Ratings based on 508 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom California

Good internet was the highlight

Posted May 12, 2015
I thought this hotel was good if all you're looking for is relaxation. It's right on beautiful Cable beach. The pool is decent size and the drinks are plentiful and the food is good. Also the Internet was amazingly fast. Although the last couple of days it went out in our room and we could only access the Internet from the common areas. We were a little disappointed in the entertainment. It was mild and sparse. So like I said if you're looking for relaxation without a lot of excitement and entertainment this hotel is for you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom miami

Relax

Posted May 11, 2015
Very relaxing. Amazing beach and pools. Mexican and Asian restaurant very good food and service. The only con is the staff should be a bit more friendly and helpful.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom long island east end

My family vacation

Posted May 5, 2015
Our stay at the Melia was very nice and relaxing.The hotel decor was modern and well designed,exactly my style with the white gray and teal blue theme.The grounds were clean with tropical landscape.Staff was very pleasant, except for staff at the breakfast buffet!VERY RUDE!We chose to eat at the level the next few days for that reason!All staff there were excellent and very hospitable.Also the activities(kayaks snorkel gear ect. should remain open later then 4.not good!! hotel is in need of outside staff especially when guests pay extra for the level.Had to wait 45 mins for a salmon salad.(Salmon takes 5 mins to cook) but only 2 waiters were working the entire ground.Which made us late for the paddle board rental,and there was little to no understanding there from rental booth!!! Nice resort but will suffer a lot once the new Baha Mar opens next door, very soon!!! We definitely will be staying there on our next trip to the beautiful Bahamas
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice but not great, considering the price.

Posted May 5, 2015
Pros: Clean and comfortable.
Cons: The front desk staff attitude, and the food.
Location: There wasn't a lot to do outside of the hotel in the town but admittedly, I only walked 20-25 mins in either direction.
Overall is was OK and nice but for the price it really wasn't memorable. I stood in line for 30 mins to check in and was told that my room wasn't ready, admittedly it was 20 mins before the 3pm check in time. So, I ate and returned 45 mins later to check in and had to stand in line again for 40 mins, just to check in. The room was nice, clean, and good view. The food was OK but for the price, really should have been great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto

Great All-Inclusive / First timers

Posted May 3, 2015
We had an amazing time at the Melia Resort. Our first time in the Bahamas was a success! The only complaint would be the food and time management at the Nikkei restaurant. The food looks nice, good effort on presentation, however, the food quality was not to par in comparison to a real Asian fusion eatery. Sashimi grade fish does not entail the tail of the fish. This was our first night experience, staff was gracious, however the food took 2 hours to get to us...and we didn't even get the entire order for that matter. Thank goodness for Esta Vita.. other than that, our stay was wonderful. We will most definitely be back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto, Canada

Beautiful and exclusive beach, great hotel

Posted Apr 30, 2015
Staff are incredibly polite and happy (honestly all Bahamians seem to be like that). The beach is open, accessible and safe. 3 pools (only 1 is attached to the bar and they were slow to service u when u were ordering whole still in the water but were quicker if u actually just hopped out of water and walked to bar). Clean rooms. One negative: room service comes at strange hours of day. They came at 9am one day (on vacation therefore still sleeping) and one day came at 930pm which was bizarre. When they came at 9am that one day, we sent them away cause we were still asleep and then they didn't come back until the next day so one day, we didn't actually get water replenished/beds made etc. One more negative. Buffet is small and not many options for food (especially lunch) so ur better off making a reservation at one of the restaurants at the resort or eating the paninis and burgers by the pool. Other than that, beautiful. Clean. Definitely deserving of more than 3.4 stars which is what I see right now. I'd say 4.5-5 star resort. I will definitely be going back!
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom New York

Not serious staff

Posted Apr 29, 2015
Pros: The beach
Cons: There's definitely room to improve in several areas. Just read my general experience above...
Location: Nassau downtown and Paradise Island are worth a visit.
I initially made a positive review, after a first good impression upon check in. Then, disappointments started: 1. In order to get to our room, we literally had to go around the whole floor which was at the opposite extremity of the elevator 2. Our room only had one chair inside and one chaise long in the patio. Even if we were a couple, we could not have a breakfast both seated, or take a sun bath outside together 3. Everyone was kind at the hotel, but the service was extremely slow everywhere. We would wait for ages to get the attention of a servant and once we even waited 55min to get a salad and a stake in one of the restaurants 4. We ordered breakfast in the room and we were requested to sign a receipt with a charge; I opposed as we were in "all inclusive" regime and the servant told me that in that case nothing would be charged to me, only the tip. She said I could trust her and she would give me her name if I wanted. I trusted her and didn't ask for her name. At check out, guess what? The "room service" was charged as per the general terms & conditions I signed at check in (one of those papers with 2 pages written in font 8 nobody reads); I explained them the full episode, but they were rigid and stuck to the legal paper. In the end, it's not about the money, but rather the principle. Not only one cannot rely on the word of a hotel servant, the hotel does not take responsibility for that whatsoever. It's like "it's your problem if you believe what our employees say".
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom maryland

Glad I went to the Melia

Posted Apr 27, 2015
Pros: I like the property very much and will be back.
Cons: The main pool needs some maintenance work. Evening need some entertainment there isn't anything to do.
We have stayed at this property 3 times. Twice when it was the Radisson and our stay this past week as the Melia . We knew that it needed some up dating, it has a lot of positive still at this property. Our room was very clean and a good size and the bathroom was very clean. All the employee were very kind and the food was good as well. The Market Place was the best with the most choices. The other 2 restaurants we went too we had nice meals at them as well. Beach was very clean but the pools need a lot of attention. They need to be cleaned more often on the inside as well as the cosmetic appearance. That is the only real negative, I was made aware the Melia is trying to do the updates. It was a very quiet vacation. The only other is no evening entertainment.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Victoria,Tx

Great time and resort!!

Posted Apr 24, 2015
Me and my wife were on our 11 anniversary. I read a lot of reviews before picking this resort and was kind of nervous going with the melia. After staying there for 5 days all the bad reviews went out the window. The staff was great and polite. The beach and pools were great. The food was ok but was made up for the nice and friendly workers. I never had to wait on drinks or food. The rooms with the pool view was great. Wish they would have both elevators working but that's just one of my complaints. Needed to walk of some the food and drinks anyway. ha. I really recommend the buzz cruise and checking out the fish fry. that was the highlight of the whole trip. I would recomend the melia to any traveler going to the Bahamas. Best time ever!! The only bad time was leaving.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 23, 2015
Beach and pool were great. Water was calm. The room and Everything was clean and food was very good especially the Asian restaurant.