Ratings based on 233 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Spending a few days in Negril

Posted Jul 19, 2014
Pros: Having the location right on the beach was great.
Cons: Walking through the hotel restaurant is the only way to get to the beach. Would be good if there was another way.
Location: Walking along the Seven Mile beach in the morning was very relaxing.
The hotel staff was friendly. Restaurant food was OK, but you'd need to leave the premises if you want true caribbean cuisine. Would highly recommend going to Caroletta's for food which was not too far from the hotel. This was a down-home good cooking food shack for native caribbean food. The ocean view rooms were a little disappointing since the main view that stood out was the hotel restaurant's roof top.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from United States

Poor quality, bad excuse of a resort.

Posted Jul 11, 2014
Pros: Price
Cons: Quality of food, staff friendliness, and overall every aspect.
Location: Location was the best part about it. Very close to Rick's Café, souvenir shops, bars/clubs, and a beautiful beach.
Not at all what I would consider to be a resort. More like a poor quality hotel. The staff members were either extremely friendly or miserable. Some were helpful and nice, others you would be lucky to get a smile or a hello out of them. Not my idea of an all inclusive "resort" so if you're interested in an actual resort with quality activities and amenities, this is not the place for you. Thought we were getting a resort experience and got what we thought was a $20/night motel. Also the food was pretty poor, the toast in the morning was a blessing compared to the rest of the food.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This is not a resort

Posted May 21, 2014
This is a motel by the beach. The only 2 good things about it is the price and the proximity to the beach. Don't go there if you want a comfortable relaxing, resort vacation!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Arthur from San Antonio

Reggae and Beach In Negril

Posted May 18, 2014
Pros: price, location, staff, and beach
Cons: screen for bath room window to stop mosquitos
Location: did not do too much exploring just, hit the beach and night club. all major Negril nightclubs close, town center .3 miles, Burger King, supermarket
good hotel for the price. no refrid or micro. you may want to get the all inclusive option. room was great, only problem is some mosquitos. safe at front desk only. no wash cloth so you may want to bring one.1 to 1 and half hour ride from airport, i came mostly for reggae music and beach both were great. Nightclub Bourbon Beach was open every night
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Roma from Rock Hill, SC

Great spot for a quick, relaxing getaway!

Posted Apr 19, 2014
Pros: The rooms were spacious and clean and the staff was wonderful. Our air conditioner was loud the first night and they fixed as soon as I reported it.
Cons: The bar stools in the restaurant are too low. I'm tall but I felt like I needed a booster seat.
Location: Many dining options within short walking distance. Easy access to boats for snorkeling or diving.
The first time we went to Jamaica we went to one of the large all-inclusive resorts. It was great, but we didn't fee like we had really experienced Jamaica. This time we were looking for a relatively inexpensive hotel from which we could go out an explore on our own. Legends does have an all-inclusive option, but there are plenty of dining options withing close walking distance. We also had shuttle access to the sister hotel, Samsara, which is on the cliff side of Negril. We had a garden view room across the street from the beach. Crossing the street was no big deal. The crossing guards came out to help, even when there wasn't any traffic. Legends provided a driver to bring us from the airport and take us back. We also spent an afternoon with him for a tour of the mountains and the non-touristy parts of Negril.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Simplyweber from East Hanover, NJ

Great... if that is what your looking for...

Posted Apr 18, 2014
Pros: Staff is amazing and do a great job. Setup encourages great interactions between the guests who tend to be of a similar come as you are attitude.
Cons: Less hassle with the locals... not sure if that's possible.
Location: Sunny Side Bar, up the beach about 7 minute walk, has great Dirty Banana drinks and $1.50 Red Stripes, worth the walk. Rick's is a tourist trap!
This is a neat hotel in a interesting spot. If it's for you... you have to find out. The hotel grounds are nice, lots of vegetation and kept very clean. There are only like 4 or 5 actual "Ocean View" rooms that are above the bar/dining area. The staff is very friendly and helpful and basically make the place. The food is good for this level of hotel; a nice mix of "local" and classics; but not a ton of variety. The place is a bit retro. For example there are a a bunch of old, faded, movie posters in the main bar area. It gives the place a history and a comfortable, come as you are, vibe. We stayed on the garden side, which is across the road from the beach side. Be prepared for cab drivers to hit you up every time you cross the road/leave the property. That was probably the biggest understanding I had to have of the area: The constant sell. With the exception of (most) of the hotel staff, you will be approached by nearly everyone for nearly everything imaginable outside of the resort. Mike is the beach security guy and does a great job from guests being approached... but it's always there. It's part of the culture.. but be sure you're cool with it... and have fun with it.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by AK from PA

You Pay for what you get

Posted Apr 5, 2014
Stayed here in March of 2014. The place was nice, the rooms could use some improvement. It's not your 5 star hotel so don't come in expecting that. Great location, close to all the restaurants, clubs, and shopping centers.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by tobi from indiana

nice and simple on the beach

Posted Mar 16, 2014
Pros: it is fine for the money. they keep you safe with the staff. nothing special. just functional. the staff is great!
Cons: better drinks.
Location: on 7 mile beach. beautiful! walk up and down the beach and enjoy. take a cab into town or a glass bottom boat at 4pm up to Ricks Cafe !
Ledgends is a nice, simple place on the beach. the rooms are fine. nothing fancy at all. don't really have any complaints other than it is almost impossible to get and extra towel or pillow. we bribed our housekeeper with chocolate and got an extra pillow but no extra towels. she explained that they are :"allotted" only so many towels per room and they have to hand in the dirty ones before they can get clean ones! also bring your own beach towel as they don't provide those and you will end up having to spend 10-20 $ on them at the mall across the street. expedia goofed up something on our trip and the hotel, instead of penalizing us, upgraded us to an ocean front room for out last 2 nights. the front desk staff was very nice and helpful. we did not do the all inclusive and i am glad. the food is ok but the pina coladas and other mixed drinks are terrible...they come out of a "slushy" machine ( many of the other hotels do the same) and they will not make anything by scratch. so drink red stripe or something else. we ate up and down the beach and in town and did not miss eating at the hotel at all.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Joanne from Ottawa, Canada

What I expected plus more.

Posted Mar 9, 2014
Pros: Clean, spacious rooms, excellent service, courteous staff, food was great, provided Jamaican and standard fare, beach and pools clean and beautiful.
Cons: Can't think of a thing, everything was much more than expected.
Location: Convenient location. On beach with turquoise water and sandy bottom. Walk to shopping, restaurants. Cheap, clean taxis to center of town ($6 to $10)
Wonderful trip. Gorgeous geography, good mix of culture, history, music, interesting fresh meals, water sports, landscape (ie: waterfalls and mountains).
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Madeline S. from Canada

Convenient for Knutsford express travelers

Posted Mar 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
The first room overlooked a tin roof and was noisy. The bathroom door did not close and the general furnishing was old and poor.The second (garden) room was much more pleasant and quieter. We ate at the adjoining hotel Kuyaba because it had a more genuine Jamaican cuisine. Legends is more for the fun loving, beach loving tourist. The second room experience was marred by an air conditioning engineer pouring water over the floor while cleaning the unit outside our room. It was not entirely his fault as the cleaning staff seemed indifferent to the whole operation and only grudgingly cleaned the mess up for us. The reception staff were friendly.