Ratings based on 459 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York, NY

Posted Jan 16, 2015
Cons: It is dark in the room in the evening. Cannot read.
We like everything, vacation was wonderful. The only... not enough light in the room, all light fixtures are dimmed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Martha's Vineyard

Third time visiting

Posted Jan 16, 2015
Pros: This property is set on a perfect crescent of calm turquoise water, with enough shade and sun to keep everyone happy. The food is decent and plentiful
Cons: I would love to see the bedding replaced. The pillows and mattresses have both seen better days.
Location: It's a short cab ride into Negril and Rick's Cafe to explore a bit, and we have done the catamaran sunset cruise. We loved it.
This is our third trip to the RIU Palace Tropical Bay, and we love the beautiful beach, but the personal attention from the staff is a close second for our reason to return each time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom English family in Ohio

Beautiful hotel, right on the beach. Perfect!

Posted Jan 7, 2015
Pros: Location, food & drink selections, staff, cleanliness of the resort, and not feeling like we were crammed into the space.
Cons: Only thing that would have helped was have an interconnecting door between us and our children's room next door, but it's not really a kids' hotel.
Location: Didn't leave the resort as we were perfectly happy with the beach, pool and sea (never thought I'd say that!). Location perfect.
We booked this hotel for our family holiday over the Christmas week, 2014. It was our 2nd experience of an all-inclusive and it was perfect! We were able to relax, our children (6 & 8) played on the beach, swam in the sea and pools and made friends with other children, while the drinks and food were amazing. There was no dedicated kids club at this resort, but there was one at their sister hotel about 10 minutes walk along the beach. We did not feel the need to use it, though as we were all so happy with our facilities. We noticed that, although our hotel was busy, it did not feel as crowded as the sister hotel and did not have to wait for loungers, either on the beach or next to the pools. The staff were super friendly and helpful, and we would certainly come here again. A perfectly relaxing week, which is just what we needed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago

Great all inclusive right on the beach!

Posted Jan 5, 2015
My siblings and I had an amazing time at Riu. The food was incredible. The staff were friendly. The drinks could be a little better though. They were all slushies with rum poured on top, but still fairly tasty (of course you could ask for them to mix you a different cocktail). The beach was right in front of the pool. The beach was clean and beautiful. You have to go out early if you want a beach chair though; those things are gone in the blink of an eye despite there being a lot of them. Be careful about signing up for scuba diving or activities that have health restrictions. The guy that signed us up said the health questionnaire wasn't important, so I paid for the three of us to go scuba diving. The next morning the actual instructor said we couldn't dive if we answered yes to anything on the checklist. That was extremely irritating because it was a wasted day. My only gripe about the room was that it smelled of humidity, like a wet towel thrown into a backpack. The sofa couch cushions smelled too. We just got used to it after a while. I think we just got a little unlucky with the room assignment. Overall, I would recommend this place to others.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Indianapolis

Beautiful location easy for families

Posted Jan 3, 2015
Great stay, excellent location, rooms confortable but noisy. Very good quality of the buffet. The beach is the best part. Concierge and registration at arrival need improvement in quality, speed and customers orientation especially if you arrive and there are big groups to accommodate in front of you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice location, amazing beach. Third time there

Posted Jan 2, 2015
Pros: Location, location, location.
Cons: Staff professionalism
Location: the beach is amazing, any water sport and activity is highly recommended
It has been our third stay at the Riu Palace Tropical Bay. As usual we loved the beach and the water. The resort is nice even tough it was being painted during our stay and some rooms had a terrible paint smell (our friends traveling with us had taht experience). The check in was less than pleasant, we had to stay in line for 30 minutes behind a group of 40 people on an organized tour that had to check-in one by one and kept all the four employees busy (one would expect one or two people to be dedicated to such large groups that travel together while one or two could be dedicated to individual travelers or families with very small children). At check in we found out that we had been assigned a room in Building 4 while we had specifically requested (and had been promised a room in building 6). The issue was resolved for us while our friends were not able to get the room they had reserved and had to change after the first night to finally get closer to where they wanted to be. as returning customers we expected a better customer experience.The staff has been less friendly and courteous than on the past three years, with a few notable exceptions (above all Alva, our Breakfast waiter, absolutely impressive). In one occasion a waitress at the lunch restaurant refused to get our party of 7 together (she said we could eat separately and that would not be a problem...well, not for her obviously). Room service personnel was extremely loud, even after 9:30 pm
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great staff!!! Entertainment was fun.

Posted Dec 29, 2014
Pros: The people. The access to the activities and the beach.
Cons: Keep the pool open a bit later. Fires on the beach would be awesome if possible.
Location: We didn do anything but the YS Falls which was too touristy for us
We spent 6 days and had a blast. Staff are great. Food is ok for a Buffett. We only ate at the Krystal restaurant and the food was awesome. Entertainment was great!!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom St Louis, MO

Nice hotel right on the beach

Posted Dec 29, 2014
Pros: The location, the food, the staff, everything!!!
Cons: The beds were very uncomfortable - that is my only complaint
Location: Perfect location - tons of things to do. We enjoyed deep sea fishing, snorkeling, Rick's Café, shopping, tubing, kayaking, the spa and much more
This was one of the best vacations ever! The hotel was nice and the staff and people were awesome! We will be going back again next year!! :-)
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice beach

Posted Dec 28, 2014
Terrible rooms, Poor service Cheap food Entertainment is very bad Overall it's not worth to come
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great vacation spot

Posted Dec 26, 2014
Very friendly staff, nice accommodations, great food choices, but drinks had little flavor and seemed watered down.