Ratings based on 86 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel But Resturant is very poor

Posted Jun 24, 2015
Pros: The rooms and the beach
Cons: The food and the menu prices
We ate only one lunch there because the food was terrible and way overpriced. We were able to walk a next door to get very good breakfasts at reasonable prices. The hotel is great other than the food.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal canada

Beautiful boutique hotel

Posted May 26, 2015
Cons: The attitude of the nightly bartender could be improved.
The rooms are beautiful as is the setting. Very relaxing and private retreat. Food good. We were there in mid-May so the beach was almost empty and the rates were greatly reduced. This made our holiday all the more memorable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Stephany from Miami

A +

Posted Mar 10, 2015 on Hotels
Amazing ! Definitely staying there again wheb I go back to Jamaica.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Beach staff , rooms Everything was great

Posted Mar 7, 2015
Pros: Everything
Cons: The open walls over the bathroom/toilet is not ideal due to lack of privacy.
Location: Everything is within walking distance to restaurants, hotels and town if you like taking a walk on thebech
Would certainly return without a doubt. In speaking with other guests I now see why they return year after year.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Birmingham, AL

Return Visit. Garden Room

Posted Jan 26, 2015
Pros: Location, room comfort, deep beach, decent bar and friendly staff.
Cons: Add coffeemakers in the garden rooms.
Location: Next door to Coco LaPalm. Very nice mid-beach location. Plenty of dining options nearby.
Our second visit to Idle Awhile, and our first time in a Garden View unit. There are only 8 of these, four per floor. The beachfront building contains 4 identical suites, 2 per floor. Unit 102 (our garden) was a ground floor unit and provided some amount of privacy as we used the lanai extensively. 103 and the 4 upstairs units also offer privacy on the lanais. We were surprised that the garden units were not equipped with a coffeemaker. At $7/half pot, we purchased a used coffeemaker in town (what an adventure). My wife didn't like the bathroom arrangement at all. The walls do not go to the ceiling, offering the privacy to which she is accustom. This is by far our favorite beach in Negril - very deep with plentiful natural shade from sea grapes, almonds and coconut palms. They have the most comfortable beach chairs in all of Jamaica with cushions that float in the sea. If you are looking for full sun, you will likely be bothered by more vendors. If you like partial shade, you will experience less of this as you are further from the water. Food and drinks are good, but a little pricey - - much like the rooms. We tried two new hotels during this visit, and decided to go ahead and book an ocean front suite for two weeks in 01/16. Like most "oceanfront" options, you can see very little to no ocean from these suites. They are simply located in the building closer to the sea. I believe they refer to the two suites on the back side of this building as garden view suites.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from V.

Posted Jan 16, 2015
This hotel is a slice of paradise. The beach is clean, with an attendant to assist in setting up shade and loungers for you. The beach bar had great tropical drinks although they had other cocktails and beer. They had great quesadillas! Folks working there were of course, lovely. Everything from the check in to the service to the checkout was pleasant. Bring your sunscreen and mosquito spray (you won't see them coming!). And enjoy! Yamon!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Nice Hotel, cool atmosphere, but oh the NoIsE!

Posted Dec 22, 2014
We stayed in 203 in 12/2015. Clean, comfortable, private but coco palm is doing construction STILL! It is SO loud and started every morning at 8am and went on til 8pm. I would definitely stay here again but would ask if the construction is still going on before booking. Also the food could be MUCH better! But that was not a deterrent as there are plenty of places in walking distance to grab great food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

thanksgiving in Jamaica

Posted Dec 5, 2014
Pros: Beach location
Cons: The ability to tip the staff when charging things to your room
Location: literally on the beach
The staff, location, and food were what made our stay at Idle Awhile such a memorable time. It was my 7 month pregnant wife, 2.5 year old daughter, and myself for 6 nights at Idle Awhile and we will absolutely go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lincoln, Nebraska

Outstanding resort on the 7-mile beach

Posted Oct 3, 2014
Beautiful, relaxing, fun... Room was magnificent in every way. Powdery white sand beach was right out our back door. Staff...friendly, fun, helpful. Close to evening entertainment We will ALWAYS be coming back to Idle Awhile.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Shelts from Dallas, TX

good hotel... great staff

Posted Sep 26, 2014 on Hotels
we spent 1 night here as we were going to another property for a longer stay. we decided to stay here because we stayed at their sister property, Hide aWhile" and we loved it there! the food, drink, beach, staff, and vibe are AWESOME. plenty of activities around it. we had the "ocean front" room on the bottom floor, and it's super spacious! enough for 2 couples. the bathroom needs to be made up. the water runs into the main room and lots of insects around, but outside the bathroom, everything is perfect. else i would give it a 4 star rating. i would still go back in a heartbeat! again, the staff is awesome! you'll love them and they make it worth it!