Ratings based on 51 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted May 6, 2015
Pros: Restaurant was excellent, very expensive but excellent
Cons: Bed very uncomfortable
Very nice grounds, could use a little attention in areas
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Whitehorse

Almost a great hotel...

Posted Feb 26, 2015
Pros: The grounds and the pool area were very beautiful. Lovely outside eating areas that appeared closed, chairs up against tables.
Cons: The rooms need updating. The Pool Suite I could see was renovated and lovely, follow that line! Lower your prices in the meantime.
Location: The hotel is in downtown Nassau - the most interesting things were right at the hotel - the chocolate factory and cigar shop. I would skip Nassau.
Our initial impression was not great, all the furniture in the lobby was piled up... it looked like hotel was closed for renovation... I wanted to love this hotel - I love old character buildings and this one did have lots of great charm in many areas. The grounds were lovely and well kept, but the buildings are in need of renovation in some parts, particularly the room that we stayed in (Windsor). In hindsight I should have asked to see another room, but we were only staying one night.... the room was a bit musty, the only window to the outside was in the bathroom, and it didn't open. The room was large and the bed was comfortable, but it was decorated not in the style of - but actually decorated in - the last century. At the price, I was surprised at the room - it was much more shabby that chic. It was also unfortunate that almost no one else was staying at the hotel while we were there, which made for a continued ambiance of 'closed'. The restaurant however was definitely open, but I'm afraid we didn't have a very positive experience there either. There are three restaurants on the property, we thought we would go down to the lobby for a drink before going to the smaller more casual pizzeria. Well, we were quite quickly and rudely asked to leave since we were not eating at the fancy restaurant which is adjacent to the lobby - so much for feeling welcome. The pizza was good, low marks for ambience compared to the rest of the hotel. Breakfast was fine.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto

Disappointing downtown hotel

Posted Feb 19, 2015
Pros: The staff - they really went above and beyond.
Cons: Hire another housekeeper (there are only 20 rooms, so one more would probably be enough) and offer "proper" turn down service. Offer 1 wi-fi code
Location: The spa was closed - supposedly for renovations, so they suggested we use the Hollistic Spa around the corner. It wasn't too bad
Our stay at Graycliff was quite disappointing. The hotel staff were terrific, but the rooms were very tired. The television was so far away from the bed that we couldn't even see it. The shower was very small. The housekeepers, although they kept the room clean, were stingy on replenishing soap, shampoo, toilet paper, and Kleenex tissues. We had to call twice to ask to replenish the bottled water. We found our at checkout that only the first bottle of water was complimentary, and we had to pay for subsequent bottles of water. At 6:00 PM on the first night, the housekeeper arrived and asked if we wanted turn down service. We responded that yes, we did, but at 7:30 PM, because we were just about to shower and change for dinner. She responded that she quit work at 6:30. What that means is that they really don't offer turn down service. The other complaint we had was that although there was supposed to be free wi-fi, we had to enter a different code every day, and when we ran out of codes, we had to go to the office and request new codes. How ridiculous is that?? Because our room faced the road (even though the hotel wasn't full - I don't know why they gave us that room), we had too much street noise and noise from staff members who spoke too loudly too early in the morning.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom London

Pricey as you'd expect, but a real experience

Posted Feb 17, 2015
A beautiful historic building close to museums and galleries, and a fantastic experience - like stepping into the pages of "The Great Gatsby". VERY different to the standard Hilton or Hyatt experience; this is like being a guest in someone's home. (If, of course, the home belonged to someone you owed a great deal of money to.) That's the only sore point - like so many places in paradise, value for money is nonexistent. This is the Bahamas, and it's stupidly expensive; you have to accept it. The Graycliff's wine cellar (we saw it) is brilliant, with £40K bottles just lying on shelves, but the markups in the restaurant are enormous for standard wines. The restaurant (we had the seafood) serves excellent food, but $300 for two courses with one bottle of wine takes the edge off. And 18% service added to the bill as standard didn't sit well. So - go to the Graycliff, enjoy its old-world charm, but top up your bank account first - you'll need it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Massachusetts

Classic old Bahamas mansion

Posted Jan 19, 2015
Pros: See above
Cons: Some of the maintenance of the landscape and some of the public spaces need a touch up
Location: Centrally located so all of Nassau is at your doorstep. The hotel is not on the beach but it has one of the loveliest pools we have ever seen
The hotel is charming and the staff is exceedingly helpful and friendly. it feels like visiting the home of a very wealthy friend. And the restaurant is excellent in every war: cadre, food, service
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Owensboro,KY

close enough to town to walk safely ,though you ma

Posted Dec 7, 2014
Pros: The food,the ambiance, the staff, the grounds, which are beautiful, and the pools,the wine cellar, the proximity to downtown shopping,the piano lounge
Cons: I would not do anything different,we like everything about it.It feels like home and the staff remember you and go out of their way to make you happy
Location: Centrally located close to downtown where there is all the shopping you would ever need from high end to the straw market,along with other things too
We have been here many times over the years and it is a great place to stay-close to shopping but has everything there if you want to relax.The restaurant has no equal in the Bahamas,and the staff many of whom have been there 25-45 years treat you like family.Just a great hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by robertfrom jupiter island

Gracious stay

Posted Nov 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
Lovely hotel, grounds and amenities. Entree's were expensive, nevertheless the ambiance was well worth it.Gr
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Mr Bondfrom East Anglia

A stay to remember

Posted Oct 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
We arrived in a battered taxi from the airport which was pricey - $29.The entrance to the Graycliff is through an old wall. You climb some steep steps to reception - not easy with roll on luggage. But once inside - what a blast from the past! You can feel yourself in a colonial era, dark wood, large pot plants, fans, large Edwardian sofas, dark coloured walls and mirrors, a piano player in the evening. Our room was fantastic - the largest hotel room I've ever stayed in - replete with its own chaise long, bath with curtains! - four poster bed and shuttered windows. A large double bed, turned down early evening was v comfortable while rather noisy air conditioning kept us cool. An outside balcony was being reconstructed so sadly it felt a little unfinished but downstairs led into a lush garden that would have benefitted from some TLC but had all the atmosphere of a place that surely must have been 'the place to be'. In the evening, guests who come for expensive fine dining at the hotel - we didn't try this - can watch cigars being hand rolled in the lobby, again sparking a feeling of the distant and exotic. The cigar factory is at the bottom of the property and you can go on a tour. A real experience, not one manufactured for cruise ship tourists. Staff are smiley and friendly. It's expensive for what it is - no breakfast included in the room price , but you won't forget staying here - isn't that what holidays are all about?
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Helle Schou Schrøderfrom Frederiksberg

Historisk hotel

Posted Sep 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hotellet emmer af historie. Det ligger i oppe ad en lille bakke i centrum. Værelserne er trods indretning m "plys og papegøjer" meget rene. Meget disponible og søde ansatte. Poolen fantastisk smuk og ren. Fitness rummet i elendig og meget snavset stand. Morgenmaden elendig og for dyr (indtag den ude i byen - gode diners). Middagen på hotelrestauranten var middelmådig og prismæssigt ude af proportioner. Sjovt at rulle sine egne cigarer på den tilhørende cigarfabrik.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Stephfrom Grand Turk

Restaurant exceptional

Posted Sep 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
But disappointed there were no coffee/tea making facilities in the room. Hotel old and a little shabby/chic in places, eccentric, but amazing too. Great gardens and pool. Service excellent. Go for dinner if you are staying at the bland Hilton down the road.