Ratings based on 408 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Oklahoma

Decent hotel on an AMAZING beach for a fair price

Posted May 22, 2015
Pros: Clean rooms, hot showers, friendly staff, good food and drinks.
Cons: The wifi by the bar worked but it was slow. The wifi in our room barely work at all. It would also be nice to have a chair or two in the rooms.
Location: The beach is amazing and the sunset is mind blowing. We took the Red Stripe Catamaran tour and it was great. Cosmos is an awesome restaurant.
We stayed for 5 nights in May 2015. We found the hotel to be extremely clean and everything in good working order. The staff was friendly, and the restaurant food is pretty good too. The snapper and coconut shrimp were amazing and I was also happy to find out they make a pretty decent cheeseburger on the lunch menu. We were a little worried about having a room with wooden shutters and no glass windows since we didn't pay for a deluxe room, but with the A/C running it wasn't a problem at all. We didn't have bugs in our room or anything like that. The beach was amazing. You get offered a lot of stuff by vendors, but if you stay in front of the resort the security guys stand there and make sure the vendors leave after one "no thanks." If you walk up and down the beach be prepared to fend off vendors that will be a little more persistent. That said, we were never hassled to the point that it made us feel uncomfortable or unsafe. After a day or two you learn just to nod your head and keep walking. With this hotel you get what you pay for - a good enough room in a FANTASTIC setting. They have a restaurant, a bar, and plenty of beach chairs to lay in. You could spend more and be more comfortable in your room, but who goes to Jamaica for the room?
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York, NY

Ok value for the price.

Posted May 21, 2015
Pros: location, staff, pool
Cons: It is detailed in the review
Location: Near by area is safe (off and on beach), a few small stores near by for water and food. Taxis available easily.
Staff is nice and makes effort to assist. There were simple issues that really did not need to be there. Beach chairs were in poor condition, the room had two twin mattresses for queen bed. Sleeping was very uncomfortable due to the gap in the middle. Bar had several drinks listed (specially Mojitos) while they served none. Drinks were overall disappointing. Ants and bugs were hanging out in the bathroom and our bedroom and sometimes on the bed even though we never left our doors or windows open. Ice maker barely had ice to bring back to the room. Breakfast and lunch were good and offered good value. Garden and grounds were well maintained with nice pool with tubes and floaties to use. The hotel is good value for the money they charge. However, they can easily do more without having to spend too much to bump things. Just a bit more detailed attention and this is a decent hotel to stay at.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Newfoundland Canada

Lovely beach

Posted May 17, 2015
Pros: Staff were very accommodatin
Cons: The crickets at night were disturbing to my wife
Location: Location is Central on the beach, with lots of restaurants and bars that can punctuate a stroll up the beach for those that are not in a hurry
Spent our two week holiday at Palms, May 1- 15. I'm an early riser while my life likes to sleep late. Each morning I would walk from the Hotel along the street to Negril about 3k and back along the beach to the hotel where I would meet my wife for coffee before going for a swim in the beautiful waters and then breakfast on the padio overlooking the tranquil waters of seven mile beach. The hotel staff were very polite and accommodating. We became good friends with Winston and Rick who looked after our needs at the bar and beach and also Sidney the gardener who supplied us with fresh coconuts for our coconut rum at happy hour each day at about four. The snorkeling offered by the local glass bottom boats is good. We also took the catamaran for a 4 hour free bar trip off the reefs where I snorkeled . We then proceeded to the cliffs and docked at Ricks cafe and watched the cliff divers before returning to our Hotel. The scuba diving is fantastic and the price is reasonable. 60 US. On mothers day I took my wife out to the a beautiful restaurant on the cliffs and had a wonderful meal while we watched the sun set over the western sea. The Restaurant is called "Catch a falling star" appropriately named. Another nice spot on the cliffs for a drink, lunch and swim is called X Tabi. The waters can be rough when the wind is onshore. The Cliffs is a must visit with lots of restaurants at a reasonably good price. I would recommend Negril Palms Hotel , no complaints.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Edmonton

