Ratings based on 611 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chattanooga, TN

Unfortunately its a run down hotel.

Posted Jul 29, 2015
Pros: The food.
Cons: The complete hotel needs to be renovated (lobby, rooms, restaurants, pools, ...).
Unfortunately, the positive reviews are not true. How can anyone like this hotel??? Cons: The hotel is in bad condition. Furniture is worn-out. The pools and pool areas are not maintained. Pros: The food at the buffet (breakfast, lunch and dinner) was not bad.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from atlanta, ga

Posted Jul 27, 2015
Pros: Location
Location: Near the airport
Checked in at 4:00. Tried to get food and nothing was open until 6:00 p.m. Had to go elsewhere. Also, NO room service at 11:05 p.m. Told us upon booking there was a casino. There is no casino.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, AZ

Comfortable

Posted Jul 27, 2015
The look of the hotel is older but the lobby is quite beautiful. The hotel itself is well maintained although we do notice the aging (e.g., broken patio door handle, rusted wood). The grounds were well kept and everything was manicured. The staff was actually very welcoming despite some reviews saying that they were not. The downside, at least for us, you will have to wait a while to get drinks from the wet bar. The employees tend to congregate and focus on one side of the bar instead of all sides for some reason. Also, plan to make reservations at all the restaurants and then pick whichever one you decide to go to. I say that because they're very hard to get into. We managed to get into Nikkei because a party didn't show up; however, we couldn't get into any others for the rest of our time there. Overall, we had a good experience. I would probably go back to this resort.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 27, 2015
Pros: Food at the buffet was delicious and had something new to offer very day. The drinks were great and not watered down like most all inclusive hotels.
Cons: Facility
Location: Great location. Easy access to paradise island and downtown via public transportation. The water activities such as snorkeling, dolphin encounters.
The food, drinks and customer service was awesome. The facility on the other hand was a bit disappointing. It was old and had visual signs of repair needed and was a stark contrast to what was advertised via the web site pictures posted.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NJ

never again!

Posted Jul 27, 2015
Pros: Beaches were great.
Location: you can take the local bus or taxi downtown to the market and the shops and restaurants like senor frogs.
this place was terrible! Only nice this about staying here is the beaches. The staff is RUDE and LAZY. The outside bar closes at 6pm and they are NEVER stocked with any beer. They usually get shipments in during the afternoon hours. They opened late 3 out of the 6 nights we were there. The workers don't know what all the different wristbands mean and they will tell you that you cant have certain drinks and then you go to the other bar and they will tell you that you can have all the drinks. You can never get a reservation for dinner unless you book for every night the day you arrive. The food in the buffet was ok. The pools need to be redone they are falling apart. I would recommend staying somewhere else!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Food excellent, service good and beach beautiful.

Posted Jul 26, 2015
This hotel can definitely use upgrading and repair work. We spoke with the Executive Chef who they recruited from the Melia in Mexico to come and turn things around and as far as the food goes he did. Probably the best food I have eaten at an all- inclusive resort. He said that if we come back next year the rest of the hotel should be up to Melia standards since they took it over from a Sheraton. Some of the staff needs retraining and there are definitely areas around the grounds that need repairing and upgrading. For the most part the staff was friendly. There is not much to do at night. They could use more activities and entertainment. When you first arrive the look of the hotel is not impressive. There are no "welcome cocktails" which is a nice touch at other resorts - makes you feel like your vacation has begun! It actually looks better at night because they have nice lighting. The rooms are fine and were clean. The beach and the ocean here are truly spectacular and it is one of the highlights of the hotel. I would give this hotel another try.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from west virginia

Safe, warm, and friendly!

Posted Jul 25, 2015
My stay at Melia was wonderful! The staff was friendly and I felt very safe. The resort has so much to do! I like the fact that it was outside of downtown with a little slower pace. When the sun goes down the party starts! Great stay!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 23, 2015
We had a good time! Everything is right there! You really don't have to leave the hotel for anything!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Say No To Melia Nassau

Posted Jul 23, 2015
Pros: On a seperate night I found a course hair in my guac. Also, beware of little tiny jellyfish in the beach. I got stung 3 times on separate occasions.
Cons: There's only two tables in the entire beach, so get there early if you don't want to put your belongings on the sand.
Location: I will not be returning to Melia in Bahamas ever.
If we slept on the beach, ate sand, and went behind the bar to make our own drinks, this would have been a much better vacation. The only thing amazing about that hotel is the beach. Period. The staff was rude, and always looked like they didn't want to be there. It took 10 mins each time to get their attention for a drink cuz they ignored us. For every one nice person, there were two who ruined it. The bathrooms were repulsive. The one by the pool always had a nasty stench, and the one in the room was dirty! The shower cutrains were brown and the tub was clogged, so when I showered, the water came up above my ankles after 5 minutes. The only bathroom I found appealing was the one in the lobby, but that was a façade. The room was "cleaned" every morning, but it honestly looked like they just came in to make the bed, and give us new towels. No toilet paper though. We had to call front desk for toilet paper. The food was mediocre. The buffet was annoying because they had to wait to be seated when there were plenty of tables we could walked to and sat down. Instead, they had people pile up by the door. The restaurants were terrible. You have to make reservations early because apparently they "fill up" super fast, but when you actually make it to the restaurant, there's half of the tables empty, all the time. We waited 30 mins one night just to get water. Another night, a family of 6 got served before us, and we were a party of 2.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

I would go back

Posted Jul 22, 2015
Cons: The service was disappointing. It was very slow at the buffet and restaurants. I waited almost 20 min for a drink
I would definitely go back. The service at the buffet and restaurants were slow. The restaurants were OK nothing to rave about. The beaches were beautiful, the pool area was nice and clean. My room had an amazing view and it was very clean. The staff was very nice. Its really a beautiful place..