Ratings based on 48 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from glenville, PA

return after 15 years

Posted Jun 28, 2015
Pros: location, food and drink,
Cons: a little updating, but all was clean and serviceable
Location: the bridge, caverns, zoo, and the national D-Day memorial
fun, enjoyed the live music at the bridge, the red fox lounge was wonderful
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 14, 2015
Pros: Desk clerk Jamie was the best very personable and an asset to your hotel.
Cons: Bed and pillows were not very comfortable.
Location: Love the night show at the bridge. I have seen it several times in my life and it is touches my heart every time.
Hard time getting a decent rate over the phone. As I was traveling with an older cell phone and couldn t get a price break over the phone I had to call a friend at home in Baltimore to book hotel over the Internet..
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atkanta

Older, quaint, but nice for the price and location

Posted May 26, 2015
Pros: It is right across the street from the Natural Bridge and Wax Museum. Only 12 miles or so from Lexington where there are some very decent restaurants.
Cons: No pool, beds could be upgraded to better mattresses, though not terrible. Need more rocking chairs outside the rooms to enjoy veranda.
Location: Natural Bridge, Wax Museum, Stonewall Jackson's birthplace, grave. Virginia Military Academy Tour. Lots of history.
This is an older facility and some rooms have been renovated. Some have flat screen TVs and others still have tube TVs. It is clean and well kept and we were quite pleased for the rate we paid. Our room had a very small bathroom with a tile shower with no light, but it was workable. The others in our party had a large square bathtub with shower curtain and one room even had a refrigerator. We booked our rooms through Expedia at $89 a night and when we checked out, they had charged us $119, so upon presentation of our copy of the confirmation, they immediately gave us credit back, no hassles. The buffet in the Colonial Dining Room is a bit overpriced at $29 for the Friday seafood buffet. The breakfast buffet was $11.95. Food in the Red Fox Tavern was bar food and reasonable. Walking distance to Natural Bridge Gift Shop. Tour of Natural Bridge was wonderful walking tour (AARP discount tix $20) and we walked all the way to the falls!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cottage hotel not so cozy.

Posted May 25, 2015
Pros: The hotel is a good location for what it provides in terms of local sightseeing. Great view of the valley landscape.
Cons: Update the cottages to a higher standard to match that of the main hotel building.
Location: There is a Safari Village north of the hotel. But there is an illuminated Natural Bridge which the hotel is most known for and also a cavern nearby.
Having booked last minute, it was misleading that the "free internet" was not all provided. This was due to being housed at a cottage across from the main hotel building. Booking two rooms, there was only one fridge and one microwave for both rooms. The entry door for one of the rooms had a broken bolt and was hard to open. This room was the one that had no fridge and no microwave while the other one did. The carpet from first sight looked okay, but after careful inspection there were many bug remains as well as tiny specs of who knows what they were. We made sure everyone wore socks at least at all times. The doors to the bathrooms do not lock. Being of a historic location, I guess, it probably explains why the outdated tube TV's were insufficient to even view with all the static and non-working channels, despite the Directv connection. As a place just to sleep overnight, it will probably accommodate most folks' standards. Having booked with Paypal on expedia, I was shocked to find out at checkout that they had actually charged my USAA credit card for the stay and not just hold it for incidentals which there was none. They made a note of it and admitted their mistake and said they they would correct it. So now, I have to follow up to make sure that they do credit me back for charging me for the overnight stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manassas, VA

An overnight for a graduation

Posted May 24, 2015
Pros: The bedspreads and the cleanliness. The staff has genuine, southern-style manners.
Cons: Be kinder about scheduling the staff. They have job-induced jet lag. Upgrade bathroom facilities & lengthen serving times for meals.
Location: Natural Bridge, Pink Cadillac Diner, caverns, Virginia Safari Park. Neat stuff.
The bathroom facilities were outdated. There's no ledge on the sink, making it difficult to take prescriptions or apply make-up. There was no electrical outlet in the bathroom for my curling iron, which definitely made for an interesting challenge. It would have been nice if dinner were served longer, or even if they had snacks you could order. For us insomniacs, a later breakfast would definitely help. They have a weird way of numbering their rooms. My room was on the third floor, but its number was 128. Carrying my bags while looking for my room was rather tiring.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 10, 2015
Hotel did not honor Expedia room rate. To much light in the room. No curtains. Left message with Manager to return call. Two days later still no response from Manager on Room issue with rate.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from z

Posted May 5, 2015
Staff was nice! ! Hotel condition is not good! The cottage room has awful smell! If you book this hotel you have to make sure they don't allocate you to cottage room! I don't recommend this hotel to any of my friend, especially the family with little kids!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Weekend Exploration

Posted May 4, 2015
Pros: I liked the old school feel to the hotel.
Cons: There was no tv in our room but we weren't inside that much so that wasn't a problem for us.
Location: We had a great time going to the caverns and of course the natural bridge. We went into lexington as well and had a great time exploring.
We came to the natural bridge historic hotel so we could see the park. It was a great experience! I loved the old hotel look and the renovated rooms were great! Hotel staff was friendly and the bar and food was great! I would recommed this hotel to anyone.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 19, 2015
The photos of the hotel outside mislead ypu to think that the rooms are as nice as the architecture or as the dining room.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from PA

Not quite as expected and advertised

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Pros: The surroundings - breathtaking views at the Natural Bridge!
Cons: Stronger wifi connections and television acess in the Veranda rooms
Location: Natural Bridge & Caverns
My room was clean and the staff was generally very friendly, especially housekeeping! However - it was advertised as a room having free wifi - and I could not get any signal whatsoever, and the television in my room only received about 5 or 6 channels. I spent the weekend there doing some scrapbooking while my son was visiting a nearby university. I had requested a table for the room and was told there would be one waiting, and there was not, however someone from the staff brought one to me within the hour. I had also read on previous reviews that the lighting was not good - so I came prepared with my own light. Unfortunately, there were very few outlets in accessible places in the room, and one of them was not working. All that being said - the room served the purpose for what I needed (minus the wifi access) and the sights at Natural Bridge are beautiful. I don't think I would take my family to this hotel, but it would be a lovely getaway spot for married couples just wanting to take in the sights and relax.