Ratings based on 569 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami, FL

Nice hotel with great beach!

Posted Jun 29, 2015
Pros: We liked the pool with the rocks and waterfall. We loved that it was very clean and the staff was extremely nice and professional. The food was great.
Cons: It needs more entertainment, to have music by the pool at all times. And food at Aqua was not that great for our liking. But we loved Cilantro.
Location: We really didn't explore outside of the hotel since we traveled with a 5 month old baby.
I was a little skeptical about the Melia Nassau since I had read mixed reviews on Expedia and Trip Advisor. I almost wanted to cancel our trip. But I'm glad we didn't. The hotel lobby was very nice and has lots of amenities, the pool with the bar needs a little tile renovation but it was overall clean at all times. The staff at the lobby and the restaurants were always professional and happy. Our room was very clean and comfortable. The food at the Market Place was to our liking and there were a lot of good options. We've stayed at so many all inclusive hotels in Mexico and Jamaica and we liked the fact that this was the only hotel we didn't feel harassed into buying time shares or some type of membership package. Also making reservations for the restaurants was easy, just called the operator from our room for dinner reservations while other hotels require you to request it in person at 8am and usually have long lines. Pros: Cleanliness, service, staff, drinks were decent, free water activities, restaurants, Starbucks, beach, coffee maker in the room, Cilantro was great. Cons: The only thing that we feel it mostly lacked was the entertainment. It needs to have music at all times and more engaging activities. That's one of the things we miss about Mexico. And another thing was there wasn't enough beach umbrellas at the beach so we had to stay by the pool under the shade since we traveled with our 5 month old baby. Overall we enjoyed our stay very much!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fletcher, NC

Hotel on the beach with great music and many pools

Posted Jun 29, 2015
Pros: Location right on the beach. Friendly staff. Fun activities on beach and around pool.
Cons: New mattresses. Repainting and improvements were in progress during our stay but didn't interfere. Feral cats with breakfast. More shade at beach/pool
Location: Great day at Atlantis Aquaventure, Snorkeling out in front of hotel and with Stuart Cove's, Paddle boards on site were fun
Check in was fast. Stop by guest services for restaurant hours and activities schedule. Dinner reservations go fast so book day or 2 in advance. Asian was our favorite. Mattress were worn, but room was clean. Ocean view is worth the extra bucks. All inclusive with non motorized water sports is a plus. Enjoyed the food at the buffet except the fish was dry. Everything else fresh! Weather was great, beach is awesome. Get to beach early if want shade. Limited umbrellas.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Extended weekend Getaway

Posted Jun 29, 2015
Pros: First, and foremost, The BEACH. Beautiful!!! Sand was raked each morning, and chairs orderly.
Cons: With the exception of Rachel at the Excursion desk, and James and others who worked the LEVEL desk, others appeared to be nonchalant.
Location: Great location. Was advised Melia will be part of Baha Mar, if it ever opens. Besides a few trinket shops across the street, you need to go downtown
Not sure if June is considered off season in Nassau, but we had no trouble checking in, or finding chairs on the beach. Although this is a very large hotel, it never felt crowded.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Beautiful grounds and beach

Posted Jun 28, 2015
Pros: Grounds, beach
Cons: Service. Nightlife.
Location: We only left the hotel for a wedding one day and dinner one night, but it's only a $15-$20 cab ride into town.
It was a nice, relaxing stay at Melia. The pools are beautiful and well-maintained and there is a healthy stretch of private beach with plenty of chairs. We got the all-inclusive package and ate at the buffet and three of the restaurants. The food was average for an all-inclusive resort and did have room for improvement. There was entertainment on a couple of nights, but could stand to have more nightly activities. Our only complaint was the service. The woman who checked us in was great, as were the ladies at the concierge desk. Otherwise, most of the employees seemed very unhappy and the service was a bit brusque. This could be cultural, of course, but was a bit off-putting.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bridgeport, CT

Nice Hotel stay for vacation.

Posted Jun 27, 2015
The Melia was a good pick for our first family vacation at the Bahamas. Although the rooms are a little dated, the staff is friendly, courteous, and always helpful. The food was great, facility was always clean, two night out of our five stay the hotel had night entertainment. Overall our family has no complaint.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great experience ever!

Posted Jun 24, 2015
The hotel and wonderful staff made my first time travel to the bahamas the best time ever spent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Nice hotel with a beautiful beacg

Posted Jun 24, 2015
This was an amazing experience for my first all inclusive stay. The staff was great! The rooms were clean and as long as you left your reminder card out for the cleaning staff they turned your bed over. The food was good, but to ensure you have dinner you MUST make a reservation. One down fall is that you aren't given a map or an activities sheet about what is going on at the resort. It was fine by me because I was there for relaxation but those who were there to "do things" really had to look. All in all I would definitely go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Valencia, Venezuela

Hotel muy bien situado, muy cerca de la playas..

Posted Jun 22, 2015
Pros: La excelente atencion de todo su personal y la playa.
Cons: La pintura externa del edificio..
Location: El downtown queda muy cerca.
Excelente para pasar vacaciones, ya que tienes todo en un solo lugar, buena atencion por parte del personal, excelente gastronomia y una playa bellisima al frente del hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice size resort in beautiful beach!

Posted Jun 22, 2015
Traveled second week of June to celebrate my daughters graduation. Check in took 15 min. Check out 5 min. Food and drinks were plentiful. Did have difficulty making dinner reservations. Make these well in advance if possible, they fill up fast. We experienced no long waits for drinks as has been reported by other reviewers. Staff for the most part were cheerful and eager to assist. No issues with air conditioning or wifi, both worked great entire stay. Room was cleaned each day by noon. Beach is absolutely beautiful! Would certainly stay here again in the future.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Terrible staff they have no customer service.

Posted Jun 21, 2015
Pros: The hotel is clean and the amenities are very good. The beach is great and the sea is also great.
Cons: The hotel staff need training to be polite and not to be rude. Also the food is not very good in the restaurants but the buffet is good.
Location: The Hotel is well placed not far from the airport and you can get most places in a taxi fast.
Staff at the hotel were very rude in the restaurants and bars. The cleaning staff and concierge staff were very good. We stayed for three nights and were glad to leave as the staff were terrible.