect location. If it were other places to eat I would do so!
Location: snorkling, diving
Amazing view and the beach! Sometimes it was just my family on the beach, rare gem! Location, beach. It is fills very private! Nurse shark, turtle, eel, fish, conch just from snorkeling. Liked everything, but the food! Restaurant - food is not ok for such a hotel. The restaurant is helped by the perfect location. If it were other place to eat I would do so! The ribs are horrific. I do not think they change cooking oil quite enough!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great Getaway!

Posted Apr 29, 2014
It was so peaceful! Even on the busiest beach day, there were only 3 other couples laying out. The pool was much the same way. This equaled an extremely relaxing vacation. The restaurant and bar are separate enough that we had a nice dinner w/ a bottle of wine one night and were drinking away and cheering on the Bruins the next. Good news for sports fans, they get all the channels and have plenty of big screen tv's. Staff was friendly and welcoming. There was a $30 breakfast credit each morning we could use to order anything off of the menu. This was a huge plus for us as it is served till 11am and we were unaware of the credit prior to our arrival. We took the bus to town(1.25 per person) which was easy enough, but the shops were geared heavily towards tourists while we wanted to get more into the local scene. I highly recommend getting lunch or dinner at the Fish Fry. It's located a mile or two before downtown and is filled with seafood restaurants/bars that are packed with locals. Well worth the bus ride. We actually walked up from downtown Nassau and then caught a cab back to Compass Point because the buses had stopped running(about sunset). You do see/hear planes coming & going from the airport, but we were more intrigued than annoyed. I recommend jumping off of the pier at high tide. It's only about 6.5 feet deep so be careful, but the kid in me couldn't get enough. We will be back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bethany from Wilmington, NC

Private, beautiful resort!

Posted Feb 28, 2014
Pros: The views, the privacy, staff was very accomodating.
Cons: Our bathroom could have used some updating, but the room was really nice overall. Pool is small, but adequate.
Location: Location is very "out of the way" - need a car/taxi/bus to get to anything really. Beach was great near the hotel. Children would get bored.
The hotel was great - it was so cute, everything looked well maintained. We went with the sea hut and it was a really nice room. Overall, the hotel seemed expensive, but was on par with the prices in the Bahamas ($$$). The restaurant was good and reasonably priced, which is good, because there aren't really any other options closeby. Taking the bus was easy from the hotel, but it only runs until ~6PM, so hard to get out for dinner unless you take a taxi. I think I would recommend renting a car to get yourself around.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with a personal touch

Posted Feb 23, 2014
Pros: Quaint. Individual cottages right on the water. Great view from the front porch.
Location: close to cable beach. On the bus line so easy access to Nassau and other resorts.
Loved being away from the hustle and bustle of Nassau, but easy enough to get there. Beautiful beach. Nice restaurant and bar. Really close to the airport.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Antonio from Raleigh,NC

Best relaxing getaway ever

Posted Feb 17, 2014
My wife and I needed a quick getaway ....and man did we find it! I know Compass Point wont be for everyone....Its a small resort , away from all the glitz and glamour...just the way we like it. Food is great , staff as well. Bahamian's are wonderful , friendly people! Going back next year!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from maine

Will be back!

Posted Feb 16, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Beds in standard huts are too high and uncomfortable along with the pillows.
Location: We were only there a few days but did take a bus to buy some supplies. Beautiful area.
We loved everything about the Compass Point-- especially the staff - all very nice and accommodating. The only thing we will do different next time is upgrade to a hut with a king size bed as ours was too small and uncomfortable, but we could have asked to change and didn't as we were only there a few nights.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tim from Edinburgh

Worthy of a short break (only) Beach front locatio

Posted Jan 27, 2014
Pros: Sea front location. sound of the waves at night. sandy beaches. barry the barracuda below the pier,….. sunshine, uniqueness
Cons: needs spruce up paint wise to put the gloss back on it, looking slightly tired. better music all day long…… wider choice of food on menus
Location: Location is rural…. but easily connect to Nassau by bus a local experience Try Travellers Rest Restaurant for choice and change of menu Beach, sea
We booked in for two weeks and this was far too long… The location is magical and the hotel offering is good but what you see in the web-site/ brochure is all there is its very small. Perfect for a 3/4 night relax, unwind, stop-over but any longer consider booking somewhere else as well. Try Atlantis for a real contrast. The food is OK but the menu is poor and after 4 days you have the same choices…… its not extensive in choice. The constant blare of pop music and the same cd on repeat was annoying, I'm sure they had at least 2 CDs but after a while we knew what the next track was… Really in a location like this do you need the constant drone of bad pop music. The location is unbeatable with magic views. The rooms are glamorous beach-huts. But with sea views and the sound of the waves is unforgettable. New style glamping, ideal with a small kitchen facilities. Well maintained but some minor maintenance issues but not enough to distract from the location and views. Most staff where helpful but some are just gruff and rude. Watch the service charges as a 15% service charge for your convenience is added to every bill, they mount and sometimes you felt you were doing them a favour being served! Would we go back… ?? yes, but for a maximum of 4 days any longer and it just becomes disappointing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing secluded hotel

Posted Jan 7, 2014
Pros: The location was nice, staff was GREAT
Cons: Nothing
Location: This place was located near the airport and out of the busy tourist section of downtown but close enough. Lovely private beach
Absolutely amazing place to stay. We were in the Bahamas for a weeks vacation and this place was away from all the downtown tourism but close enough to enjoy if we wanted. This is by far one of the best experiences I have had with a hotel. Hotel staff was friendly and absolutely wonderful.