Ratings based on 510 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kingston, Jamaica

Well done RIU! Excellent hotel

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Spent my birthday weekend and the service was superb! Received pleasant surprise from staff who went all out to decorate my room and gave me a birthday cake. Asst. Dining Room Manager secured reservation at Italian Restaurant for my birthday. The Hotel Manager also greeted guests in the dining hall to ensure that all was ok. The room was clean although the air conditioning was a little warm at first. The food was excellent and my husband and I enjoyed the food. So sorry when our time was up to leave. Definitely going back for my husband'a birthday in September.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Kansas

Great Stay, Clean & Comfortable

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Pros: Food was very good and staff was very friendly
Great family vacation. Clean room, friendly staff and food was a lot better than I expected based on my stays at other resorts. Also, kids (9 & 11) loved the place, there were plenty of other kids from all over the world and they made some good friends.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Very friendly staff. Lots to do.

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: The staff and entertainers were all very friendly. Food was all satisfactory.
Cons: The vendors on the beach were pretty annoying, but I don't think that the resort can do anything about that. It was not a safety issue, just annoying.
Location: Cab to the mall for $20 R/T for 2 people to shop for souvenirs, and it was a little cheaper that the gift shop. Everything else was too far for us.
We stayed for 7 days, and stayed mostly on resort. The distance from the airport is a little more than expected, but was fine. You can arrange for transportation ahead of time through Expedia. I was glad I did to save the scrambling and confusion when you land. We traveled with 2 adults and 2 boys aged 8 and 12 and spent most of the time in the pool or on the beach. Windsurfing, Sailing, and snorkel were available at no charge, but if you unfamiliar with the equipment you need to pay $20 a person for a lesson. Snorkel was a $25 deposit that you need to renew every hour. My older son got scuba certified while there, and loved the experience. The cost was $250 for the basic demo, 2 pool classes and 2 open water dives. We had two different instructors, and both were great with an emphasis on safety. There are a few excursions offered that seemed to be too far from the resort to be worth while for us because we were fine with the amenities on the property. The food was good with some variety every day. We tried all the restaurants that the reservations were required, and the buffet and were satisfied with all the choices. The reservations were not as hard to get as some of the other reviews said. We also read reviews about bugs in the room (my wife was concerned), but did not experience any issues. We were in building 1 room 1050 on the 1st floor with an ocean view it was close to everything.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from mcalester, ok

Jamaican Vacation

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: Location, amenities, staff
Cons: minor updates like painting and the fixtures in bathroom needed to be cleaned better
Location: Negril, Jamaica beach front resort offers many activities and free water activities that require a refundable deposit. There was even a casino.
This is the second Riu Resort we have stayed at and we thoroughly enjoyed!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Georgia

Corporate may have forgotten about this location

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Property is in major need of renovation. The beach at sister property Riu Tropical Bay down the street is WAY nicer. Strong smell of sewage by the lunch area was hard to ignore. I would pay the extra money to sat at the other Riu or another resort down the beach.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Good times Riu style

Posted Jul 12, 2014
First time in Jamaica but 3rd time with Riu the company. I loved being there and would recommend to all. Its a little far from other things but this would be my only negative. The entertainment staff was great and one of the reasons I choose to go with any Riu hotel. This hotel was no different except for the location and the people, they were great. Restaurants had good food and the service was great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from washington DC

Stay at Riu

Posted Jul 3, 2014
Staff acomodations and food were absolutely wonderful. I am comming back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indianapolis

Good hotel

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Pros: Hotel staff was excellent!
Cons: Just needs some TLC to the buildings. Grounds are beautiful.
Location: Taxi ride to Rick's Cafe was fun. Didn't want to do the catamaran trip with our 8 year old.
We stayed here June 21 to June 28. Staff at this hotel is outstanding! They went out of their way to answer questions and make our stay as enjoyable as possible. Food on buffets was great and plentiful. Didn't try the restaurants as we didn't want to be tied down to a time commitment with our 8 year old. The property needs a little TLC which they are getting ready to under take. We can't say enough about the staff. They were all friendly, warm and hospitable. Our 8 year old enjoyed the kids activities. Ingrid and "Spotlight" were great with the kids! There were a lot of kids at the resort which was nice for us. In the Scuba Caribe Dive Center, Lloyd is a top notch dive instructor! Great visit and thanks to the staff of the hotel for a wonderful stay! It's like any thing in lile, if you look for things to complain about, you'll find them. If you go here and want to have a relaxing good time, you'll have that if you let yourself. It's all in your attitude and how you look at things. Thanks again to the hotel staff, they were awesome!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from northern nj

Needs updating, painting, landscaping, more staff.

Posted Jun 29, 2014
Would not go back to this particular resort....casino was sad, overall not very clean, adult pool was filthy, entire resort needs painting or replace all wood with vinyl trim. A lot of black moldy looking areas all around hotel. Rooms do not have enough storage space. Bathrooms have no shelves except for small counter space. Mold in shower, rooms are musty. Boat ride was great as was entertainment for the kids.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NC

Loved it!!!!!!

Posted Jun 28, 2014
Absolutely loved our stay!!! My husband and I went there for our honeymoon! Already planning another trip in the next few months! Was amazing, couldn't have asked for a better time!! Looking forward to our next trip and haven't been back home two days!!! 😊