Ratings based on 44 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cozy and cute hotel

Posted Jul 24, 2014
This resort was a small yet friendly and nice place. If your looking for 5 star go to Sandals but if your looking for nice, affordable, friendly and comfort stay here. The food each day and night was good and they had entertainment two of the nights we were there of the week and that was really nice. Drinks are a little weak but everything else overall is great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hudson, Wisconsin

Beautiful Beach, fantastic people, I will be back!

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: Beautiful beach! The tomatoes and fresh pineapple were the BEST!!!
Cons: Could use a few more outlets in the rooms, especially the bathroom. We read about this on a previous review, so brought and used a 6ft extension cord.
Location: Rick's Cafe was close by and great! A swim with the Dolphins was a short 45min bus ride. Alfred's right next store! Cafes and shopping on the beach.
This vacation was way too short. I will return to the Grand Pineapple! The staff were the greatest, Marvette (she is super!) always seemed to be around (she works too hard!) The security made us feel safe, although I never felt unsafe no matter where we roamed. The food was great, breakfast choices were perfect, the best bacon and hash browns! The tomatoes and fresh pineapple were the best!! Our room was in a Gardenside cottage, very cozy, not necessarily a 5.0 but it was clean, beds were ok, always clean sheets and towels. Crossing the street was easy with the crossing guards always available. I enjoyed my morning coffee on the patio. Peacocks were not a hassle, they remind me of the roosters crowing in the morning, no worries! The landscape was beautiful with different flowers and trees, kept up beautifully, I really enjoyed the scenery. The beach was beautiful, yes there were peddlers, but you just say no thank and they leave you alone. I guess I really can't understand the negative comments about this place, we had a wonderful time!! Rick's Cafe trip and swimming with the dolphins were great, we were able to set them up through the onsite tour office, very convenient and helpful.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from AZ

Ya Mon--Jamaica

Posted Jun 27, 2014
Pros: Friendly people and proximity to ocean.
Cons: Room quality.
Location: Visited Rick's Café and Mayfield Falls. Town and market within a short walk.
The staff was lovely--particularly Jacqueline in the restaurant. All the bartenders were wonderful--Marvetta was great. Karl in the Watersports building was quite nice and helpful. I was disappointed in my room--old and marred furniture, clock hard-wired into the wall and was unable to be set so blinked 12:00 constantly for 5 days and though I requested a replacement one was never provided. I had to request that the floor be mopped as it wasn't so clean. I typically have reasonable expectations but was disappointed in the room quality. Jamaica was really a great place to visit. Have visited other places in the Carribean and I think Jamaica might be my favorite for atmosphere, friendly people, and beauty.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Just what I needed and no Single's Supplement

Posted Jun 13, 2014
Pros: Security was fantastic. Check in/check out was easy. Everyone was extremely nice and helpful.
Cons: The bathrooms could be updated and the food is hit/miss. While drinks are included, the alcohol content is pretty low.
Location: The location is pretty central. You are just a few minutes from Bloody Bay, Rick's Cafe, and Times Square shopping.
This is the type of resort that you stay in if you want to explore the island. It's small so you get to really know the other guests. It's close to other attractions. It's also priced right so you can spend money elsewhere and not break the bank. I stayed in a room across from the bar/restaurant and I was able to sleep soundly. The beds were comfortable and housekeeping did a great job cleaning up each day. The bathrooms did not have any electrical outlets. I fixed my hair at the table with the coffee pot and used my ipad camera as a mirror. Each room has a little patio that was amazing. I was able to relax out of the sun yet watch everything around me. I spent many an hour out there. For wifi access, you either pay $43/week or $15/day and it allows for 3 devices. I had one device and another lady had two, so we split the costs. I did learn that the bar next door had free wifi so that may be an alternative if you don't want to pay. While this resort doesn't have all the amenities and is less modern that many of the other resorts, I never once regretted my decision to stay here. I could not have asked for a better stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

garden view side, quiet hotel

Posted Jun 4, 2014
the staff was really nice and friendly and try to help in all the ways they can.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Didn't want to leave! So amazing.

Posted Apr 22, 2014
Great location, great staff, great food, beautiful beach. Simply perfect.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Norma from Maine

Great vacation spot

Posted Mar 28, 2014
Pros: The staff are their best asset along with a perfect location to watch the Jamaica sunset.
Cons: Comfort of the beds and update the bathrooms although it would not deter me from going their again.
Location: Jimmy Buffets Marguartiville is with in beach walking distance as well as many beach bars; lots of local shopping for traditional Jamaican souveniers.
Just returned from a week at the Grand Pineapple; beautiful beach, warm clear water; the strength of this resort is the staff, every single one of them is friendly, smiling and always speak when they see you. They understand and provide incredible customer service to their guests. Had a wonderful massage at the spa with Inez, very relaxing experience. The food is very good with lots of variety, fresh and well prepared. A beach barbeque was lots of fun wih live music. The rooms are relatively comfortable, freshly painted and very clean. The furniture, beds etc. could be updated and the bathrooms need to be redone but all in all a beautiful setting. The garden side has a warm clean pool with peacocks roaming around, a very quiet place to relax. The atmosphere is mellow and laid back, no drama. Several nights a local reggae band provided excellent entertainment. The locals are friendly but assertive, but we found it very safe walking the beach or to nearby stores during the day time. This is a resort I would recommend to friends and families.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Neil from st Louis, MO

Nice mid-range all-inclusive

Posted Mar 12, 2014
This is a nice all-inclusive for a moderate price. We have stayed in other Negril hotels about the same level of quality and are not all-inclusive. We found it well worth the money. We had a comfortable bed, nice beach, and very good service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by f from michigan

beach location with a family feel

Posted Feb 15, 2014
Pros: buffet menu included local dishes among the varied choices. nice way to experience new foods
Cons: more live music
I had garden side room across the street.. street crossing people always there to make sure you get across safely. enjoyed variety of foods including local dishes as well as made to order omelet station. wait staff was pleasant and quick to remember what you like to drink. plenty of chairs at the beach and places in the sun or shade depending on your preference.( info for newcomers to the area) Beach guards friendly and helpful .. they keep an eye out for when you leave and come back . I have been to Negril many times but this was my first time as a single woman and if was nice to know someone was aware I was off site, enjoyed the local music groups that played at dinner 3 nights per week. Nice smaller resort where you can feel like family
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kevin from Illinois

Great Food, Staff, and Beach. Great Value.

Posted Feb 7, 2014
Upon arrival we were offered a cold drink and shown our room. The room was on the garden side and was really no problem crossing the road to get to the beach side. The room itself was small, the beds a bit firm, my wife reminded me repeatedly that there are no outlets in the bathroom. In her words - "how can you not have an outlet in the bathroom?", but everything was in working order. The safe due to its age and rust didn't give the impression of being terribly secure - so our first impression of the room wasn't great. But we really started to see what a great little spot this was when we headed over to the beach side and relaxed a little bit and had some surprisingly good food and drink and began to realize that the value of this all-inclusive hotel is hard to beat. Like I said earlier - everything in the room worked and the room simply provided a place for us to rest at night as an interlude between wonderful meals, delicious blue mountain coffee, and relaxing in the sun on a picture perfect beach. So the room itself not being perfect was not a big deal for me at least. We have stayed at bigger more expensive fancier all-inclusives that had much more food selection but the quality of the limited food offerings was fantastic. If you are looking for a sparkly 4* hotel then this is not for you, but if you can look past some minor cosmetic issues and relax in a great setting with great food and drink provided by friendly staff at a great price then this might be your place.