Ratings based on 422 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Mike from Minnesota

Excellent All-Inclusive Amazing Beach Resort!

Posted Apr 8, 2014
Pros: I planned a private dinner on the beach for my girlfriend and I, and I strongly recommend doing this, as it was an amazing experience!
This was an amazing all-inclusive beach resort experience, from start to finish! That includes your arrival at the airport/resort, the very friendly + personable staff that will ensure your stay is perfect, the never-ending activities that are all mostly included, the huge selection of various outstanding foods/restaurants, and without question the gorgeous beach this resort sits on! The unique location of this resort is centrally-located in a large bay of the island, and what this means is that the secluded waters directly in front of you are almost always calm + ready for you to take a swim, go snorkeling (and night snorkeling!), kayaking, etc. The only part about this resort that I'll give 4 stars to instead of 5 is the room condition. Don't get me wrong, the rooms are clean and maintained by your housekeeper twice a day, but there's not a great deal special about them. Let's be honest though, are you really thinking about going to Jamaica to spend significant time in your room? I didn't even turn my tv on once while there because of how much stuff there was to do! The patios/balconys to the rooms vary depending on which building your room is in, and most are 50-100 yards from the beach/ocean, however, I noticed that in most rooms you still have an ocean view for the most part but again, the amount of time you spend in there should be minimal!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Utah

Never stop smiling

Posted Apr 1, 2014
Pros: Everyone and the beaches, The activities are a blast.
Cons: Maybe a few more choices in the bourbon selection. But they serve Fernet.
Location: Go see Rasta Ringo down the beach to the left. Unfortunately I'd recommend skipping the "craft market".
From the moment that you walk through the reception aria you get the feeling there is not a thing the staff won't do to make your stay fun and enjoyable. Good food top shelf drinks. Great beaches. Fast red flag service, even on the nude beach. Just so much fun.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by B from Cedar Rapids, IA

Beautiful old resort on the beach

Posted Mar 21, 2014
Pros: The staff. They were all very polite, helpful and friendly.
Couples Negril was more than I expected. The dining experience and food was superb. The resort staff was helpful and friendly. Our accommodations were close to the beach, the pool and the restaurants but also secluded and private. There are a variety of activities all day and evening for people who like to keep busy, and there is a beach for those who like to relax and take it all in.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Chuck and Pat from Minnesota

It was a nice hotel, right on the beach.

Posted Mar 5, 2014
Pros: It is a smaller complex and all the staff are well trained in customer service.
Cons: We can not think of anything that would need improvement.
Location: We only left the hotel for a short shopping trip for souvenirs. Otherwise there plenty of activities offered at the hotel.
We were picked up at the airport at a couples lounge and transported to the hotel. The trip to the hotel was a little over an hour. The driver made one stop for beverages at the request of the guests. Upon arrival at the hotel we were greeted with champagne and a short orientation of the property. The hotel layout was excellent and everything was just a short walk away. There were lounges with cushioned floats on them so you had either a comfortable seat or a float for the pool or ocean. We never had to worry about finding a lounge chair by the ocean or the pool, there were plenty. If you were by the pool there was a central swim up bar, if you were by the ocean, you were given a red flag to put up if you wanted service. There were plenty of activities on the water and on the deck to entertain you during the day and nightly entertainment as well. There were 4 restaurants and the food was excellent at all of them. We met many return guests that vacation there year after year and have tried other hotels, but favor this one. We will definitely plan a return trip!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Tracey from NY, NY

Nice hotel, great beach, older crowd

Posted Mar 4, 2014
Pros: Staff, food, drinks, activities
Cons: Mattress and faster cleaning crew (our room wasn't cleaned until 4 or 5 most days)
Location: Negril is 1.5 hours from the airport. We stayed on the resort the whole time, loved the beach, pool, tennis courts, snorkeling and catamaran.
My husband and I stayed at Couples Negril in Feb 2014. The food quality was good with a variety of options. Room was nice and clean, but the bed was quite hard even though I slept pretty well after a day in the sun with unlimited drinks. Very nice staff and fun activities such as snorkeling included in the all-inclusive. A little disappointed by the older crowd. Was hoping for people in their 30's and 40's and not so much the 50-60+ crew.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Carrie

Great Get-Away

Posted Mar 3, 2014
Pros: Everything
Treated like royals from airport pick-up until the airport drop-off. Great beach, lots of water sports, great evening entertainment, and the food and drinks top notch.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful beach

Posted Mar 1, 2014
Beautiful beach and clear blue waters! Best food I have ever had at an all-inclusive! Really like the inclusions like the snorkeling, catamaran, ect. The snorkeling was really good! Had an awesome massage at the spa. Really like that this resort is smaller and never felt crowded. We were always able to find a spot at the pool and beach. Resort is a bit worn, especially the rooms. Bathroom was very poor! Overall, this is a decent resort!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by steve from UK

Nice hotel, friendly staff, great WiFi

Posted Feb 26, 2014
Pros: We liked the staff, cleanliness of the resort, no hassle from traders and ubiquitous WiFi (great for listening to Spotify or FaceTiming the kids).
Cons: As I said the mains and deserts were too sweet and disappointing.
Location: The resort catered for everything
We stayed for 7 nights, booking hotel and flight separately. Journey from Kingston airport (BA flight) was long ~5hrs there, 4hrs back. Negril beach is 5km long and you can walk the whole length, which is great to get a bit of exercise! Hotel is 15yrs old, looking ok for age. Room was clean but not modern. Pool is large, but spent whole time on the beach. Lots of beds and shade. Staff were very friendly and attentive. We made use of the Gym, watersports, nature tour and spa. All to be recommended. Lots of equipment! Food was fine, but the main dishes in the a la carte restaurants were disappointing - always too sweet - the Red/Green curries were like eating desert, same goes for various other mains we had. On the other hand the salads and fish were great. The deserts looked nice, but were too sweet and unsatisfying more typical of what I'd serve my children than for adults - anything chocolate based was always quite ordinary.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mary from Boston

best hotel staff -- all the staff were friendly

Posted Feb 15, 2014
Pros: everything
the spoiling started when we arrived and from then on it was the best vacation experience we've had. The hotel and beach were awesome. Once again I have to say the staff went above all expectations.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Barb from Providence, RI USA

6th time staying at Couples Negril.

Posted Feb 5, 2014
Pros: Everything!
Cons: The one and only complaint, one night the resort next door had music with base so loud that it shook our room. Not Couples fault, though.
Location: Negril has lots to do. Catamaran sunset cruise, snorkeling, scuba diving, shopping trips. white river rafting, zip lines, para-sailing, jet skis, etc.
We love Couples. We have also stayed multiple times at the Ocho Rios location. There are plenty of activities if you want them, but the staff doesn't bug you about joining in like they do at Sandals Resorts. We had not been to Couples for several years and noticed some great upgrades. Since our last visit they have redone the bathrooms beautifully, added beach cocktail service and made the food even better. We did not think that possible but every night was the equivalent of a $200 plus meal in our home (Providence, RI) area. It seems as though all the staff are receiving incentives which make them even more friendly and attentive (again, didn't think this would be possible). If you are looking for a no-brainer vacation including everything you could possibly want to eat, drink or do you should give Couples a try.