Ratings based on 428 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Minneapolis, MN

Lots of options.

Posted Mar 9, 2015
Pros: I liked how much access you have to the beach and the amount of choices. It is also a pretty good location and easy to get to anywhere else.
Cons: More options for lunch would be nice. Ability to get reservations or dinner was difficult even though the restaurants were not full.
Location: Downtown is great, try to eat at Laiki Kari. It is AMAZING. Queen's Staircase is really neat, and definitely must see. Daquiri Shack!!
Easy to get on the beach and hang out. We got there before check in and they were able to hold our luggage while we hung out on the beach and got some lunch. We stayed for 4 days and most people were extremely helpful.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Fort Myers, FL

an "all-inclusive package" of great and awful

Posted Mar 7, 2015
Pros: The good quality of the food in the Italian and Mexican restaurants was truly memorable, and very far above our expectations.
Cons: There needs to be much more attention to the details that distinguish a truly outstanding hotel from a mediocre one.
Location: The immediate location is becoming spoiled by a jungle of high-rise hotels nearby. Just keep looking seaward and enjoy the ocean view!
Two good points saved this grotesquely overpriced hotel from a "terrible" rating overall: Almost all of the staff are friendly, go out of their way to be of service, and seem to be genuinely concerned that you are having a good time. The food in the restaurants is amazing -- easily the best quality I have ever had in a hotel -- resort or otherwise. Although the menus are limited, the quality is exceptional. This does not outweigh the many flaws: The routine maintenance in our "premier room" was very poor. We had chipped furniture, extremely slow drains, a telephone system that was not fully operational, and a sliding balcony door that required all of my strength to open and close. All of these should have been noted by housekeeping and fixed promptly. Housekeeping never cleaned our room until late afternoon. One afternoon they forgot us completely and I had to call the switchboard (the "guest services" line did not function) to get it cleaned. Again, no apologies. The reception desk at times is understaffed, especially during peak check-in and check-out times, with unacceptably long lines and delays. Forget about room service. Our pre-ordered breakfast order, arrived a half-hour late (only after I called) with no apologies or offer of a refund. The music outside during the daytime and in the lobby bar in early evening was extremely loud (and not that good). There is no WiFi in rooms, but there is a reasonably fast wired LAN service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Warwick

Nice Hotel close to the beach

Posted Mar 7, 2015
Pros: Asian Fusion and Mexican restaurants (newly opened).
Cons: The bedrooms are a little tired looking, but this hotel will become part of the BaMarHa resort and has already had new pools/lobby and restaurants.
Location: Beach location. Inclusive kayaks/pedalos. Daily activities for children.
Fantastic beach location out of Nassau. We opted for the 'all inclusive' rate, which was excellent. Very relaxing location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Baltimore, MD

Nice, great beach views

Posted Mar 4, 2015
Pros: That it was on the beach
Cons: Employees didn't really give any guidance, we were kind of lost about what our options to do were or where to go or eat
Location: $25 cab ride to Atlantis, $20 to downtown, $25 to airport. At the hotel you can paddleboard, kayak or do other activities that cost money
We were happy with our stay, not ecstatic but not disappointed. It was better than neutral, but not great. We were there from Feb 28-March 3 and did not see the construction/construction workers that were complained about. Spent a lot of time on the beach and it was very relaxing and clean and the weather was nice. When we checked in they offered as an all inclusive upgrade for $115/person per day and we thought about it but decided against it, and felt fine about it. Ate at the marketplace (buffet) 3 times (2 breakfasts 1 dinner) and the food was surprisingly good, pretty expensive. Drinks were $11 each. We still felt fine not getting all inclusive. We did stand up paddle boards one day, which was a free activity and really fun. It was nice, about a $20-25 cab ride each way to everything... airport, downtown, Atlantis. Glad that we stayed here, had a great and warm and relaxing visit.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom rochester

Beauty and the beast

Posted Mar 3, 2015
Great view. Great beach. Very nice room. A we full food. Unfriendly staff. High prices
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom philadelphia

Posted Mar 3, 2015
The staff was absolutely welcoming and helpful. Beaches were clean and the staff at Aqua restaurant was the best we've had in a long time. Please recognize the staff as stellar!
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom New York

Dissatified

Posted Mar 2, 2015
Pros: The pool designs were nice but two were not heated so that only left one main pool.
Cons: Everything needs improvement, starting with management. They charged us a daily fee for gratuities, which give ths staff less iniciative to serve.
Location: Nothing nearby to do.
This hotel is in terrible disrepair. The all inclusive was not all inclusive. There were so many restrictions and the bars were out of stock on almost everything we asked for. We even witnessed the bartenders refilling a Ketel One bottle with another vodka, which they told us we had to pay extra for Ketel One (not included). The staff did the bare minimum to keep you happy. The casino was closed and no nightly entertainment. Cab fare to other locations was expensive, at least $20.00 each way and buses do not run at night. So all in all I will never go to another Melia ever again.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom PA

Nice hotel...but the staff leaves a lot to be desi

Posted Feb 28, 2015
Pros: Everything they had no control over such as the weather and the people we met while at the resort.
Cons: It's a resort in a foreign country. No one is going to drink tap water. STOCK UP ON THE BOTTLED WATER!!!
We stayed at a sister resort in Punta Cana last year that was excellent so we were expecting the same experience here. Unfortunately the Melia fell short and we would not recommend this hotel to anyone. Restaurants are closed without notice. The hot tub was boarded up. Bottled water is a hot commodity that always seemed to be in short supply, but you could always go to the lobby gift shop to BUY some. Everything that should be a staple at an all-inclusive resort came at an additional cost here. Also, excessive tipping seemed to be a requirement to get any kind of decent service....very disappointing.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Staten Island, N Y

Terrible service

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Stay somewhere else. Service was lousy & the food hit & miss
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel. Food great

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Service could of been better. Need more staff. Nice lobby, hotel. Need more night entertainment