Ratings based on 371 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Gayle from New York

RIU on the beach Tropical

Posted Apr 20, 2014
Pros: The employees always ready to help, the food & the beach
Cons: Needs better night entertainment and earlier but other wise really great.
Location: The location was great we could have done many things but enjoyed the sun & beach .
Clean, great beach, great employees , Hotel well kept . Great food. nice swimming pool .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mary from New York

Good Food Great Beach

Posted Apr 19, 2014
Pros: Beach and service
My husband stayed 12 very relaxing days which was the purpose of this vacation as well as celebrating 32 years of marriage. On arrival we were given a room that had a very musky order however upon informing the front desk we were given a room that was great(clean,smell good & mini bar stocked). Jerk chicken every day on the beach very good. The food is good and staff very professional and polite. Vendors on the beach but you are not harassed they keep it moving just indicate you are not interested. There is a clean and beautiful stretch of beach that you walk or run. Water clear and approximately 6ft deep about 20-30 yards in. There is tours but we were not interested we are beach bums I busted wanted to chill on the beach so overall the hotel and staff was fantastic.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Julie from Ohio

Beautiful beach, friendly staff, awesome food!

Posted Apr 18, 2014
Pros: Everything.
Cons: I would not allow children to swim in the pool where the swimup bar is located. That's just not right.
Location: Lots to do if you want to venture out: Rick's Cafe and the Cliff divers as well as lots of shopping, excursions.
This was our second stay at the RIU Palace Tropical Bay hotel. We looked at other places to stay this year but loved the Palace so much we decided to stay again. The staff is so friendly, professional, and fun! The rooms are very clean and the drinks are stocked each day. The beach is clean and beautiful. We love it! It is peaceful and relaxing too.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kathy from near Chicago

Best beach in Jamaica, great hotel, great staff!

Posted Apr 16, 2014
Pros: The beach, the buffet restaurants and the people that work there! Room service is free and fast!
Cons: Provide more beach umbrellas for people like me who burn easily! Use a mosquito fogger through the resort once a week.
Location: There is a nice catholic church in Negril. Rick's Cafe is a must see. Take a taxi to Seven Mile beach and get your souvenirs in the small shops.
This is our third or fourth time staying at the Riu Palace in Negril. We love the beach, they layout of the hotel and most of all the people that work there. It amazed me that there were people who actually remembered us from our last visit that was about four years ago. There are many who have worked there since the hotel opened in 2001, and that says a lot about how the owners treat their workers. Our room was comfortable, we were in 2103 which is a ground floor room near the gym and spa. It was nice being closer to the main hotel for us since we are not as young as we were when we first started coming to Jamaica. The rooms have a musty smell when you first enter because this is a humid tropic environment and guests go into the rooms with wet suits from the beach. It would be near impossible to keep the humidity out without a lot of chemicals. The restaurants have good food and lots of it. We prefer the buffets because there is a good variety of fresh veggies, fruits and fish to choose from and you can eat when you feel like it instead of making a reservation. We did have one meal at the Italian restaurant which was good though. This is not the most expensive resort but you get a lot for your money and the people are nice. We leave tips because we like to reward good service and we really like the people here. If you want to buy souvenirs take a taxi to the beach area and check out the local shops, you will get a better deal compared to the hotel shop.
2 out of 5
by r from s

Food and drink were terrible

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Krystal, the "nice" restaurant was good food. Everything else I ate was old and overlooked. Staff was nice and tolerant. Reminded me of CanCun. Definite get off the resort if you want a real drink or meal.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mistylee from Brockton

Great hotel right on the beach.

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: It's in the best spot on Bloody Bay.
Cons: Put Palapas on the beach!!! Wait staff needs to double and the chairs need little flags for more drinks. Everyone should get a tshirt when they checkn
This was our second year at this same hotel because we loved it so much !!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Angie from Iowa

Awesome staff and beautiful resort and beach!

Posted Apr 12, 2014
Pros: Amazing staff, entertainment, food, beach
Cons: The bed was a bit uncomfortable as it was rather firm.
Location: Went to Rick's Cafe and on a boat tour
The staff and food were wonderful, as well as the beautiful white sand beach!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

GREAT RESORT !!!!

Posted Apr 12, 2014
Pros: everything but beds
Cons: beds
Location: ziplining,swim with dolphins
Great staff! Great rooms ! Great service! Great Beach! only bad thing was the beds were hard .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Harry from Williamsburg, VA

Great beach

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: Food is great. Water sports (kayaking, diving, sailing) available. Great beach.
Cons: Lots of guys on beach want to sell you marijuana. I guess that's just Jamaica, but I'm not into it.
Wonderful buffet, close to great diving sites. Tour companies on site to help you find great things to do.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great all inclusive place for a couples getaway.

Posted Apr 5, 2014
All the food and drinks you can handle. Everything was kept neat and clean. Most of staff were super friendly. The "room service" was useless and not helpful. They have a very limited menu which is not very good. The Negril area has a whole bunch of great sites, restaurants, etc. which the hotel has a taxi always on hand for. Finally, make sure to tip well, you will ensure great service.