Ratings based on 64 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Loved this place. !

Posted Jul 26, 2014
This was so amazing. It is very relaxing and small. Staff was great and so was the room. We would definitely come back !!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Beautiful property and people

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: Everything but especially the staff.
Cons: would like to see more of a liquor selection at the bar.
Cant say enough great about this place, it exceeded all of my expectations. Beautiful rooms, wonderful staff, peaceful and lovely property. They treated my family and I like we were part of their family and truly happy we were there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing hotel on the beach

Posted Mar 31, 2014
This was a beautiful hotel. The staff was wonderful and helpful. The food was good. The beach was breathtaking. It was literally steps away from the rooms. The Rooms were clean, and comfortable. Very romantic place. I can't wait to go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Indianapolis, IN

perfect spot on the beach, wonderful staff

Posted Mar 31, 2014
Pros: Staff, location, rooms, restaurant, guests, fresh water and water bottles provided
Cons: Beware of the beach vendors. Some are aggressive and don't take a simple "no, thank you." Don't let them upset you, just ignore.
Location: I wish we would have made a day to check out Hide Awhile in the cliffs. We did go to a restaurant in that area and it was lovely.
My husband and I stayed at Idle Awhile for 1 week and it was heaven. This was my second time to Negril, having previously stayed at Couples Swept Away for our honeymoon. Idle Awhile is a lovely boutique hotel with charming decor and a wonderful staff. Everyone was there to make sure we were well taken care of, from the front office staff, to housekeeping, to Chill Awhile staff and Aaron serving as lifeguard and security on the beach. We booked the last room available and stayed in 202. It's a Deluxe room facing the garden. The kitchen and street noise is mostly blocked by beautiful trees. We spent a lot of time on the balcony and didn't mind not being beach side. The only recommendation I would have is to bring earplugs if you are a light sleeper. Saturday night was extremely loud with music coming from Marley's by the Sea next door until 5am. There is also a rooster that starts up at 5am and from room 202 you can hear folks at the next hotel over in the mornings since the windows and bed are on that side. Luckily we read about that prior to our trip and brought earplugs, I used mine nearly every night. Chill Awhile is great and the staff will take good care of you. Friday night was the best night with the beachfire, band and fire dancer....very cool. And, the fresh water and water bottles they provide is a GREAT addition!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice, small & quiet hotel. Great location

Posted Jan 26, 2014
This property was just as expected/ pictured. Loved the location, nice view if ocean facing. Some of the staff could use training in hospitality. Found the staff next door at the Cocoa LaPalm much friendlier and would go there for our breakfasts. Next time would probably stay at Cocoa for this reason.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by John from Boston, MA

A bit more expensive, but worth it

Posted Jan 17, 2014
Pros: The bathroom and the modern clean room design. We also liked our patio.
Cons: Add a swimming pool. Do something so that you can sit up in bed w/o falling over.
Location: Seven mile beach cannot be beat. Numerous excursions to waterfalls, reefs, etc. and activities. Walk the beach forever; there are numerous restaurants
The bathrooms are modern, clean, and well designed, in contrast to many neighboring hotels (they even had hooks on the walls!), and the bed was quite comfortable (but the booster pillows are strange and nearly impossible to arrange for sitting up in bed).. The food, service, and beach facilities were all very good. We paid a bit more than we were inclined to do but concluded it was worth it for all these reasons.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ariel from USA

Great staff; room amenities less than ideal

Posted Nov 3, 2013
Pros: The staff, the beach, the excellent restaurant, and beautiful grounds. Aaron was terrific as our go-to guy and all around beach host/lifeguard.
Cons: Coffee makers and complimentary coffee.
Location: Go to the Seastar Inn for a great Reggae show on Saturday night; complimentary transportation and simple buffet included at a reasonable price.
The biggest problem with the room is there are no windows that close to the outside. There are only wood blinds (plantation shutters) and screens; no glass windows. To keep the room cool, you had to keep the blinds closed, and consequently, you never had any daylight or view of the beautiful gardens. They also advertise a coffee maker, but supply no coffee or means to make hot water to use in the French Press coffee maker. We had to pay $15 for a cab ride (round trip) to even buy coffee, but still had no boiling water to make the coffee. The kitchen would supply hot water, but not nearly hot enough to make coffee. Furthermore, the last thing you want to do first thing in the morning is go looking for hot water to make your coffee. This is truly a beautiful property with a great staff, a lovely beach, and an excellent restaurant. However, it's missing some basic creature comforts; like in-room coffee and windows to enjoy the vibrant sunlight filtering through the beautiful tropical environment that they meticulously maintain.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 1, 2013
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Teresa from California

Hotel is on the best beach in Jamaica! Relaxing!

Posted Oct 28, 2013
Pros: The beach was incredible. Rooms were very clean and comfortable. Listening to the birds and crickets in the trees. The staff was very helpful.
Cons: Music in the restaurant area would be nice, especially at night. Vendors on the beach can get pushy but they also sell great fruit and bread.
Location: Massage from ladies next door on the beach. Visit Rick's Café but avoid guys in water that want to show you cave. They intimidate & demand big tips!
Great hotel and staff. We had breakfast and lunch at the restaurant and their food was great and prices were reasonable. The beach is the best we've ever been to and we've been to quite a few in the Caribbean and Hawaii. There were plenty of lounge chairs and shade. We were in the rooms nearest the street so it did get a little noisy in the morning but not too bad. Also got some noise from the kitchen. Overall the hotel and beach area is very relaxing. We spent most of our time in the water, walking the beach and relaxing in the shade.