Ratings based on 634 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from fort lauderdale

Posted Jun 30, 2015
Very good hotel friendly staff in the very good location. The hotel is located in the bay so the water from the beach is very calm.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Great vacation experience!

Posted Jun 30, 2015
Pros: The resort was the perfect size, not too big, not too small. The hotel rooms, restaurants, lobby, restrooms, grounds were clean. Staff was wonderful.
Cons: The blankets need to be replaced.
Location: The resort is on a nice beach nestled within lush vegetation/trees. It's a short cab ride to Margaritaville on the 7 mile beach and Rick's Cafe.
My son (age 22) and I (female, age 56) had a wonderful, fun filled vacation. We loved the location, the beach, the pool, the restaurants, the evening shows and the entertainment staff was energetic and worked hard to get people involved in the activities throughout the day. We wished we would have stayed another week!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ver Disappointing

Posted Jun 28, 2015
Pros: n/a
Cons: everything
Would not stay here again. Hotel very dated. Only a hour of free wi-fi per day in the lobby. no toiletries in the bathroom. Had to buy lotion at the gift shop.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Will never stay again.

Posted Jun 8, 2015
We were there for a wedding nearly 40 of us. Can u imagine the amount of money paid to the hotel? The wedding planner was EXTREMELY rude! Dinner was late even though we were told we would be charged 1,000 if we were late! And they were swift to kick us out at 815 though we had reservations til 830 and got in there late because they were not open. On top of all that my daughters iPhone was stolen. I loved Jamaica and the people there but would never stay at this place again. We read reviews and feel they were very inaccurate. They say free water sports but what they meant was free paddle boat and kayak that is it. What a shame.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver, Colorado

Our Amazing Trip to Negril !

Posted Jun 3, 2015
Pros: It offers everything for the entire family .
Cons: The first room we stayed in was in pretty bad shape. The toilet ran constantly… air-conditioning stopped working , hair dryer came out of wall, etc.
Location: Enjoyed our walks on the beach, and Rick's Cafe. The Boys went on the glass bottom boat ride and loved it ! Swimming in the ocean every day !
The RIU Club Hotel was a wonderful experience for my me and my children, and extended family ! The fresh Jamaican fruit for breakfast , and delicious grilled lunch on the beach was outstanding for us . The hotel is well laid out, with so many different things to enjoy every day. But, most of all, we felt well taken care of, and all of your employees were loving , and attentive to each of us. We arrived home with a whole new outlook on life , revived , and rejuvenated ! Thank you so much ! We are already talking about next year 's trip ! Sincerely, Meredith Muller Denver, Co.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 27, 2015
Pros: the bed was comfortable, the entertainment staff was awesome
Cons: Better food, make sure AC works
AC was not really working in room (even after requesting assistance from front desk), room constantly smelled horribly musty, food was sub par, beach had LOTS of sea grass, restaurants were not great, no elevators in buildings.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Long, Island

Very outdated

Posted May 26, 2015
The hotel has no elevators and there are 4 buildings which are located to the right of the lobby and the 4th building is about a 1/2 of a mile away from entrance what they don't tell you is that they have only about 2 bell boys to help you with your bags therefor it's either you roll your bags all the way if your lucky the walk isn't that bad if your in the first or second building but then you have to carry all your luggage up 4 flights of stairs if you don't want to do that then you have a 2-3 hour wait for your bags so we chose to do that since we got there around 8pm and they told us dinner is only from 6-10pm we figured we shower and get ready for dinner we finally get up to our room and it's the wrong room there was only one bed and me and my friend reserved a room with 2 beds, we call the front desk and they tell me that you don't reserve their rooms you submit a request but it's not guaranteed. I said that is unacceptable that is not what we paid for either give us the right room or give us a refund I asked to speak to a manage who at first refused to come to the phone and finally when she did she was trying tell us the same thing after going back and forth for a few minutes she said to come to the lobby I ask can someone come help us with our luggage she said it would be 2 hours so we had to again carry our luggage back after waiting 30mins in the lobby we got the correct room but had to again carry our luggage horrible customer service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maryland

Nice hotel for singles and families alike

Posted May 21, 2015
This is my 4th stay in Jamaica and my 3rd in RIU, twice with my spouse and once with my family including children. It has everything you need, food, drinks and activities to do, both on the resort and in the vicinity. You can't go wrong.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Orlando

Negril RIU Experience

Posted May 19, 2015
Pros: View of the ocean.
The rooms were clean and comfortable. The food tasted good. The service was mediocre....in general, the employees were not anxious to go out of their way to help....the usual island mentality. The A/C was a problem in many rooms (we were there with a group of 30). The rum drinks were tasty and the wine was terrible.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Louisville, KY

Nice Resort Close to the Beach

Posted May 15, 2015
Pros: We enjoyed the Green Island Restaurant breakfast and dinner buffets and the Beach Bar. The Jerk Chicken Food on the beach was fabulous for lunch.
Cons: Free WiFi in the rooms would be nice as well as keeping our refrigerators stocked better.
Location: Most notable nearby was Rick's Cafe. Tours are available for inland areas like YS Falls.
To begin with, a word of warning when booking this resort. There are two RIU all-inclusive resorts located within a mile or two of each other on Norman Manley Blvd. We thought we had booked the Tropical Palace so we were shocked when we tried to register and found we had booked the ClubHotel, which we had just passed. The cab ride back to the ClubHotel cost $5 and we thought RIU should have made arrangements for transfer. The ClubHotel was also quite lovely but we had studied the information about the Tropical Palace and knew nothing about what ClubHotel had to offer. We had booked the Tropical Palace hoping to get many sunset photos to the west. We couldn't see the sunsets from ClubHotel. Also, since we had booked back in January, we thought we would get a room with a balcony. It was on the main floor with a terrace and they didn't have a balcony room at the time. A couple hours later they offered a balcony room but it had been a long trip and we had already unpacked and were too tired to pack up again.