Ratings based on 463 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Victoria,Tx

Great time and resort!!

Posted Apr 24, 2015
Me and my wife were on our 11 anniversary. I read a lot of reviews before picking this resort and was kind of nervous going with the melia. After staying there for 5 days all the bad reviews went out the window. The staff was great and polite. The beach and pools were great. The food was ok but was made up for the nice and friendly workers. I never had to wait on drinks or food. The rooms with the pool view was great. Wish they would have both elevators working but that's just one of my complaints. Needed to walk of some the food and drinks anyway. ha. I really recommend the buzz cruise and checking out the fish fry. that was the highlight of the whole trip. I would recomend the melia to any traveler going to the Bahamas. Best time ever!! The only bad time was leaving.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 23, 2015
Beach and pool were great. Water was calm. The room and Everything was clean and food was very good especially the Asian restaurant.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York

Nice hotel with beautiful ocean views.

Posted Apr 22, 2015
My husband and I enjoyed our stay at the Melia. Everyone that worked at the hotel was friendly and the service was good at the restaurants there. The rooms were nice and clean but could definitely use some updating (paint/walls in bad shape in some areas). The beach is beautiful and we had a great view of it from our room (Ocean View room). The pools could use some more frequent cleaning and it was disappointing that neither of the hot tubs worked during our stay. The lobby is beautiful and we enjoyed the music there at night. We would return assuming that the ongoing renovations would be finished and the issues that I mentioned would be taken care of then.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Lincoln, NE

Nice hotel, great beach, great service.

Posted Apr 21, 2015
Pros: Great Service, Fantastic Value, Gorgeous Accessible Beach, and Tasty Food options with plenty of variety!
Cons: Beds could use an upgrade. Not horrible, but left a little to be desired.
Location: Beach, beach, & beach! Sandals was less than 10 minutes walk away where we had some friends staying. Wharf was a short taxi cab ride.
Definitely take advantage of the all-inclusive! Service is very friendly and very prompt. Food is excellent and variety is fantastic! Drinks were strong, and on point! Top shelf liquor is available for additional charge if desired. Had a friend stay at Sandals (just down the road - walking distance) and then move over to Melia after a few days and they were stunned by how good Melia was and wished they'd just stayed at Melia the whole time. Will be staying at Melia (or Baha Mar - related) for all visits back to the Bahamas!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Butler, Md.

Great view and wonderful location

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Cons: The service on the private Level beach. We waited 45 minuted for a beer and could have just walked to the bar ourselves. Only made that mistake once,
Location: There is a straw market across the street. We did venture out to town a 10 minute bus ride for $1.25 P/P. Very easy. Go to Fish Fry driver will help
The Union in the midst of a lawsuit so it made some of the employees discontent, understandably so, but it did affect the guests. Overall a nice place in a great location on a superb beach. I would definitely pay extra for The Level Upgrade as you have a separate check-in check-out area, and there were very long lines at reception for other guests to check in. This way a great deal of time is saved. Additionally, they will make all dinner reservations for each night all at once, otherwise you would have to go daily, wait in line and are only allowed to make one reservation only for that particular evening with no guarantee of there being an opening. We opted to pay for a suite which we really enjoyed as it was quite spacious with a beautiful view of the pool, grounds, and beautiful blue water. We enjoyed our stay but will probably not return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom jackson,MS

Beautiful People!!!

Posted Apr 20, 2015
35 minute wait in line to ck in. Room was fairly cool, not sweltering, but certainly not your typical a/c and it's not even hot yet. We asked them to ck air, but it never got any better. We purchased the all inclusive but was only able to eat in 1 restaurant. All other food was either the buffet or the outside grill, hamburgers & hotdogs. No reservations available at all for 3 of the 5 night stay and others available was between 9 and 10:00 pm. Not happy about that!!! You guys said there is a casino, there isn't. Most of the shops shown in your ad are closed. The people were wonderful. Friendly and helpful. That was the biggest asset of this resort. I'm not sure who's problem this was, Expedia, for not being up to date or the resort for poor management. The only reason I could possibly think of to go back is the staff. As said , they were lovely!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NYC

High end just lacking nightlife

Posted Apr 19, 2015
I loved my stay here and was very impressed with the scenery not only outside, but inside. Although k didn't love the food at the restaurants, they have a very modern and clean feel. The entire hotel looks brand new and lobbiea and bars just leave you starring up to see the details of the lights. My most favorite part of the only was the fresh smell--so good they should bottle it and sell it. The one downside was the lack of nightlife. Yes, there are bars, but we need some kind of entertainment other than sitting around to drink for several nights. Even a pool table would have helped.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Most relaxing

Posted Apr 18, 2015
Pros: clean ,the view from my room and noise was way down after ten, if I chose an early bedtime. seeing the cruise ships come and go.
Cons: I would choose different styles of dining. We were locked into menus that were limited if we chose to eat at the hotel. Otherwise, in town,
Location: again, for different food, it was in town, , there is plenty to do once you go in town. the hotel is mostly for relaxing. what we like.
Over all we had a good time. Did wish there were more choices for restaurants at the Malia Hotel. Breakfast was either big or Starbucks. The staff was beyond helpful. Especially Dorothy at the help desk.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

overpaid

Posted Apr 16, 2015
Cons: hallways and hotel services
paid for level room $1300 for 3 nights but doesn't include any service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Atlanta, GA

Pretty decent hotel with direct beach access

Posted Apr 16, 2015
Arrived at our hotel a couple hours before check in time so we checked in and headed to the beach. The front desk folks were very kind and helpful. We kept our luggage at the bellhop station and headed to the beach there's a couple things to eat outside (burgers and hotdog stand as well as a panini stand). It would be cool if there was a stand that had some true Bahamian cuisine but whatever... Two hours later our room still wasn't ready so I pushed a little and was upgraded to the "Level" room for free due to the inconvenience. Even those rooms are no frills. Very basic and the beds are sooooo hard :-( There was a refrigerator but no beverages in it. The walk from our room in the west wing is a far walk from the elevator. We stayed on the 8th floor and had a great view of the beach which I liked. Furthermore, the food is GROSS in all of the restaurants. They try to have fine dining but that's not something authentic to the island. Even the conch fritters and conch salad at the resort were not good compared to local food spots that make these dishes authentically. So venture off the resort to experience actual good food. The beach is crowded from 12-6pm and finding a beach chair could be a hassle. The sand has a lot of stuff in it (stones, small rocks, sea grass, small particles of trash). The water was very clear and clean but still pretty cool in April. This hotel shows signs of age and wear and tear. It's not terrible but I would say it was worth the price right now