Ratings based on 27 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Baton Rouge

Last-minute compromises

Posted Oct 4, 2014
Pros: Nice view, very quiet (we were only guests). Good breakfast.
Cons: Rooms' character, cleanliness; parking (up a very steep slope to crumbling paving); plantation tour (upstairs off-limits because it's a residence)
Location: Eat at Roux 61 south of town on Hwy. 61. Order the redfish.
I booked Room #14 but they put us in #15. Also, Expedia charged us $50 more than the BnB's actual rate. We were the only guests, so it was nice and quiet. The room smelled heavily of cleaning products, there was a stained towel, and the room was decorated rather dull. Also, bugs can get in easily, it's in the woods. When I asked for another biscuit at breakfast, I was told they bake only one per guest. The view is pretty; there's a covered walkway that leads to a lookout over the bridges. Basically, it's dingy and lightly staffed. If the view's what you're after, book at a suites hotel that's right up the same road from this place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Bridgetfrom Tyler, TX

Perfect Getaway

Posted Aug 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
This B&B may be hidden and hard to spot but it is well worth it. The directions they give on their website are the best to follow, simple but accurate. The location of the property is perfect. It isnt in downtown Natchez but it is very close. It is perched on the bluffs of the Mississippi River and there are beautiful trees and gardens surrounding. The only people that will be near the property will be staff and other guests, so no random lost tourists will find you.The staff has southern hospitality down pat. Once we arrived the staff was waiting at us at the door ready to help us get settled in and give us suggestions of places to go and see. We stayed in the Jeff Davison suite and it was stunning. We had a beautiful view of the Mississippi and a glamorous room that made us feel as if we were in another time, with modern conveniences like a tv and coffee maker. Breakfast was delicious, a hearty southern breakfast with handmade biscuts. The kitchen staff was also amazing, they were bright and cheery with a readiness to make sure you would enjoy your stay. Everyone we encountered was friendly and I can't think of a single negative thing about this place. We will hopefully make it back someday because this was such a great experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Tina Mancusofrom Baton Rouge la

Posted Jun 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
The briars was a wonderful surprise. Sort of hidden and off the beaten path. The staff was the most friendly and accommodating group ever. The breakfast was also a stand out! I would go back again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Janfrom Los Osos, CA

Incredible view and beauty

Posted May 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
Don't use your GPS to help you find this location - make sure to call for directions! (That was a little frustrating but once we were there - it was worth it). Service was wonderful and breakfast delicious - the BEST grits I've ever had!!! The bed is old (what do you want for an old place?) but it was squeaky (perhaps it's old charm?) and somewhat uncomfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by James & Irenefrom Longville, La.

close to all must-see sights

Posted Apr 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great view of the Mississippi River and nice grounds to walk and see. Room was very clean and nice. Breakfast was very good.
2 out of 5
by Ruthfrom Boston

Never Again!

Posted Apr 29, 2014
Pros: Breakfast and staff.
Cons: Just about everything!
Firstly, the home that is shown in advertisements is NOT even part of The Briars B & B - it is a private home. Our room, Guest House #15, smelled as if it had not been aired out for the past year. It was incredibly musty! The area surrounding the entrance to our room included a discarded plastic bag and weeds galore! The bathroom had splatters/stains on the back of the door. The entire room had an "unclean" feeling. On a positive side, the kitchen staff was wonderful - friendly and warm, and the breakfasts generous and tasty. However, we would never opt to stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by J. Holtfrom Jackson,MS.

wonderful view of river

Posted Apr 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
We were very pleased with the Briars. The staff was most helpful, and our room was very comfortable. We stayed in the Varina Howell room(Jefferson Davis and Varina were married at Briars)and had a small porch to watch the barges and river traffic. The breakfast was beautifully appointed and delicious. The only minus was the grounds could use a little upkeep in places, but they are extensive, and some spaces were just beautiful with azaleas blooming.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Needs some TLC

Posted Apr 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
Location is wonderful once you fine it. Best views of the Mississippi. Staff are wonderful! Property needs maintenance, and also needs soundproofing between the rooms.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great view of river and close to dining room.

Posted Mar 31, 2014
Staff very accommodating as we arrived late. The room was very peaceful and quiet. Facilities were clean and the view of the Mississippi River was great. Breakfast was also very good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jennifer Bfrom Madison, MS

Breathtaking!!!

Posted Mar 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
The entire property is absolutely gorgeous!! I can only imagine how beautiful it will be in the fullness of spring!!! The view from the bluff is simply breathtaking. The staff was very friendly (and forgiving when we were a little late leaving due to my husband falling ill). I can hardly wait to go back later in the year!!! But we're going to stay TWO nights next time!!