Ratings based on 59 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Accomodations convenient.

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Service subpar. Most front desk and waiters act like they are doing you a favor to do their jobs. If it weren't for the tip that was automatically included in the bill they wouldn't get any, with a very occasional exception. Facilities convenient but NO attention to detail. I would not stay here again. I think with rare exception the whole island is the same. It's a 3rd world country, people included, in a wonderful location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice place; quiet

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Pros: Staff
Cons: Furniture and infrastructure could use some TLC.
Location: Not much in the area; it's about a 40-minute ride to the center of town.
I've been to the Bahamas 6 or 7 times and was surprised at the excellent level of service that I found at this hotel. In the past, I'd been dramatically underwhelmed by the service level. At Compass Point, they exceeded my expectations in this area. The place could use some updating with respect to plumbing and A/C, but it was all in all, better than anticipated. The food at the restaurant was good and priced in line with what you are going to get in the area. All their food is imported, so it's going to be double what you'd pay in America.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Beautiful Small Resort with Beach and pool

Posted Jul 30, 2014
We stayed 4 nights after 4 nights at the Atlantis- and we loved the Compass Point Resort- small, picturesque -- but still has-a restaurant, bar, spa, in addition to an amazingly beautiful view and beach. Each morning we were picked up for diving and each evening we caught a car out for drinks and dinner. Great staff, beautiful place. The only caution- stay in a unit that fronts the beach- some units are adjacent to the road. We had our final swim yesterday before flying home. Walking distance along the water to Love Beach!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

quiet

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Pros: away from busy areas.
Cons: up keep of resort
Location: there is nothing near by thats why I chose it.
it was what I expected, not more, not less.Close to the airport, quiet beach and pool, one bar, one restaurant.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dallas, Texas

Fabulous boutique hotel.

Posted Jul 17, 2014
Pros: The location is the best aspect. The ready access to the beach together with the peace and tranquility made it perfect.
Cons: Nothing could have improved our stay.
Location: The location is away from everything.
This boutique hotel is located away from busy Paradise Island and Nassau. For our purposes, it was perfect. We went for rest and relaxation (eat, sleep, read, lay on beach, play in the water). While the resort is one house down from the beach (a private beach, no less), we had no trouble accessing the beach and usually had the beach to ourselves. The water was perfect as well. The wifi was helpful in keeping in touch with home. The room was perfect. We slept as well as we do at home. We read on the porch and watched the waves. We had one minor maintenance issue and it was addressed promptly. We briefly took the bus into Nassau ($1.50 per person each way) to shop and had no problems going or coming back to the resort. The restaurant food as very good but it took awhile for us to adjust to the island mentality (slower service than we are used to in the US). The meals are a little pricy compared to US prices. The restaurant is filled with locals and regulars. This resort works well for couples looking for a quiet getaway. We are already planning our return trip.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston

Perfect getaway

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Pros: Huts were clean, quiet and comfortable, AC and surround sound.
Cons: no included gratuity, but that is an island wide issue
Location: nothing, but the bus is easily accessible for 1.50 per person
We wanted to unplug from our busy lives and get away from the hustle and bustle of every day life. I saw this place here on expedia and decided to take a shot. It is located on the west side of the island away from the resorts such as Sandals, Atlantis as well as downtown Nassau. I was hoping this would make for a relaxing vacation. That was exactly what we got. The accommodations at compass point, while not 5 star are well maintained, comfortable and relaxing. We really enjoyed the serenity our hut provided us. On days when we wanted to see some "action" or get out and have fun, we took the 3 dollar(1.50 per person) bus to down town and went to the Nassau shopping district, or Atlantis or an excursion. This really gave us the best of both worlds. We could go to the casino and waterpark at Atlantis if we wanted, but we could then get away from the "Vegas of the island" atmosphere of the Atlantis. The staff at compass point was friendly and helpful. As with other reviews you may read, service is not exactly speedy or "fantastic" but they were not rude and generally helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Colorful!!!!

Posted Jun 12, 2014
Pros: The room are cute, the food and drinks are great!
Cons: Better security, felt that anyone could walk right in.
Location: Nothing to do unless you go into town.
Wish there was better beach access, the food was good and the bar area is nice. Although they say that this is a place with local flavor, I felt there was a little too much of it. They resort was quiet during the day then filled with locals at night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Val from Houston

great place to visit.

Posted Jun 5, 2014
Pros: Location!!!!! It is fills very private! Amazing view and the beach! Sometimes it was just my family on the beach, rare gem!
Cons: Restaurant - food is not ok for such a hotel. The restaurant is helped by the perfect location. If it were other places to eat I would do so!
Location: snorkling, diving
Amazing view and the beach! Sometimes it was just my family on the beach, rare gem! Location, beach. It is fills very private! Nurse shark, turtle, eel, fish, conch just from snorkeling. Liked everything, but the food! Restaurant - food is not ok for such a hotel. The restaurant is helped by the perfect location. If it were other place to eat I would do so! The ribs are horrific. I do not think they change cooking oil quite enough!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great place!

Posted May 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
Wonderful place for a quiet relaxing time. Go for the upgrade to the sea view huts, worth it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great Getaway!

Posted Apr 29, 2014
It was so peaceful! Even on the busiest beach day, there were only 3 other couples laying out. The pool was much the same way. This equaled an extremely relaxing vacation. The restaurant and bar are separate enough that we had a nice dinner w/ a bottle of wine one night and were drinking away and cheering on the Bruins the next. Good news for sports fans, they get all the channels and have plenty of big screen tv's. Staff was friendly and welcoming. There was a $30 breakfast credit each morning we could use to order anything off of the menu. This was a huge plus for us as it is served till 11am and we were unaware of the credit prior to our arrival. We took the bus to town(1.25 per person) which was easy enough, but the shops were geared heavily towards tourists while we wanted to get more into the local scene. I highly recommend getting lunch or dinner at the Fish Fry. It's located a mile or two before downtown and is filled with seafood restaurants/bars that are packed with locals. Well worth the bus ride. We actually walked up from downtown Nassau and then caught a cab back to Compass Point because the buses had stopped running(about sunset). You do see/hear planes coming & going from the airport, but we were more intrigued than annoyed. I recommend jumping off of the pier at high tide. It's only about 6.5 feet deep so be careful, but the kid in me couldn't get enough. We will be back!