Ratings based on 2,026 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom long island,ny

Posted May 23, 2015
Pros: Honestly nothing
Cons: Entertainment,rooms,bathrooms
Location: Location to the beach and shopping was good
Hotel was not updated, had no night life, food was horrible,could not get reservations at all for our week stay. Only has 3 small dinning restaurants. Entertainment was terrible. Staff was nice but expected tips. Rooms smelled like mildew, over all do not waste your money on this resort. It is more like a hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Detroit

Hotel bumped us to the Atlantis coast for our fi

Posted May 21, 2015
Hotel staff was very friendly food and accommodations I would give a 7.5 out of 10 rating
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago

Fantastic

Posted May 19, 2015
Pros: The staff are very helpful and the food is great.
Cons: They have to improve the reservation process for their 4 restaurant. The temp. in the spa was too hot and the staff told me they can't change it.
Location: The location was perfect. We were able to tour around by just walking.
My husband and I had a great time. The beach is beautiful. The hotel was well kept. The food was great. We certainly are considering coming back next year. We told our friends and showed them the pictures and they are also considering to go on vacation with us at the RIU next year.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Maryland

Great Vacation

Posted May 19, 2015
Pros: All Inclusive food was great
Cons: rooms were clean and nice, but getting dated.
Location: Atlantis in walking distance
Staff, food, rooms were very nice, 2nd trip for us and would go back.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom los angeles

Posted May 19, 2015
Hotel is old and needs to be remodeled. The price tag is too high for what you get. Also, the cleaning products they use make the hotel smell like cheap cleaning products throughout the day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom oakland, CA

Riu was Cool

Posted May 18, 2015
I had a great time, food was decent, quick walk to the beach and the grounds were well kept. I'd stay again
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago

Good location to beach

Posted May 18, 2015
Pros: Location was good and hotel staff were excellent.
Cons: Update all the bars throughout the hotel and TV's. Add more things to do at night.
Location: Right next door to Atlantis and on the beach.
Hotel was in a great location but needs to be updated. TV's in the sports bar had terrible reception and were small so it made it difficult to view games. Need to update hotel lobby bar as it had a small bar with only a few bar stools to sit at the bar. Not much to do there at night so ended up going to Atlantis every night. Food was decent and hotel staff were excellent. Very accommodating and friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Green Bay, WI

So close to being a perfect "5".

Posted May 18, 2015
Pros: The hotel truly does a wonderful job meeting guest expectations. The staff are friendly. The food is good. The rooms are always clean and safe.
Cons: I would have felt better about my stay had they allowed guests that were unable to make dinner reservations eat at a restaurant that had no shows.
Location: With Atlantis next door, the RIU offers great views with an amazing beach. Paradise Island shops are within walking distance. No one should be bored
While the RIU Palace no longer forces guests to wake early to stand in line to potentially achieve dinner reservations and allows one to risk waking up later and making reservations at the front desk until 3 p.m. everyday, they no longer allow guests that are staying only 4 nights to eat at one of their restaurants each night. For every 4th night stay, guests are able to book 2 nights of fine dining. We stayed 5 and they allowed us to book 3; however, each night we dined, the restaurant was half full and never booked. While I can understand that many guests make reservations and then do not show, I feel the RIU would be more guest friendly if they allowed individuals that did not make reservations to then fill the vacant seats at these restaurants to avoid having to eat at the buffet a few more times than they originally wished. To be fair, the buffet is never bad and offers a variety of choices to each guest each night but it is still a buffet and the setting is not as intimate as each of their fine dining options.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Virginia

Despite my rating, I likely won't return - sadly.

Posted May 18, 2015
Pros: Hotel staff were amazing! Pool & pool area kept clean. Food selection was great. Location to beach. Delicious drinks! Nice beach towels.
Cons: Clean the beach. I know it is public but show some pride. I felt terrible for the couple getting married. Hotel didn't even clear a path for them.
Location: Great location to Atlantis, easy walk to their casino. Nice shops in walking distance. 30 min from airport.
If you prefer pool side, this is a place for you. If you prefer the beach, think twice. The beach is public & next to a popular beach for cruise guests. There were no less than 3 ships in port each day by 7am. If you want to secure a good spot on beach you should do it by 9am. With that said, if you want certain loungers pool side, set your alarm for 5:30 to get the ones you want. The hotel rules say this is not permitted but no one enforces. So if you can't beat 'em, join 'em. Room: 11th floor, ocean front suite. It's the only way to go. Beautiful bath, large pvt balcony, just lovely! Housekeeping was great except for not getting washcloths most days. If you can hoard a clean one, do so. Otherwise room was cold, always had wifi & hot water. Fridge restocked daily along w/coffee. Beach: Grow up guests, the beach is NOT a garbage can. Clean up your cans, napkins, cups & straws! Sometimes it gets cleaned overnight, sometimes not. Never raked. One day my friend & I decided to clean it. It was that or stare at it all day. The hotel needs to ensure public maintenance does their job. THIS is the reason I likely won't return. No wait staff for beach or pool either. :( Food: I gained 5 pounds. Tips: Do NOT buy "unlimited" coconut drinks from vendors. They disappear after 1-2 refills. Just politely say no thanks to vendors & most keep walking. Bring large tumblers for your drinks. Buy a wrap from Patricia! Pack zip lock bags to bring food/dessert to room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York

Awesome vacation spot

Posted May 16, 2015
Pros: The location is right on the beach and you had the choice to sit by the ocean or on the pool deck overlooking the ocean.
Location: Right next to Atlantis hotel which for a nomimal fee you had use of water park. The Casino next door.
This was a great hotel. You could walk to any where from here or inexpensive travel. The staff was always giving 110% and very polite. Food was exceptionally good with different themes for lunch and dinner. I would highly recommend this was to go when traveling.