Ratings based on 484 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by Joe from Louisiana

Disappointing

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: Beach
Cons: volleyball court on beach was like playing on concrete. room maintenance.
Location: take the sunlight cruise to Rick's Café! The highlight of the trip.
I try to be positive of any vacation experience I have, but the room conditions of this hotel are horrible. I booked four rooms and the a/c was broken in three. I actually had to use our trashcan to catch all the water coming from the a/c vent. The vendors on the beach were not pushy or rude but there were so many, I must have said "no thank you" one hundred times a day! I lived in Jamaica for three years and have visited often so I know what to expect in a resort there and this place just let me down. I will say this though, if you're on a budget and the room is not but a place to crash and sleep off too much alcohol, you will find this place acceptable. I did think the food was good!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Nice stay!

Posted Apr 5, 2014
Pros: The cleanliness, the friendly staff.
Cons: The reservation system, also, the rooms smell very musty. I had to wash clothes that I did not wear when I came home because of the smell.
Location: The location was wonderful! Loved that the water in the bay is so calm!
We would definately come back to Riu Negril. My boyfriend booked an ocean front room. When we checked in, we were taken too a room in building #2 that overlooked a courtyard. He immediately called front desk to let them know of the mishap. We were then given a ocean front room in building #4 and was told we could get an ocean front room in building 2 the next day. We decided to stay in building 4 so as to not have to repack and change buildings in the midst of our day. It was nice and quiet and it was nice to see the weddings that were performed in front of our room. We were impressed with the cleanliness of the facility, especially the common restroom areas. Always a cleaning person on staff to make sure the facilities were clean!!! Our room housekeeper, Hyiasynth, did a wonderful job!! We did not care for the way the reservation system worked for the restaurants that require a reservation works. We were only able to get into Luigis for a 9 pm reservation on Wednesday, April 2. There were only 2 tables reserved, the rest were empty. I am a beef filet conoisseur. The beef filet in Luigis was the worst I have ever had. I was expecting more from a restaurant that required a reservation. The waiter on that night made us feel like we were putting him out. Again, not what I would expect from a restaurant that requires a reservation. The food in the buffets was good though.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Samantha from Davis, WV

First trip to Jamaica, a+!!!

Posted Mar 31, 2014
Pros: Everything. We were very pleased with all aspects!
Cons: More live music :)
Location: Good location. Close to reefs for snorkeling and trips to Margaritaville and Rick's Cafe.
This was our first trip to Jamaica although the rest of our party had all been there before. We had an amazing trip and can't wait to go back. We were very pleased and impressed with everything at the Riu!! Our room was wonderful. The beach is stunning! Food was great and lots of selection!! All staff was very friendly and helpful. We will definitely be returning!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Barry from Richmond, VA

Riu Palace Tropical Bay

Posted Mar 28, 2014
Pros: It meets all of our needs that we required when traveling.
Cons: The resort did not accept any credit cards for any additional charges ( like WiFi Connection at $10-$15 per day, depending on how many days).Cash Only
Location: Never left the resort. Sight seeing....seen it all. Shop...been there done that. Eat, drink, and lay on the beach, perfect.
My wife and I have stayed at The Riu many times in the past. It was obvious when we checked in. We were given a room as far from the masses as possible. Very very quite, mostly empty beach 15 feet from our room. And few if any beach sales people ( if you know what I mean). Love the resort, and the fantastic employees who go way beyond the limit to make their guests comfortable and happy. We, as usual, never made it to any of the alacarte restaurants, but pigged out at the buffet 3 times a days. There was always something new and different at each meal time. Bet we put on a few pounds. Would we stay there again (or at the other Riu in Negril? You betcha!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, good food, great staff

Posted Mar 24, 2014
Staff was great. Hotel was clean. It is both family-friendly and a good choice for spring breakers. Only complaint is that the "24 hr food" is terrible from 11 pm-7am. We had to be at the airport very early and there was no breakfast before 7 am and the food that was available had run out! Other than that, it was a great vacation spot.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Missy from OH

Great beach!

Posted Mar 20, 2014
Pros: Rooms were close to the beach.
Cons: They need a restroom closer to the pool. You had to walk a good distance, across skippy tile.
Location: Hotel offered a snorkel trip and a trip to Rick's Cafe. You could also, take a walk on the beach or shop locals items on beach.
After first vacation got cancelled due to weather, we decided to try again. We'll worth the wait! Weather was wonderful and beach was beautiful. Pool was great also.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jose from Austin

My stay

Posted Mar 18, 2014
Everything was nice, laid back, and relax. Very enjoyable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by kevin from Dallas, TX

STAYED HERE MANY TIMES AND THEY ARE SLIPPING A BIT

Posted Mar 11, 2014
Pros: The Staff
Cons: They need to update their internet policy to provide 24 hour a day free internet and better coverage at the hotel. Not just 90 minutes every 24 hours.
Location: Best beach in Jamaica
I have been to Negril Jamaica many times, over 50 and have stayed at all the Riu hotels on the Island and have always been satisfied with the resort. This trip however was a little bit of a let down on two fronts, the main one being that they no longer offer free internet at the hotel. They offer 90 minutes every 24 hours and only in the lobby of the hotel. This is a change from when it was free all the time in the lobby. You can purchase more time as I did for 3 days for $30.00, but had a hard time staying connected. I know this seems petty, but in today's world free internet that works is a must. Also, the food that has always been the best thing about the Riu has slipped a couple of notches and is not quite as good and the the coffee which was always great in Jamaica is now watered down and barley drinkable. The hotel staff however are great and the beach is one of the best you will find, calm and clear. They also no longer allow you to visit the other Riu just a short walk down the beach from our hotel, This is also a change from the past and not sure why? I would still recommend the hotel as it is one of the best all inclusive hotels you will find in Jamaica, but would like to see them change their internet policy and make it free again. If enough people complain maybe we can get them to change back to the way it was before and should be in today's world.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tammie from ogdensburg ny

Nice hotel

Posted Mar 7, 2014
Pros: Rooms and location and beach BEAUTIFUL
Cons: Staff that want a job.
Location: Lots to do.
Nice hotel and beautiful beach. I was disappointed with most of the hotel staff. Especially lunch buffet staff. Almost made you feel uncomfortable. I ALWAYS tip and tip good. I could not bring myself to tip. Terrible service and the staff seemed as if they were mad at the world and hated you for making them help you, with the exception of a few, a very few! Can not understand what they don't get. Be nice and you will get a tip.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sean from Portsmouth, NH

Great place! Great People! Great time!

Posted Mar 4, 2014
Pros: We liked the people the most because they were helpful and entertaining. There was always something happening.
Cons: Nothing
Location: If you can think it then you can do it. Swimming, sailing, snorkeling, fishing, jeep tours, sunset cruises....
My girlfriend and I chose to stay here on our first trip to Jamaica in February 2014. We loved this place and everything it had to offer. The food was great and the drinks were strong. The people were nice and very helpful during our stay. Plenty of stuff to do at the resort and it is right on the beach!