Ratings based on 67 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Loved this place. !

Posted Jul 26, 2014
This was so amazing. It is very relaxing and small. Staff was great and so was the room. We would definitely come back !!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Beautiful property and people

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: Everything but especially the staff.
Cons: would like to see more of a liquor selection at the bar.
Cant say enough great about this place, it exceeded all of my expectations. Beautiful rooms, wonderful staff, peaceful and lovely property. They treated my family and I like we were part of their family and truly happy we were there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by jh from ny

Private, clean, great service

Posted May 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
I really enjoyed being able to spend the day at sister hotel Hide Away which is on the cliff as well, in addition to spending lots of time on the seven mile beach. Beach chairs were always kept in good condition and the cushion even serves as a floatie. Amazing and friendly services tops it all off.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing hotel on the beach

Posted Mar 31, 2014
This was a beautiful hotel. The staff was wonderful and helpful. The food was good. The beach was breathtaking. It was literally steps away from the rooms. The Rooms were clean, and comfortable. Very romantic place. I can't wait to go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Indianapolis, IN

perfect spot on the beach, wonderful staff

Posted Mar 31, 2014
Pros: Staff, location, rooms, restaurant, guests, fresh water and water bottles provided
Cons: Beware of the beach vendors. Some are aggressive and don't take a simple "no, thank you." Don't let them upset you, just ignore.
Location: I wish we would have made a day to check out Hide Awhile in the cliffs. We did go to a restaurant in that area and it was lovely.
My husband and I stayed at Idle Awhile for 1 week and it was heaven. This was my second time to Negril, having previously stayed at Couples Swept Away for our honeymoon. Idle Awhile is a lovely boutique hotel with charming decor and a wonderful staff. Everyone was there to make sure we were well taken care of, from the front office staff, to housekeeping, to Chill Awhile staff and Aaron serving as lifeguard and security on the beach. We booked the last room available and stayed in 202. It's a Deluxe room facing the garden. The kitchen and street noise is mostly blocked by beautiful trees. We spent a lot of time on the balcony and didn't mind not being beach side. The only recommendation I would have is to bring earplugs if you are a light sleeper. Saturday night was extremely loud with music coming from Marley's by the Sea next door until 5am. There is also a rooster that starts up at 5am and from room 202 you can hear folks at the next hotel over in the mornings since the windows and bed are on that side. Luckily we read about that prior to our trip and brought earplugs, I used mine nearly every night. Chill Awhile is great and the staff will take good care of you. Friday night was the best night with the beachfire, band and fire dancer....very cool. And, the fresh water and water bottles they provide is a GREAT addition!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Darlene from New Yor, NY

Love, Love Love Idle Awhile!

Posted Mar 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
I had a King Ocean View. The furnishings are modern and comfortable. Nice sized flat screened tv on the wall. The bed was divine. Sweet little patio that led directly to the beach. I ordered breakfast and it was delivered promptly to my room. The pancakes were great with a nice hot pot of tea. I wish I could have stayed longer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Dan from Boston

Looking for something different?

Posted Feb 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
My wife and I spent three days at Idle Awhile in Jan. 2014. We wish we had stayed there longer. The 16 room boutique hotel on Seven Mile Beach was lovely, with jungle like plantings and palm trees forming a path to the beach. The staff was friendly and very accommodating. After traveling all day, we wanted a simple meal. The staff told us right off the bat that as long as the kitchen had a particular item, they would cook it for us however we liked it. Rather than have snapper steamed in coconut milk, we both opted for grilled snapper. Another thing that I enjoyed about Idle Awhile was the complimentary water bottles. Outside our room there was a fountain providing us with cold, filtered water. I did have a few minor complaints about our deluxe ocean view room. Specifically, there was no soap dish and a lack of drawers, especially near the bed as there was no bedside table. We would definitely come back to Idle Awhile on our next trip to Negril. The hotel also has larger suites with full kitchen which seem to be ideal for a family or a large group of friends, especially those traveling for weddings. There was also a complimentary shuttle service to its sister hotel, Hide Awhile, on the cliffs in Negril's West End.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice, small & quiet hotel. Great location

Posted Jan 26, 2014
This property was just as expected/ pictured. Loved the location, nice view if ocean facing. Some of the staff could use training in hospitality. Found the staff next door at the Cocoa LaPalm much friendlier and would go there for our breakfasts. Next time would probably stay at Cocoa for this reason.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by John from Boston, MA

A bit more expensive, but worth it

Posted Jan 17, 2014
Pros: The bathroom and the modern clean room design. We also liked our patio.
Cons: Add a swimming pool. Do something so that you can sit up in bed w/o falling over.
Location: Seven mile beach cannot be beat. Numerous excursions to waterfalls, reefs, etc. and activities. Walk the beach forever; there are numerous restaurants
The bathrooms are modern, clean, and well designed, in contrast to many neighboring hotels (they even had hooks on the walls!), and the bed was quite comfortable (but the booster pillows are strange and nearly impossible to arrange for sitting up in bed).. The food, service, and beach facilities were all very good. We paid a bit more than we were inclined to do but concluded it was worth it for all these reasons.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 25, 2013 on Hotels.com