Ratings based on 552 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom maine

Posted Nov 25, 2014
Average hotel with nice beach that has plenty of sun and shade. Food is buffet unless you book two days in advance for steakhouse
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York, NY

Great hotel for the price

Posted Nov 25, 2014
Good hotel for the price. Not the best in Negril but resort is overall clean. Only complaint would be the outdated rooms.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 23, 2014
Location: I would have preferred to be on the 7 mi beach and do more walking.
Great place to relax. I would have preferred to be on the 7 mi beach and do more walking.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom s

Disappointed weekend hotel

Posted Nov 22, 2014
Check in was 45 minutes we were the only 4 people in line. Staff not friendly and could not manage their interruptions from other guests and co workers. A/C not working well in rooms, remote control did not work with TV. I have stayed in other Riu's this one is nots so good.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Atlanta, GA

3 STARS Hotel

Posted Nov 19, 2014
Pros: We have to say though the staff and entertaining team in general were AMAZING
Cons: EVERYTHING described above..
After being in others Riu properties I have to say the Riu Negril is extremely disappointing. The overall facilities are dated and scream a much well needed renovation and make over. We have to say though the staff and entertaining team in general were AMAZING. They will definitely bring up light to the hotel. Drinks are OK but food is way below average. When you go on All Inclusive deal you expect to eat at least regular standard meals but Riu Negril is certainly LOW budget quality food. The beach is OK but not as they showed in their pics. Beach is actually a Bay (kind of similar at a beach around a Pier or Marina Bay) no waves which means can be very muggy with actually Jelly Fish around it (Definitely not my kind of beach for sure!). Something else that really concerned me was that we saw like 5 cats running around the property all day long (nothing against kitties) but that's very creepy and discusting to say the least also DO not stay in other building BUT number 1 at least you are OK with long walking back and forth...
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice staff, great beach

Posted Nov 14, 2014
Pros: The beach was really nice.
Cons: More options for restaurants. It needs new bedspreads, the ones in our room were very worn. We felt it was overpriced for what we got.
Location: There is not anything near Negril. Be prepared for a longer, more expensive commute to any attractions.
The room was a little dated, it was also very close to the highway, so we heard a lot of road noise during the night. There were no elevators which would be hard for customers with any type of physical disability. We had to make a reservation on Saturday for Tuesday night in order to eat at the one restaurant that was open; all other meals were the buffet.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Ohio

Posted Nov 13, 2014
Pros: Most of the food was good but the fish did not seem fresh but freezer burned. All the bartenders and servers were terrific and enthusiastic.
Cons: The A/C did not work very well and ceiling fan too slow. I asked front desk but no changes.
Very beautiful place and bloody bay is nicely secluded. Alway fun with the entertainment crew.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 11, 2014
booked vacation as hotel and air together got to airport on 11/3/14 to be told our flight was canceled until 11/4/14 had booked for 6 days flight got changed but hotel not lost 1 day of credit not negotiable with them or company used
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom boston

Beach front

Posted Nov 10, 2014
Pros: Location location location
Cons: Nothing
Location: Ricks café is a short cab ride away and it's one of the top 10 bars Anywhere
The staff is extremely friendly, The food is very good, It has two pools one with the swim up bar.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Nov 4, 2014
Loved this trip! Would stay here again! Only downfall was the room was never extremely cold. Staff was AMAZING!