Love Negril

Posted May 12, 2015
my boyfriend and i stayed here mid April, we enjoyed the negril palms the rooms are simple but nice. if you need more then a sheet to sleep with like myself, you should bring one.Staff was friendly, food was decent, beer was good! the beach was gorgeous and the garden in the negril palms was phenomenal. Cant wait to go back! although next time we might check out a place on the cliffs.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Deal

Posted May 11, 2015
We went there in the off season and had a great deal. The resort is by the beach and with high standards. If you like it more private and don't wanna have all inclusive this resort is supposed to be the right one for you. I can highly recommend to work on the service. Employees seem to be lazy and demotivated especially the female employers. If you're working in customer service you need to have a good attitude. At least try to be generous and grateful. The food at the restaurant is extraordinary good,one of the best restaurants on 7 mile beach. Rooms are clean and spacious.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom MA

Excellent resort, Beautuful Beach

Posted May 3, 2015
It was a good experience. I was traveling alone and the security at this resort was kind, comforting and personable. Everyone was very professional and available. I enjoyed my stay very much and would recommend this resort to all!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice little place right on the beach

Posted May 2, 2015
It's a nice small resort. The staff was wonderful plus great security. The resturant service was slow! The biggest down fall was there are no blankets so you do not need to sleep with the air conditioner on!
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Indpls, IN

Location

Posted Apr 27, 2015
Pros - truly is right on the beach. Only like 20-30 rooms. Gated entry with security guard. Most importantly, I think we booked our room for like $40-$50 a night. Cons - Many. Staff - at the front desk were rude and unhelpful. I'm not sure of thier hours, but they were never there when I needed them. If you go there and they are in, they always seem unconvinced if you have an issue/question. Power was out when we checked in. Rooms - the room was very tidy. Not many amenities, but you don't spend much time in the room. My issues in my first room (101 which I can assure you is the worst room on the property) was right next to the lobby and the restaurant next door. All night, anytime anyone came or left you heard everything. Conversations, cars, rolling luggage, all feet away from you. The walls are paper thin so you hear eeeeeeverything. The restaurant next door started playing religious reaggae music at 730am. The speaker is right next to the window. Not the wakeup call you want when exhausted and hungover. Moved to room 308 which was much much quieter. The front desk was frustrated I asked to be moved, but I wasn't going to spend another minute in the front room. My big complaint with 308 is upon check-in, we found quite a large cockroach on the bed. We killed it with a shoe and tossed the body. Got a little guts on the sheet. We brought our own blanket and laid on top. They never changed the sheets. Gross Restaurant sucked and was slow and overpriced.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Orlando, FL

Beautiful, but NOISY!!

Posted Apr 23, 2015
Pros: Beach was nice. Winston, Delores and Janelle were very friendly and helpful!! Not kids running all over!!
Cons: Plumbing, more staff. Put glass in the windows, now just screen with shutters.
Location: All kinds of water activies....bars and restaurants. Went snorkeling right next door.
Arrived on time...did not get the room requested. Room was upstairs, stairs were tile and got very slick with dampness and rain. Requested a different room the second day! No glass in windows, just screen and shutters. Road noise is terrible, and the crickets or tree frogs never quit. Bring ear plugs. Very few staff members, but found 90% of them very helpful and friendly. Water pressure is not the greatest, buy for the price, was doable. Winston, the security guard was very helpful and keeps all the Jamaican peddlers moving. Almost a constant job!!! All in all, the hotel is in a great spot on the beach, the water was beautiful, and staff friendly. No blankets on bed and rented refrigerators are $10 a day. Hired a driver to take us the Hi-Lo to pick up drinks and snacks.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom manitoba canada

disappointing overall

Posted Apr 23, 2015
Pros: THE BEACH--ONLY !!!
Cons: It definatly needs an upgrading...to everything.
Location: location was too far from downtown, not much to do around there..
Our room was soo damp, it was terrible. hardly any hot water. The rooms are very dark. There was NEVER any ice.available to us. There is so much vegetation there are lots of biting bugs. All in all-We didn't like it, and won't go back there.. The beach was AWESOME !!