Ratings based on 33 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Character, Charm, and Friendly Staff

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Pros: Staff are friendly and personable and went out of their way to make our stay truly enjoyable. The gardens and pools are spectacular.
Cons: Small things need fixing up, such as the light fixture in the bath, the shower head was broken, and carpets warn. But it is charming.
Location: Across the street is Government House, the equivalent of our White House. Restaurants, shopping, and historical interests within a few blocks.
Wonderful stay at a slightly warn around the edges but very historical and charming hotel in a central location of Nassau. Staff are truly memorable and quiet envirnoment in the midst of the city made for an oasis from the tourists. Beautiful pool!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from WV

Unique

Posted May 13, 2014
We had a lovely experience at The Graycliff. When we arrived I was a little worried, because the exterior looks pretty bad from the street. However, once we walked around the house and the grounds it was like finding a hidden gem. Our room was clean and charming. Do not stay in The Corona room if you want a good nights sleep! It was very loud until the resturant closed down, like thumping music loud until late at night. This was my only complaint. If you are looking to party it's a good choice, but I was not. The food was incredible in the main dining room, but be prepared to pay $60 an entree with no sides included. We did not try the other options, because we wanted to explore the area. The tour of the wine cellar, watching the cigar rolling, and the chocolate factory are a must do! These are what make The Graycliff shine! Try the chocolate shots! We ate our shot glass, which was made of chocolate of course. The staff was very friendly and helpful. This was an experience we will won't forget and I'm glad we did something different from same old cookie cutter resorts! We walked to the art gallery and rum distillery. We greatly enjoyed both and it was only a 5 minute walk.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great room, beautiful gardens-Disappointing Dining

Posted Mar 23, 2014
Pros: The Graycliff has the old-inn feel (since it is.). Hotel staff are delightful and ready to help.
Cons: Food and service very good. Error on bill took 3 tries to correct. Manager complained to me about staff. Waiter brought other manager to apologize.
Location: Graycliff s in downtown Nassau. Watch them roll cigars (excellent), sample Graycliff chocolates (wow!). Visit Blanc du Nils clothing store on Bay St.
We stayed in the Woods Rogers room, facing the harbor. Lovely, old school, spacious room. Modern bathroom. We opened the windows and had a lovely breeze. The pools and gardens are relaxing and very pleasant. This is the first time we stayed there, although I've purchased cigars (and now chocolate) for many years. Sitting by either pool is wonderful.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Interesting Place

Posted Feb 15, 2014
Pros: Room size
This is an historic property - the suite was vey large, but the age of the property presents challenges. The hot water system went out for over 12 hours when we were there, with no comment from management until we called. The front desk staff are very friendly, but if you are looking for a concierge to provide recommendations or book dinner reservations, you will be disappointed. The restaurant is VERY expensive, but the service was spotty - larger tables or those who order bottles of wine seem to get better service than couples.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by jc from NY

my stay at Graycliff

Posted Jan 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
Quality to price ratio is extremely low. It seems the hotel solely relies on its past reputation
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by JLD from Belgium

pretending luxury

Posted Jan 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
A mom & pop operation that relies on a beautiful setting (both main house and gardens). Service is nice but very slow (front office staff not welcoming), food is OK, everything is pricey. Hence, not good value.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Claire from Sydney

Lovely old hotel which needs some maintenance

Posted Dec 30, 2013
This is a really lovely, old world hotel with lots and lots of character. Our room which was upstairs at the front of the hotel was right next to a lovely large verandah, and the room was very very large. The garden and pool at the back of the hotel are just glorious and probably the most beautiful I 've ever seen.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Taylor from Owensboro,KY

just like going home...great service,great OVERALL

Posted Dec 10, 2013
Pros: great food,service,ambiance,surroundings
Cons: don't change anything
Location: walking distance to all shopping or can just stay there and relax by the pool
WE LOVE STAYING HERE ,THE SERVICE IS IMPECCABLE
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Ben from Washington DC

Great staff, but the decor is too heavy

Posted Jul 8, 2013 on Hotels.com
Like the title says, the staff at the Greycliff were extremely friendly and helpful. The room was nice and spacious, but the design of the hotel uses a lot of heavy fabrics and dark wood. Admittedly this style choice is thanks to the building's rich history, but the end effect is that the interior felt cluttered and musty. Not what we were going for in the "light and breezy" Bahamas. The grounds are well kept, but unfortunately the cigar store closed before I could check it out. The restaurant (touted as one the only 5-Star restaurant in Nassau) was also a disappointment. As an example, the Lobster Bisque was apparently thickened using a roux (flour and butter), rather than cream. This left small clumps of flour in the soup itself, which were unpleasant to come across--not a big deal, but at a 5-Star restaurant, I was hoping for better.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

ok, but not what we were expecting

Posted Jun 19, 2013 on Hotels.com
We were frustrated becuase we paid a lot for a one night stay because the add on hotels.com featured an airport shuttle (and we didn't want to worrry about transportation back and forth). There was no shuttle even though we confirmed that with the hotel before coming. We were just looking for a low key place to relax for one day before heading home and found that false adversting (and no follow up explaination frustration). Its a cool old hotel on beautiful grounds - so it probably just wasn't a good fit for what we needed this trip.