Ratings based on 520 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Detroit

Over-run by locals who were not registered at hote

Posted Aug 26, 2014
The hotel was okay at best. We were not expecting the Ritz Carlton by any means, but did expect the grounds to at least be sanitary. The bathrooms smelled horrible and the pool looked dirty all of the time (food floating in the pool). The rooms were kept cleaned by housekeeping so that was fine. The main thing that we noticed is that there were too many locals staying that were not registered guests at the hotel. Every day we saw people taking multiple plates out of the buffet restaurants and giving them to others they were with who were not registered guests. There were actually a large number of groups doing this. It was like two people would have wrist bands on but then they would have an entire other family with them that they would sneak food out to. This was an issue because it would take forever to get food because each person would get two and three plates per person. It was very obvious and almost distracting.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from tx

Not recommended

Posted Aug 23, 2014
We stay in 4 rooms, every room,1st room , toilet leak, smell humidity,2nd ac not cool ac, 3rd smoking room on not smoking room smell pretty bad , 4 room its suit, better than the others but ac work not to cool, on the middle of the night no ac,, the property its old, need a lot maintenance, they wiill close next year to remodeling, not come back any more bad experience
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Riverside, CA

HOTEL STAY

Posted Aug 22, 2014
Pros: The beach and pool area
Cons: The service staff attitude and willingness to help
Location: no close to anything
The overall condition of the hotel is good, but he service staff lacks customer service skills. It seems it is an inconvenience when asking for a drink at the bars and the front desk gives you the run around.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Inland Empire

Vacation

Posted Aug 20, 2014
It was awesome. Shows, food and staff were awesome. Only complaint is kids in adult pool around swim up bar.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Great resort however customer service at the front desk was not so great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Outstanding

Posted Aug 2, 2014
Pros: Everything, from registration to the cleaning crew they make your stay a memorable one. And we will be back next year.
Cons: You need more lights at night from the rooms to the main building/lobby/Restaurants.
We had a great time, our stay at RUI is one our best vacation experience. The staff was excellent, the food was great. And most of all your "Entertainment Staff" they were awesome.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Loved this Hotel

Posted Aug 1, 2014
Pros: Everything.
Cons: We contracted for a tour but were informed late in the day that it was canceled because not enough people had signed up.
Location: The excursion we booked with Expedia (paid) was canceled and we were informed late in the day when rep was no longer on site. Private booking was $$$
All aspects of this hotel were beyond our expectations. The staff was friendly and helpful, the entertainment was great--appropriate venues for all levels and ages of guests, and activities were well managed and supervised for safety and comfort.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Family holiday

Posted Jul 31, 2014
I love rui hotels, the last time I stayed in rui was in 2009 in Ocho Rios and then we stayed on the rui negril. We had an amazing time. This time was good but was not amazing, I think possibly because my children are now young teenagers they became bored after a few days. My 5 year old loved it. The hotel is becoming run down and for a 5 star I would rate it 3.5. Staff do their best to make your experience the best it can be. The hotel needs to modernise its rooms and provide free internet and at least a pool table for the older kids
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami

Nice people, all almost perfect, good food & drink

Posted Jul 30, 2014
Pros: Service.
Cons: Some parts in the hotel needs to be paint.
Excellent, good service, good price, nice location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from baltimore

Nice place on the beach

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Pros: Very clean. Mostly friendly staff. Right on the beach. The entertainment at night was very good. Trips were easy to set up and very reasonable.
Cons: The air conditioning and ceiling fan was noisy. So these need fixing. The dinner reservations for the 'special' restaurants was a disaster.
Location: The location was right on the beach. In booking I was not asked about transport to and from the hotel. It's 75 miles from Montego Bay, so plan for tha
Overall, a great experience. Hotel was nice, kept clean with mostly friendly staff. No complains about the food. Great selections every day and plenty of it. There was much to do, which was great as I had kids with me. The rates for the snorkeling and scuba trips was reasonable.