Ratings based on 508 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified travelerfrom Dallas, TX

Nice beach and amenities; average hotel service

Posted May 21, 2015
Pros: Beach and activities.
Cons: Hotel service and employee attitudes.
Location: The pompey market across the street is worth checking out. You can snorkel for starfish all along cable beach.
We enjoyed cable beach and the activities provided by the hotel. The hotel is nice and in a good location. The only negative is the performance of most of the restaurants and hotel staff; things are disorganized and move at a slow pace. Don't waste your time at Aqua, the other restaurants are adequate.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York

Love this place

Posted May 21, 2015
Went on a mini vacay but wanted to stay for a month. The view from our room (pool side) was fabulous. The buffet restaurant was really very good for a buffet. The other restaurants which FYI you need to make reservations for, were out of this world. Loving you Meliá we'll be back soon.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto, ON

Terrible service, poor maintenance and awful food.

Posted May 20, 2015
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: Staff attitudes and management, cleanliness, maintenance of hallways and common areas, reliable internet service and honest pricing.
Location: Cable Beach is a series of strip malls with small restaurants and shops and big hotels. You can take a bus into downtown Nassau or over to Fish Fry.
This hotel is not all-inclusive as advertised -- that is an additional option which must be added (plus a resort fee/night). Due to Expedia's misleading advertising, we booked what we thought was all-inclusive only to be hit with a large additional charge. The hotel itself has been renovated in the lobby and restaurants, but that's where maintenance ends. The hallways feature stained carpets, paint splotches and rusty door jams and handles. Elevators and washrooms in the common areas are out of service. Stairwells have broken tiles and handles, black mold and water damage. The room itself seemed fine, except that the bathroom fixtures were rusty, the bathtub didn't drain properly and a huge cockroach appeared on our first night. Food was an adventure -- moldy cheese on the breakfast buffet one morning; bad chicken wings one evening that led to a two-day bout of food poisoning. WiFi stopped working, taking down the phone lines also. This went on for over three days, though somehow the VIP level still had internet access. The kicker was the service. Staff ranged from unresponsive to openly rude and hostile, rolling their eyes and insulting guests.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Maine

Hotel is OK and right on the beach.

Posted May 19, 2015
Hotel is dated and needs some repairs. A majority of the staff is rude and inconsiderate. The hotel doesn't offer alot of Nightly entertainment. Food and beach are nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel was lovely

Posted May 18, 2015
Pros: Everything
Cons: Everything was very positive and enjoyable for us
Location: We actually stayed on the grounds and one day spent in town..
Very relaxing for us....the restaurants were very good! Overall it was a wonderful vacation for us.....
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Springfield MA

Gorgeous beach

Posted May 18, 2015
Hotel lobby is very modern, the room was okay nice view, hotel needs improvement on the outside pool area needs to be remodel
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 18, 2015
This hotel is an average place to stay. About two-thirds of the staff was very friendly, nice people. The food was very good. This hotel did allow 2-3 vendors to sell items on the beach. On a scale from 1 to 10 about a 5.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NJ

Our vacation

Posted May 17, 2015
Just got back. Was nervous about going after reading some of the negative reviews. We had no complaints. Room was clean. Food was good and plentiful. Staff was great. We didn't even have to get out of the pool to get a drink. Had a great time. Would go back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Return from Melia Nassau Beach Resort

Posted May 17, 2015
the entire staff at the Melia were wonderful, friendly, and always smiling. Not sure what any negative comments were directed to in other reviews, but I have been coming to the bahamas for 10 years and although this is the first time staying at the Melia and NOT the new BahaMar (after their delays). I saw no difference in the attitudes of the Bahama people. Everyone tht worked at the hotel was accommodating and eager to please. NEVER waited for drinks, the bartenders at the resort really hustle. No waits at the restaurants. The ONLY complaints that I have is that the restaurant food was not very good - although we paid for all inclusive, we did got off site for meals, one of our favorites is the Poop Deck!!! we had the level service and a suite and our housekeeper was awesome!!! More attention to detail in the Level VIP Lounge could be helpful. perhaps more training?
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Kansas

Good hotel and all inclusive deal...

Posted May 16, 2015
Pros: It had everything we needed in a small area so you could go anywhere quickly
Location: Good location, we didn't leave the hotel, we had everything we needed there...
We had a great time, the hotel looked very nice and well maintained. The food and drinks in the all inclusive deal were pretty good with good selections.