Ratings based on 44 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Europe

Relaxing

Posted Mar 1, 2015
Pros: Set-up / lay-out of the property was very good. Swimming possibility.
Cons: Food offering. Slippery stairs. Soundproofing.
Nice, relaxed, up-market atmosphere inside the walls.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pa.USA

BUDGET RESORT/MOTEL

Posted Feb 14, 2015
Pros: Staff was friendly,contrary to other reviews,the restaurant was fairly priced with clean amenities and good food.
Cons: Pay attention to detail!Rusty rails,crumbling concrete,trash,and CLOSE THE GATES AT NIGHT!
Location: WATCH YOUR CREDIT CARD !Try to use cash.
I have been going to Negril since 1972.This was ultimately the worst visit ,mainly due to the expansion ?migrationof Seven Mile Beach to a once serene "West End" AKA" the cliffs"We were unaware that the deluxe seawiew rooms (#2)were only accessable thru a pair of crumbling steps,rusty rail,and walkway next to the road.Once entering a Spartan room,with a shaky door lock,the balcony was nice,but aside from the staff that did their best with this TINY motel/resort,the place really is pays no attention to detail.Sewage dumps into the sea,providing a foul odor,although you can't really hear the waves crash unless you overpay for the penthouse/Cliffside suites.There just isn't any perspective unless you stand over the wall!Road noise all night really killed the deal.Trash,concrete structures unfinished,were unsightly.Very unsatisfactory accomodations.Go further down the West End and it is unbelievably superior.Would not only not recommend,but would RUN AWAY!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 7, 2015
Hotel is located with wonderful view of ocean and cliffs, but very close to a noisy and busy road. Snorkeling in front of Hotel is very good.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Jersey

5 star View

Posted Jan 26, 2015
Pros: The hotel staff were very nice and helpful. The view is awesome too
Cons: The hotel needs updating as mentioned above.
Location: Close walking distance to food, shops other hotels, downtown and the beach.
Great view of the sea with safe access to the cliffs from almost every room. Hotel could use improvements and they were doing some construction during our stay. In my opinion they shouldn't do construction during peak season (some mornings they were hammering and using power saws at 8am). I don't want to write a negative review because I love Negril and the people of Negril so this is just my personal opinion. With a little love and attention this place can be 5 stars with their real estate. PROS: VIEW FRIENDLY AND ACCOMMODATING STAFF CLEANLINESS (ROOM, GROUNDS AND POOL) PEACEFULNESS EASY ACCESS TO SEA CONS: NON-WORKING HOT TUB POOL COULD USE PAINT JOB ICE WAS NOT AVAILABLE DURING OUR STAY FOOD & BEVERAGE WERE EXPENSIVE FOR WHAT YOU GET (IE. SMALL TEACUP OF COFFEE FOR $5?!) BREAKFAST WAS EXPENSIVE COMPARED TO OTHER HOTELS ($35-40 A DAY FOR 2 PEOPLE).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Very nice get away and location on the cliffs

Posted Jan 15, 2015
Pros: Location is nice for the cliffs. Food was great but with so many options we only eat a few times there.
Cons: The pool and the hot tub should be fixed. Breakfast could have been a little better.
It was a nice stay with some great staff. The food was wonderful. I wish the pool was a little better and the hot tub was not working. The place could use some simple repairs and improvements but had wonderful character. I also with there were a few more guest to hang with but a nice get away.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Home Sweet Home

Posted Jan 12, 2015 on Hotels
The room was very spacious and clean. Nothing fancy. Basic. THe beds were a little uncomfortable and I thought the steps/ladder leading to the loft bedroom was a little dangerous. The veiw from the room was great but still would have liked curtains. Very close to the beach. Very friendly staff.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Richmond VA

Nice hotel on the rocky shore of Negril

Posted Jan 2, 2015
Pros: Picturesque location
Cons: Basic hospitality - water, coffee, working appliances!
Location: Negril only has the beach, and Rick's cafe to watch the waves on the rocks. Enjoy most time on the beach, and enjoy the scary jumps off the rocks!
AC did not work - the maintenance guy took the trouble to get us another room. The "hot tub" was COLD - we were lamely told it would take 30 mins to warm up - pipe dream! Mediocre coffee next morning was $2 a cup. Nearby small local restaurant 1 km north was the saving grace - nice Jamaican food! Known as Cool Spot.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from OL, Florida

Quaint & charming Boutique

Posted Dec 31, 2014
I have been privilliged to travel and stay in hotels all over the world. My experience at Home Sweet Home has been Luke non other. The room itself may not have been five star polished liked some hotels, however the view & home like feel can compete against the best. The service and staff is beyond 5 star quality. Monty, Lisa, Tina & Charlie, went above and beyond to accommodate our needs. I literally felt like I was being taken care of by family. The food prepared by Monty is of 5 star quality, he has truly refined his craft. If you have the chance to stay in the penthouse suite, it will be an experience of a lifetime, a complete panoramic view from your bed, on the porch or the hammock on the porch. We are definitely looking forward to visit next year .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best staff in All of Negril

Posted Dec 8, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: rooms need a fridge
We felt safe and like part of the family. I miss Lisa, Monty, Nadine and Tina already! Beautiful quiet spot in Negril. Not the fanciest place but I loved it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wyoming

AMAZING

Posted Sep 29, 2014
Pros: Location, staff, size. its smaller more personal attention.
Cons: nothing. I love it just the way it is
Location: Rent a scooter from Gus next door, see Negril at your own pace. Pee Wee's bar just up the road, try the hammock it is divine!!
Everyone was great! The kitchen staff, bar staff, front desk, housekeeping and yes even the maintenance! I dropped my diamond earring down the sink, they came right away and took the drain apart and got it back for me. This was my 8th trip to Jamaica, first to Home Sweet Home NOT my last. So relaxing. This is the best place I have found in Negril!